We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“view is better from below”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon Hill

Moon Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Private 5-Hour Bike Tour of Yangshuo Countryside
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“view is better from below”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

the surrounding of this place does not seem too inviting...
when we were there, after lunch, it was so hot, we decided to abandon the idea of climbing up n instead just drive n walk around the surrounding..
but sad to say, nothing much to see except to get the best location for a good shot.
i would check out the reviews of those who have reached the peak n decide whether its worth the climb should i intend to come back again..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmitaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    298
    164
    40
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Amazing scenery and exhilarating hike up the mountain, you have to be incredibly careful in the wet season however as the well-worn steps can get precariously slippery so do definitely wear sensible footwear with good grip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdbfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good views, avoid pushy old ladies selling water”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

you get what you pay for in china, and entry fees are generally indicative of what to expect when past the gate. this place is only 15Y, and it shows. the walkway to the top isn't as well maintained as many of the other parks i've been to. there are few benches or maps, not that they are necessarily needed, but just sayin.' once at the top the views are pretty good, and it was fun to watch people rock climb.

the main downside were the pushy old ladies that try to sell you bottled water for 3Y or more. it's double the usual price, and granted, it's cold water (not room temp) and only 1.5Y more, but i was just annoyed and didn't buy it on principle. one very old woman wearing teddy bear socks was absolutely relentless... it made me angry and sad at the same time, which sorta sucks when your there to have a pleasant time. the teddy bear socks... those just killed me :(

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
457 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Not worth the Climb!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Seeing Moon Hill from a good vantage point (on the ground) was sufficient for me as, whilst a lovely natural phenomenon, the climb seemed a 'bit of a waste of time'.
In my personal opinion, it's better to get your guide/driver to take you to an area from where some lovely photos can be taken and then use your time to wander Yangshuo (a lovely little town with friendly/smiley locals).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank H1CAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lot of steps but the view is worth every one.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The trip up Moon Hill took a lot of energy but it was great when you got to the top as the view of the Kart Mountains was fantastic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Hill also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Been to Moon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing