We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Morning Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morning Sun Hotel
Ranked #27 of 446 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

A great hotel on a great location. Had a room on the streetside. A little bit noisy, but I loved the balcony. The hotel had a pc available with internet access and also free WiFi on every floor. They served western style breakfast, but if you want something else, there are lots of restaurants just around the corner. Also staff was very nice and helpfull.

Very worth the price paid!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeRuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for the review.
Hope to see you again,
Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
25
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Arrived very early in the morning in Yangshuo after a long train trip and was instantly greeted by the friendly hotel staff who quickly prepared a much needed breakfast of us whilst we waited for our rooms to be prepared. It's in a great location, close to shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is attractive based around a courtyard. They offer free internet in the courtyard and wi-fi in the lobby. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend as a great place to stay in Yangshuo.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMcKeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for the review.
Hope to see you again,
Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We loved Yangshou and we loved this hotel. Perfect location and right round the corner from some great cafes and restaurants. After staying in 2 other hotels recommended in LP travel guide we stumbled upon this gem of a hotel on a walk around town and moved there immediately afterwards and stayed about 5 or so nights. We had a clean, spacious double room with cable TV and air con and the bathroom included a bath tub which we were very grateful for a nice hot soak in. Nice quiet hotel so more suitable for couples than party-minded backpackers but each to their own. If you have any queries then I'd recommend that you speak to the younger girls on reception normally during the day as they speak English more fluently than the rest of the staff but all of them are very friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antigraviy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for the review. We have been recommended by several travel books over the years including the Lonely Planet and Frommers. But we have no control over this. Besides, were in Trip Adviser so what more could we want?
Hope to see you again,
Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The Morning Sun is a renovated courtroom style building in an ideal location about 1/2 block off the chaos of West Street. While the rooms are a bit dated the air conditioning worked better that what we experienced in Beijing and kept the room at a comfortable temperature. Some mold in the grouting around the tub is the only negative I have. Had a balcony room that overlooked the front street which made the room a little noisy at night and with the ambient temperature/humidity we really didn't use the balcony.

The staff are extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasurable as it was. They arranged tours and made suggestions for sights and activities for us to do.

Overall an excellent value and a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueNorth59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for the nice review.
Hope to see you again,
Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This was our second stay at the Morning Sun after staying here in January 2007. Just like our previous stay we were very pleased with all that the Morning Sun offered. We travelled with 2 small children. It has a great location in the middle of town. Frances, the owner, was tremendous with all of her assistance prior to our arrival in Yangshuo. We had the same excellent room we had last time with 3 single beds and a great balcony. There is now wi-fi and breakfast on offer. Ming, a member of staff, was outstanding with all that she did for us; booking tickets to the light show, rafting and actually accompanying us on our bike trip as our guide. I highly recommend the Morning Sun and we have told many of our friends to stay here after our last trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongSpainFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. Your kids are awesome.
Hope to see you again,
Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

The service was excellent. The location was far enough off west street to get some sleep, except for our last night, people were singing until 5am. I would not recommend staying any closer. We loved our balcony. The view was okay from our room.... but not the China view I wanted. I like the crooked roofs and clothes hanging and peaks in the distance. Our balcony looked at a few close peaks and a plain "newish" building across the street. I prefer nitty gritty, where the "people" live. The bathroom was decent, some mildew but the shower was so great, it made up for the need to re-caulk the shower. Also, my apple computer got the morning sun wifi signal, using the password, but wouldn't actually connect. They have a computer in the gallery, but it is not available 24 hours. Overall, good location and room and value. Happy that we weren't any closer to West Street and maybe could have been a block farther.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for the review. I think you would find our rooms and bathrooms much nicer since we completely renovated our hotel in 2012.
Hope to see you again,
Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Great place for the whole family. Attentive service. We had a great time. Super staff. Quaint atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mseeliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for the nice review.
Hope to see you again,
Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.4 mi away
Xi Town River View Inn
Xi Town River View Inn
#29 of 446 in Yangshuo County
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#21 of 446 in Yangshuo County
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#25 of 446 in Yangshuo County
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Green Lotus Hotel
Green Lotus Hotel
#16 of 446 in Yangshuo County
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yangshuo Spring Hyatt Hotel
Yangshuo Spring Hyatt Hotel
#142 of 446 in Yangshuo County
9 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 446 in Yangshuo County
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Sun Hotel

Property: Morning Sun Hotel
Address: No.4 Chenzhong Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morning Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MorningSun Hotel's spacious rooms and ultra modern bathrooms truly set us apart from any other hotel in Yangshuo. Please check out the pictures to see for yourself. Completely remodeled and unscaled in 2012, the MorningSun Hotel is family owned and operated since 2002. With its superb location in the heart of Yangshuo, just off the very popular West Street, you can get away from the noise and still enjoy easy access to the many fine shops and restaurants Yangshuo has to offer. The hotel has elegant classical styling and is organized around a central atrium. You can expect a personal touch often missing in larger places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Morning Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningsun Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing