We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A London corner”
Review of London Tavern - CLOSED

London Tavern
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great service, great venue. Worth the trip if you want the break from Chinese food and some fish n chips or bangers and mash...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pambraz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review, this is exactly the niche we wish to fill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 24 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great selection of British beers and the food is very good. Try the lasagna! The co-owner is a former London police officer, and the background music is all British acts, from Queen to the Spice Girls. Nice atmosphere, too. Prices are moderate.

Thank wheatdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. The London Tavern is in fact named after the original London Tavern that use to exist in London from the 17th to 19th centuries. Although the original Tavern was a much larger and imposing building I hope to emulate the high standard of food it achieved here in Yangshuo. We have now added a number of other artists to the Spice Girls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The selection of english beers was impresive. The fresh tap beer was a nice touch. the music selection was interesting. Rudy the manager is a wealth of information.

1  Thank bpl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for your review, Rudi was delighted and worked twice as hard that day !

We aim to please and will always do all we can for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went for dinner one night and had the best onion soup very tasty and hot on a cold winters night, beer was good, service not to bad the young girl looked as if she was learning, my wife had Guilin Chicken and although tasty it was very spicy (chillies) I stuck to the fish and chips which weren't to bad, overall a good dining experience.

Thank jacktripper12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for your review, the recipe for Onion Soup may be found in the 4th Edition of Professional Cooking, it is a personal favourite and our best selling soup. We decided to cut the Chinese food and concentrate on British/European fare in order that I could directly control the product and the recipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The London Tavern is a great place if you are missing some home comforts and caters for all ages. The owner is an ex Hong Kong policeman who originates from the London area and will happily let you know that he can boast in having the cleanest toilets in the whole of China! It is in a lovely setting and is a great place to sit and people watch whilst enjoying a little touch of home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, Owner at London Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for your review, as the word oasis is frequently on the lips of our customers I think your review has spread.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Tavern also viewed

 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing