We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“music videos”
Review of London Tavern - CLOSED

London Tavern
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“music videos”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

a relaxe atmosphere, a view overlooking one of the 'quieter' streets of yangshuo, and a variety of awesome music videos. this was a nice place to have a drink - especially if you want some drinkable wine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank elizabethlndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for the review, I am glad you enjoyed your experience. We have a large selection of music videos and customers may at any time ask to select one. Finding a wine that is a good value and which is also drinkable is hard in China so I am really happy ours went down OK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All the way to china and a little corner of london!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

After a long day in beautiful Yang Shuo, nothing you want more than a real pint... London Tavern gives you a corner of home while you're off on an adventure through china... And probably the only one!

Great pint, and a fantastic real Brit owner - top notch service!!!

Thanks :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandyrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for your review, it was great chatting with you and your party. Glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good quality western food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I eat here in the evening on a Sunday.
It was pretty quiet and so the service was attentive.
I ordered the steak sandwich which was very tasty although slightly too small as a main meal.
There were quite a few quintessentially English items on the menu such as bangers and mash, liver and bacon, cottage pie, pickled eggs and lamb stew.
Good selection of beer.
They also take credit cards.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spin2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for your review. I will check the weight of steak in the steak sandwich. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Pub Among Many”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

One pub in a string of many owned by the same group among the "bar strip" here in the West Street area. If you are homesick for London by all means drop in and have a pint. In the middle of China it seems more quirky than authentic but the beer offerings are some of the best, if not the priciest of the very limited imported offerings you will find in Yangshuo.

Unfortunately i discovered this group of pub/restaurants early on in my trip to Yangshuo and became a regular at several of their locations daily for a 38RMB beer or two. Well worth the high price if you are a true beer fan after trying the disturbing Chinese swill :>).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justhetw0fus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for the review. All our beers are imported and by nature much more expensive than local beer. Our British beer arrives by ship in Shanghai and a four day journey across country passing through the hands of agents, distributors and transporters. We actually sell our beer cheaper than the norm in Shanghai, Beijing and Guangdong and visitors from these places say we are comparatively cheap.
At the moment I am struggling to get a delivery as there are so many hurdles to deal with, including expiry dates on bottles.
On a side note I have rolled out another 12 items on the menu since your visit including Duck Burgers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlight, Australia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not what you'd expect in Yangshuo, but well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Popped in for a beer and ended up having dinner. This is a well appointed British Pub with an owner that really cares and provides a genuine UK experience. Travel to Yangshuo and eat Cumberland sausages? Well, why not when the food is this good. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bladdamasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
It was nice having you and your daughter here, I am glad you enjoyed the homemade Cumberland sausages. These are made to a traditional Cumberland Sausage recipe, with the right spices and the meat is minced on the premises to ensure a quality product.

May I wish your daughter every success in her Chinese studies and hopefully we will see you return one day to celibrate her graduation.

Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing