We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable beds, awoken by street noise.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morning Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morning Sun Hotel
Ranked #25 of 413 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds, awoken by street noise.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Unfortunately the comfortable beds at the Morning Sun Hotel were overshadowed by the fact that we were woken each morning by street noise in one room and construction in the other. We happened to call before arriving to see if the staff could help arrange a return bus, only to find that they had no record of our reservation, which we had made in August. The floors looked as though they'd never been vacuumed, but the cleaning staff was very conscientious about keeping all other parts of the room spotless. The bathrooms were absolutely freezing; the walls were glass with curtains that you could pull across to block the view. Since my room also had a window facing the center courtyard, this meant that almost every wall in my rooms was covered by curtains - not particularly attractive. Overall, the hotel is unremarkable, though the location is quite good (aside from the noise).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelCShu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
24
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beucha, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I regularly travel to Yangshuo since 5 years and I always chose the Morning Sun Hotel. It is well located and very very comfortable. Already before the renovation this year it was a peaceful oasis in the heart of Yangshuo. The beds are amazingly comfortable and the bathroom is sooo nice! The staff speaks very good English, you can have breakfast inside the hotel, enjoy laundry service and get all the information neccessary for a wonderful stay in Yangshuo. On the new rooftop you can enjoy the scenery of the specific karst mountains in and around Yangshuo. The Li river is just 5 minutes away from the Morning Sun Hotel. Bank and post office and anything else you need on your trip is easy to reach. I am looking forward to my next stay in Octoberalready!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Milarepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Of all the hotels I stayed in China I loved this quaint hotel, the staff were polite, the decor enchanting, the rooms cleaned every day, close to parks, markets, sites. It's small and homely. The location is a magnet for tourists, but the locals are still very much into sharing their culture and fully embracing others as is evident in the many differing cuisines on offer locally. I stayed here on route as part of a 21day tour of China it was week 2 and such a welcome resting place.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bush71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

it was really a nice experience.
traveling with a baby was not easy, but the lovely room was a nice and clean place to be ending our days.
the location is perfect, and the stuff speaks english really well.
thank you guys.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had a fabulous stay at the Morning Sun Hotel. My experience in this hotel was just perfect. First of all, the location is ideal, i.e. in the heart of the city but in a quite street at night. The quality of the rooms was the second nice surprise: clean, nicely decorated, very comfortable beds and impressive bathrooms, not to mention the great views on the mountains on the higher floors. But what made my overall experience so unique, are the people running the hotel. They are just lovely and will go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. They will arrange tours for you, help you to book tickets or even massage, accompany you to the right bus, give you travel tips, and even act as your guide for a breath taking bicycling tour in the country side (thanks May!). The hotel really left like home to me during me stay in Yangshuo. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

It was like an adventure to come to Morningsun Hotel after a long trip, and it was very helpful staff and big, clean rooms, and an "amazing" bathroom.
It`s in the center of Yangshuo, and I recomend this for everyone who want the extra.
Nice price and all in all, very good experience. Thanks to Julia and the rest of the staff who make our stay so good, and we are coming back, for sure.

Room Tip: you can feel the life from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qinqong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks so much for the nice review. I'm very happy you had such a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issoire, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

If the exterior of the building and its king size staircase has not been subjected to any major renovation, the rooms are now an amazing combination of tradition and modernization.
Particular attention has been paid to the bathroom facilities which, separated from the main room by huge glass walls, are the best even the most difficult traveler could wish. Full size bath and / or showers are well placed in spacious areas and are an open invitation to relaxation and farniente.
The bedrooms are large and many have a balcony either overlooking the quiet mountains or the more busy front side offering a pleasant view on the tourist activities.
The beds are large and of excellent quality and the overall decoration of the rooms is simple, relaxing and tasteful.
A large terrace on the top floor offers a great view on the karst mountains which surround the little town of Yangshuo.
The location of the Morning sun hotel is one of the best in Yangshuo – close to the very busy and sometimes very noisy West Street, but at the same time far enough from the noisy center to insure a quiet night and a good rest after an exciting day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YaPiao C, Owner at Morning Sun Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
In fact the exterior did have major renovation too in that we added a new floor (12 rooms) and repainted the old parts. But you are correct, our main effort was in the rooms and especially the bathrooms. They are now very modern and probably the best in Yangshuo. And we're still adding painting from our art gallery to the rooms so that they should be even nicer when you return. Oh, and of course the rooftop area is all new and has wonderful views.

Thanks for the nice review,
Frances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.2 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#23 of 413 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#22 of 413 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelling With Hostel
Travelling With Hostel
#13 of 413 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#14 of 413 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 413 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#24 of 413 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Sun Hotel

Property: Morning Sun Hotel
Address: No.4 Chenzhong Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morning Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MorningSun Hotel's spacious rooms and ultra modern bathrooms truly set us apart from any other hotel in Yangshuo. Please check out the pictures to see for yourself. Completely remodeled and unscaled in 2012, the MorningSun Hotel is family owned and operated since 2002. With its superb location in the heart of Yangshuo, just off the very popular West Street, you can get away from the noise and still enjoy easy access to the many fine shops and restaurants Yangshuo has to offer. The hotel has elegant classical styling and is organized around a central atrium. You can expect a personal touch often missing in larger places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Morning Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningsun Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing