We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Morning Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morning Sun Hotel
Ranked #27 of 446 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Beijing
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed May 9, 2007

This hotel is a little noisy, but certainly less so than anything on a more busy street. Probably one of the quiter places in town comparatively. If you're really concerned about noise get a room at the back which faces a small pond.

The service here was great though. I used the hotel to arrange a trip to villages and a river raft trip. The guide who works for the hotel was flexible at customizing the day to see what I was interested in and we toured many small villages not on the tourist trail.

One thing about this place is that it's an open layout - there's a courtyard and open stairway in the center so any noise anywhere in the hotel is transmitted throughout. This is typical of traditional design though and the authentic atmosphere more than makes up for the lack of sound proofing.

  • Liked — Very helpful and friendly owner and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beijingres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for the nice review.
Hope to see you again,
Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
25
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

Stayed here with my wife for two nights end of March.
Had a room with a balcony, which was a bad idea because it was street side.

You can basically sleep on the street, since noise isn't reduced at all. It gets quiet around 1am and the ambiance starts again at 5am.

Beds were extremely hard, you could as well sleep on the floor.

Staff is very friendly and helpful we must say. They were instrumental in helping our taxi transport to and from Guilin Airport.

Can't compare with other hotels in Yangshuo but this one has the two abovementioned inconveniences.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank snakedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
392 reviews
383 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 706 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2006

stayed here for 3 nights arrived on a Fri at 11 pm

the 2 ladies behind the counter were very helpful and pleasant and helped arrange my trips/transport/entertainment

the room were nice and bathroom was decent but what really made this place shine was the service

Paradesa hotel was just around the corner (was going to stay there at 10 times the price) but they never returned my emails while Frances at Morningsun was very efficient and gracious

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — bathroom shower curtains need an upgrade
  • Tips/Secrets — don't eat at Mei You cafe
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Europe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2006

Stayed in the Morning Sun hotel for 3 nights and loved it! Very good location, beautifully restored old building and clean rooms with modern facilities. They arranged airport pickup. Good laundry service, but breakfast quite poor which is not really a problem since there are bars offering good brekkie. The best thing in this hotel is the old building with excellent feng shui!

  • Liked — The building itself, the location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms were too "western-style"
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay in cash and don't miss the keys!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Echinacea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 17, 2006

Stayed at the Morning Sun for 2 nights with family of 4 young children. Hotel is ideally located, rooms are spacious and service is good. Hotel recommended a guide who proved to be helpful, knowledgable and nice. Also, the hotel had arranged for airpot transfer from Guilin.
On the minus side, we will remember the spiders in the room, the constant noise from the street and the poor breakfast ... Also, our deposit for the keys was not given back to us when we checked out (we forgot to ask for it back, they forgot to mention it ....)

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.4 mi away
Xi Town River View Inn
Xi Town River View Inn
#29 of 446 in Yangshuo County
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#21 of 446 in Yangshuo County
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#25 of 446 in Yangshuo County
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Green Lotus Hotel
Green Lotus Hotel
#16 of 446 in Yangshuo County
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yangshuo Spring Hyatt Hotel
Yangshuo Spring Hyatt Hotel
#142 of 446 in Yangshuo County
9 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 446 in Yangshuo County
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Sun Hotel

Property: Morning Sun Hotel
Address: No.4 Chenzhong Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morning Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MorningSun Hotel's spacious rooms and ultra modern bathrooms truly set us apart from any other hotel in Yangshuo. Please check out the pictures to see for yourself. Completely remodeled and unscaled in 2012, the MorningSun Hotel is family owned and operated since 2002. With its superb location in the heart of Yangshuo, just off the very popular West Street, you can get away from the noise and still enjoy easy access to the many fine shops and restaurants Yangshuo has to offer. The hotel has elegant classical styling and is organized around a central atrium. You can expect a personal touch often missing in larger places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Morning Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningsun Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing