We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better to view than climb”
Review of Moon Hill

Moon Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
1 Day Yangshuo Countryside Moderate Cycling Private Tour
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Private 5-Hour Bike Tour of Yangshuo Countryside
Minato-ku, Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better to view than climb”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

There are many great views of the Moon Hill from the valley below. The climb takes stamina but is not overly difficult, but arriving at he Moon Hill arch is a bit of an anti-climax. There are a lot more interesting things to see and visit in Guilin.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abacae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    313
    187
    45
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Xiamen, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must do, spectacular view of the mountains”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pretty easy hike, took us less than 30 minutes. Stairs stairs stairs. Like other reviewers mentioned, the ladies followed us the whole way which for us was nice and annoying at the same time. The view is incredible!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKCombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzhihua, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Moon hill from a distance!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We didn't pay the 15 yuan to get in the park as we could see it perfectly from the village a short distance away. We were a bit alarmed to see a sign saying no climbing or dangerous activities as that is exactly what we expecting to see.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mitchiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Moon Hill Yangshuo”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We took the local bus to Moon Hill from the Yangshuo bus exchange, cost was 7rmb each, the drive there was good and the driver stopped right out the front and pointed in the direction of the ticket box, we purchased our tickets and headed to the steps, that was when we were confronted by little old ladies carrying car fridges full of drinks, they tried to sell us drinks at inflated prices and would not go away they just kept following us up the steps, I eventually told them I would buy a water of them when we came down. We then had a very peacefully walk up 830 steps to the top of Moon Hill, the view from the top was good and the hole in the rock a bit different. It was worth the walk, back at the bottom the ladies were still waiting purchased 2 waters and they were happy, my wife had photos taken with them and we the headed off to the Big Banyan Tree don't waste your time as we seen trees just as good at other places, the best part was we were able to purchase fresh strawberries whilst we strolled to the big banyan tree.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacktripper12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hike great view”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice hiking up the stairs and paths. Easy enough for small kids (from 5 yrs, my 2.5 I had to carry) but really nice and the view is great. The annoying drinks ladies will follow you until you buy something - just do that as early as possible

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Hill also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Been to Moon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing