We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel pity about the noise”
Review of Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel
Ranked #26 of 448 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel pity about the noise”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Magnolia hotel for 2 nights and thought it was lovely. The atmosphere was calm, staff lovely, decor delightful and access to the main tourist centre was good.

The bedrooms were spacious with good bathrooms, the bed was lovely and comfortable.

Breakfast, a two minute walk to a cafe (we were taken there by a member of staff) was good. The attached vegetarian restaurant is amazing.

We stayed on a Thursday and Friday night, in a room at the front of the hotel. The first night the traffic noise was considerable but fairly constant (if you ignore all the horn beeping), Friday night it was just too noisy, revellers up until very early hours. I tried the ear plugs, which the hotel had kindly provided but could just not get the hang of them. It is such a pity as the hotel is lovely and just a short distance away it would be perfect.

If you want a very nice central hotel and are happy with noise this is definitely for you. A lot of the other central hotels are hostels and probably not places that everyone would want to stay. We were staying in August which is peak holiday period, I have no idea if it gets better out of the main season.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel, lots of traffic noise but probably less people noise as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    88
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
48
73
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed in the Magnolia Hotel as part of the Yangshuo Cooking School one week course. I stayed in one of the gorgeous Imperial Suites and it is definitely to be highly recommended. I felt like an empress! The staff were fabulous and extremely helpful. All spoke very good English.

Room Tip: The Imperial Suites are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in the Magnolia Hotel for one night during a weekend visit to Yanshuo. The hotel is a comfortable 3-star, with decent rooms and real bathrooms (with western toilets and separate showers). The lobby was comfortable with places to sit and relax. The architecture was interesting, with a mix of traditional and contemporary design.

The best part about the hotel is its location, on Yangshuo'd main street and only a block from the walking street, which is where many of Yangshuo's bars, shops and restaurants are located. The hotel's staff was very friendly and helpgul, and enough spoke English that we never had any problems.

The hotel has two drawbacks. The first is that the restaurant for breakfast is a block down the street, although the food was very good. The second issue with the hotel is noise, because the nearby walking street (one block away) is extremely loud at night, especially on the weekends. The hotel gave us earplugs, which enabled us to get a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeLisaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here for a week in November 2011. The hotel is located in the heart of Yangshuo, near the bustling West Street and was really convenient for getting around Yangshuo.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful with a high level of English. They helped us book many little trips and attractions and were helpful is guiding us around and suggesting places to go and what to do in Yangshuo.

The hotel itself is really nice, it has a very nice open, homely, laid-back feel to it and the room was very comfortable.

The hotel also has an excellent vegetarian restaurant where we dined a couple of nights. The food was excellent and the decor was very beautiful.

There is a handy laundromat right across the street and a bike hire stall right next door.

Definitely be staying here again when we next visit Yangshuo. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eelengchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel was recommended by my Mandarin teacher in Yangshuo, Janie. Her selection was perfect! I plan to stay there a full month next year when I take additional Mandarin classes. His trip I stayed 16 days. The hotel is in a terrific location, close to the Li Jiang (river) and in short walking distance to many great restaurants and their famous West Street. There is a laundry across from the hotel and Dynasty Dumplings on the corner. Tour operators are on the street as well. The hotel had brochures for Chinese brush paintings, tours, kayak rentals, nail salons etc. I took advantage of most of the offerings. Prices are reasonable. The hotel has a restaurant in it, a vegetarian place. Meat eaters would enjoy it because the flavors are amazing! All staff is wonderful! Computers and wifi are available. Magnolia Hotel is a gem! clean and safe!

Room Tip: they provide great ear plugs so street side is fine. Mosquito chips in room last about four hours s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin, China
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Magnolia Hotel is kind of a 3 star hotel, the outside of the hotel is just like a hostel, there is no restaurant or dining room inside, ususlly the breakfast is included in the hotel rate, so if you want to have your breakfast here, you need to go to another place which belongs to Magnolia Hotel to eat, not far,just couple of minutes walk.
this hotel is very close to the west street, the surrounding is good and peaceful, unlike the hostels in the west street, they are very noisy in the night. if you are looking for a hotel which is not far and peaceful, this is kind of good one.
the hotel rate is very reasonable, very good for those tourists who are on a budget. beside, the receptionist speak good English.
by a way, if you are in a group tour, this hotel may be not easily accessed by bus, car is OK.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Hotel is located on the corner of two very busy, noisy streets. Back of hotel there is a bar with a very loud late night crowd.Rooms are very dark.No elevators. Breakfast is in a cafe around the corner. Only thing that was acceptable was the AC

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.1 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#21 of 448 in Yangshuo County
314 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 448 in Yangshuo County
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xi Town River View Inn
Xi Town River View Inn
#29 of 448 in Yangshuo County
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#16 of 448 in Yangshuo County
180 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 448 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#24 of 448 in Yangshuo County
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel

Property: Magnolia Hotel
Address: No.1 Diecui Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing