We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“BEWARE!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sovereign Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #121 of 412 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BEWARE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by the travel agent but after looking at two rooms we decided that we could not stay there. I had a sinking feeling as I walked in to lobby which stunk of smoke and when the man at reception spoke very limited english. Both rooms that we were shown were dirty. The shower was full of mould, the wallpaper was peeling off the wall both in the room and along the corridor. The non smoking room smelt strongly of smoke and when we said something about that the housemaid pointed to the sign beside the bed which said " please do not smoke in the bed"!!! The position is right beside the river but for Westerns this is a very sub standard hotel. You could not have paid me to stay in this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    32
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
4
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed there one night only but were very pleased. Compared to the Regency hotel we found here real value for money. Although we had a room with no view, it was very very spacious, modern and tastefully decorated. Our kids loved the room and did not want to leave.

Like everywhere, do not expect a proper western breakfast with coffee

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabinerebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Hotel is located at a convenient area, just a walk of 10 minutes will bring you the main market street of Yangzhuo. There is a nice bicycle shop just outside the hotel, which you could hire for nice bicylce ride along the streets of Yangzhuo. Lunch and dinner was nice, there were lot of varieties. Being an Indian, we were worried about food in China. But we always found one or other dishes very nice and enjoyed it. However i found there was chaos with breakfast, lot of people and food kept all around.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Achuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights on the 3rd floor from 25th to 27th October 2011. Rooms are worn out, beds hard, pillows flat and ventilation almost non working. No internet in room. Free internet in business centre but speed like dial up. Buffet Breakfast is standard Chinese fare with rice noodles and fried eggs. Popular with tour groups probably due to low prices offered to travel agencies. Walking distance (10 mins) to West Street. Definitely not worth the published rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestJohn331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangshuo County hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
344 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Four of us travelled to Yangshuo, which is a must-see for all who visit Guilin, as a large percentage of the most beautiful sceneries are there. Our agent booked us this so called 4 star hotel. The location is nice by the river, walk across the road and you get too see the lovely view of Li Jiang. Walking to the famous Yangshuo Xi-Street (the main drag) is only about 10 minutes or less. My room was large, facing the street which got the hot afternoon sun. My friend's room facing the inner courtyard, which was quite dark and uninviting by contrast. Decor is of 80s or 90s, very dated anyway. Air conditioning of the hotel seems insufficient at all time. There is little to no air conditioning at all in the lobby! (As with most hotels in China) Bed is ok for us but would be considered quite hard by western standard. Bathroom is basic but clean, problem with drainage as water drained very slowly after shower. Standard room has no LAN or Wi Fi connection. However, there are two computers at the business center at the lobby which are free to use. At night, the hotel was fairly quiet. Breakfast at the hotel was basic. Unless included as part of the deal, I suggest walking behind the street to look for local noodle shops, which make a much better breakfast at very reasonable price. All in all, this was an average hotel which badly needing a renovation to update itself.

Room Tip: Rooms by street side is more inviting than rooms by the courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We checked in on Jul 26 and stayed for 2 nights. Joined a tour thus we didn't pick this hotel. It looks good from the outside but the inside looks like a rundown hotel that's filled with local/asian tours.

The business center has 2 computers and looks more like an old internet corner.

Breakfast was so so and definitely not catered to western food.

The room has many lights yet it was hard for us to even see our luggage lock combination. Some of the bulbs didn't work. It really needs a major renovation/facelift but with the influx of local tourists and high occupancy rate probably there is no need to do it :-(.

The location is great, near the famous West Street shopping area and Impression of San Jie performance.

We heard about Green Lotus 5 star hotel nearby thus we went to see the lobby which looked much better and the staff spoke English (unlike at our hotel). The location is also great and many westerners stayed here. We didn't see any better hotel in the area.

What we notice is that many hotels that claimed 5 stars turned out to be not as great as in reality. The pictures shown could be outdated. Thus it's important to check the age of the hotel/motel of your choice.

When you stay in Yangshuo, no need to look for a hotel near the river as the water is brownish. Find a NEWER hotel/motel near the West Street market and dine at a restaurant called Hillside Chinese Restaurant. We found it randomly and were very happy with the service and quality of the food.

Yangshuo is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
172 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

This hotel was a highlight of our trip - we use it every year.

The views of the Li River are phenomenal. Rooms are large and comfortable. Staff is friendly and willing to help.

This is the only place we'll stay in Yangshuo.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMPTUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.0 mi away
XY.Yun House
XY.Yun House
#19 of 412 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#17 of 412 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huating Holiday Inn
Huating Holiday Inn
#75 of 412 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guifu Hotel
Guifu Hotel
#155 of 412 in Yangshuo County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Xinxijie International Hotel
Xinxijie International Hotel
#115 of 412 in Yangshuo County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
4.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#7 of 412 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hotel

Property: Sovereign Hotel
Address: No.28 Guanlian Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 412 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing