We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Banyan Tree

Big Banyan Tree
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a major attraction for Chinese tourists in Yangshuo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

There's nothing much to see. Don't waste your time going there. Entrance fee is not expensive, but it is just a huge ancient tree.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeiJun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    17
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Labin, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I know its just a tree but it is a must see”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Yes its just a very, very old tree and you have to pay to get in but....
its unbelievable. The tree is so old that it uses its own branches to keep it in balance! Its hard to describe so you have to see it to believe it. There is not much else in the park to see but lots of tourists but this tree is worth it. I was mad at my wife that she dragged me and paid entrence for just a tree but after you see it, you view nature in a different way.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Planetfestival123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's big and you can view it from the road for free”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Pros:
- it's a really big tree

Cons:
- entrance fee

This tree is huge. You can see it from the main road but we almost missed it because we thought it was a big green hill! I'd recommend seeing it but probably not paying the fee to actually "see" it

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Banyan Trees Are Amazing and Beautiful”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Big Banyan Tree in the Yangshuo area was no exception; it was amazing and beautiful. Although there was a large crowd there when I went, it is roped off so you can still get great views and photographs of it. Definitely worth seeing, as is the whole Yangshuo area. If you go to this area, also consider a Yulong River Raft Cruise.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pleddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishinomiya, Japan
Level Contributor
362 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“It's a big tree!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Entrance fee 20 RMB (usually incorporated as part of a tour)

If you have never seen a Banyan Tree, its pretty neat however if you have seen one before, this would be a boring stop.

The park itself is well landscaped and cared for. The tree itself is protected by a fence which is a downer but understandable considering how many people visit this place.

Our tour group only gave us 30 minutes for this place and they were correct. Just enough time to take a photo or two and you had enough.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanuckJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Banyan Tree also viewed

 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Been to Big Banyan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing