We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Try to find another one” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New West Street International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New West Street International Hotel
Ranked #136 of 412 Hotels in Yangshuo County
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Try to find another one”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

One night was enough. Hotel is on a busy street, you have to take a golf cart to get from this hotel back to the main shopping street. The room had filthy carpet, thin towels, box spring and no mattress. No western breakfast, not even cereal. It did have free wifi and a nice area out back with a pool, tennis court and small garden area. Nice view from back of hotel. Must have a back room, lots of traffic noise out front.

Room Tip: get a room in on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wlbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
13
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel lobby looks grand. The rooms are okay but there is a glass partition with the bathroom which seemed very odd. Of course there is a curtain which can be pulled; but it is outside in the bedroom side, so the person inside the bath has no choice! We felt very odd with this arrangement.
The breakfast buffet was very basic. There was only hard boiled egg; no omlet or scrambled eggs and no cereals either. Moreover when we asked for another tea-bad to make a stronger tea, the steward said we will have to pay an additional 3 Yuan; very embarassing indeed.
Comparing to other places we stayed in our tour of China, this was the most stingy place. I feel the management lacks international tourist exposure.

Room Tip: Avoid road-side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devidas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

You enter a stunning marble lobby. Rooms are of normal size ,look good at first glance.Dark wood panels with golden inlays. The bed is good. There is a glass wall to the bathroom and unfortunately every time you enter the bathroom very bright lights together with a noisy fan go on automatically- not practical at all. Early in the morning trucks on the busy road make a lot of noise.
Service is non-existent. there is no bar, but a corner with chairs where drinks could be served. In the afternoon our chinese friends asked that in the evening we could sit down and drink a bottle of wine. At that hour they agreed. In the evening it was denied. But the worst was breakfast experience. Quite dirty tables, poor choice. And they clos down very early, immediately when the large tour groups left.
Alltogether not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangshuo County hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

My wife and I spent 1 night here after we spent the previous night at the Shangra La in Guilin. We were on a 5 star tour with superb hotels. So we were extremely disappointed to be put up in this dump. Not sure how they can claim it is a 4 start. It is closer to a 1 star. Dirty room, bathroom, dining area, lobby, hallways etc. We will be bringing it to our tour operator to prevent others from staying there.

One thing that was funny is they have a sheet that details all the costs you will pay for damage. Such as - 1 cigarette burn in the carpet - 50 yuan. More than 10 cigarette burns - replace entire carpet. So we were wondering what type of people stayed here.

Also, they only accept 100 yuan as a security deposit. They cannot even handle putting it on a credit card. So when you check out, they send a runner to check the room.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanoBellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
673 reviews
315 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Hotelis updated, and very nice.Rooms are large and clean. If you get a hotel on the street side it will be noisy. This hotel is used by several tour groups including China Focus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Wenn you go here, do not expect a good four star hotel, but a budget hostel. Then you're stay will be fine. It is very basic and not very clean, but I think is was all right for the money. The rooms are simple and the bed not very good, but I slept very well, although it was a bit noisy. The situation is very good with many shops in the nieghborhood. I had a good stay after all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter_S78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

In Yangshuo there are two hotels: West Street Hotel and NEW West Street Hotel. We stayed at the "NEW" West Street Hotel which was located away from the city centre. The only way to get there was via shuttle (refurbished golf cart) or walk.

Once there, we checked in but could smell the heavy cigar and cigarette smoke in the lobby in the corridors up to the rooms. The corridors were open to the lobby.

The room was small and had its several drawbacks. Review claim that it was "new". I would hardly say that as the light outside the room was burnt out, lighting over top in the ceiling was also burnt out. Bathroom was not clean with gleeming mold in the seams, and there was also tiny flies and silverfish running rampant on the bathroom floor. I was having reservations on even opening my luggage.

The room faced the major road. All you could hear during the day were the large roar of several truck, horns (horns used often as a means for drivers to communicate), people on the street, adjacent patrons partying and screaming their heads off throughout the day and night. Also, the sliding window panes would shake/ rattle with each passing vehicle.

As for hotel security, although it had an electronic swipe entry key to the room, the major deadbolt to the room was also broken. It did not lock after several attempts. Further, an in-room safe was provided but could be easily lifted and carried out, as there was no evidence of security in the hallways of the hotel. You could walk thru the hotel through a back door (no locks) to get to the pool and the roadside.

As for the bedding, it all appeared as if it were refurbished. Linen was well worn and perhaps even reused. Shower slippers are a must to be brought from home if you are going to stay here.

The bed -- Don't expect to get any sleep even if you put ear plugs in, as all beds had springs coming thru and the supposide electronic lighting panel had an annoying "blue light" that practically lit up the whole room.

Room lighting was poor as it was decorated with two ceiling lights (one was burnt out) and a tiffany lamp in well need of dusting.

Breakfast buffet was very poor as it appeared as it were leftovers from the wedding held the night before with some steamed dumplings. The only added perk was that there was a station for toast but it was "monitored" by staff. I was under the impression that staff was more worried about a patron stealing the toaster rather than making toast.

Check out was the strangest of all the hotels I have stayed in over the years. Upon checking out, you return the keys to the front desk. Then, the front desk will page housekeeping to do a thorough inspection of the room. Their concern was to see if you had taken any of the furniture...

Although reviews have indicated that it was a 4 star hotel, by north american standards I would say that it is equivalent to a below average budget motel... No more than 2 stars at best.

If at all possible avoid this sketchy hotel and take the extra time to head back to Guilin for accommodations. It will give you peace of mind and fair better on the shopping, sights, and eating.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.2 mi away
Xinxijie International Hotel
Xinxijie International Hotel
#115 of 412 in Yangshuo County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lisa's Mountian View Hotel
Lisa's Mountian View Hotel
#140 of 412 in Yangshuo County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Starway Yangshuo Xijie Xinfu'an Hotel
Starway Yangshuo Xijie Xinfu'an ...
#138 of 412 in Yangshuo County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sihai Hotel
Sihai Hotel
#139 of 412 in Yangshuo County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tangrenjie Hotel
Tangrenjie Hotel
#159 of 412 in Yangshuo County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Xi Town River View Inn
Xi Town River View Inn
#31 of 412 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New West Street International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Street International Hotel

Property: New West Street International Hotel
Address: No.68 Pantao Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New West Street International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your New West Street International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New West Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing