We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of England in China”
Review of London Tavern - CLOSED

London Tavern
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We purposely wanted a western dinner one night and a pint of Ale. This pub/restaurant is on a pedstrian street and in the middle of Yangshou tourist area. The staff were friendly and let me try a couple of beers on tap before ordering. I recommend the fish and chips, although there were ample other choices on the menu.

Thank Canada4Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for you review. We currently have Fullers London Pride and Honeydew on tap. The fish and chips remain our top seller and are made with a traditional beer batter.

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stumbled upon this pub and thank goodness we did. We were suffering from missing food from home and there it was. It is on a quiet street in Yangshou overlooking the river. The beer was great. We had shephards pie and lasagna and a baked potatoe. The restaurant played a taped concert of the Bee Gee's. The restaurant is clean and has a nice atmosphere. We had such a great evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking your time and giving us a great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stumbled upon the London Tavern returning to Yangshuo after a long bike ride. It is nicely located, overlooking the river. We both ordered fish and chips along with a few pints, and were pleasantly surprised by the service and food quality. Certainly an escape from the stresses of Yangshuo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank XXX007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

excellent english pub smack in the middle of yangshuo. such a nice surprise to find this pub after an exhausting day of travel. extensive beer selection, owners are very friendly and great atmosphere. indoor and outdoor seating....loved to have a couple hoegardens here at the end of a day

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank ErinM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Having been open for only 9 months or so it is very pleasing to get so many good reviews. All the food we serve is made on the premises, including the cumberland sausages, and we can therefore ensure a quality product. Teaching the cooks to make european food is a challenge but we are moving in the right direction, I hope. I do not loiter around tables asking if the food is OK but I like to see empty plates going back to the Kitchen and if anyone has a problem they should speak up and I will take their comments onboard in an constructive manner. Value for money is relative, we are an upmarket establishment with expensive imported beers, many of the UK beers sell for a similar price in the UK, and many of our customers from Beijing and Shanghai find us good value. We also have good amenities, clean toilets, wi-fi, darts and games for children and adults alike. My mission is to make the London Tavern the best Pub in Yangshuo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great service, great venue. Worth the trip if you want the break from Chinese food and some fish n chips or bangers and mash...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pambraz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review, this is exactly the niche we wish to fill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Tavern also viewed

 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing