We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Yangshuo”
Review of The Cosy Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cosy Garden
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Yangshuo”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The Cosy Garden is located a couple of kilometres out of busy noisy Yangshuo which makes it the perfect place to relax whilst being only a stones throw away from town.

Rooms are hotel standard rather than hostels and the staff speak excellent English and can not do enough to help.

You can rent bikes, scooters and arrange activities through reception making your stay hassle free.

Both dinner and breakfast are good, fresh and cheap. Big relaxing TV room, outside terrace to socialise and good wifi.

One of the best hostels we have stayed in.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
32
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

In simple terms if you're looking for a party hostel and to meet loads of people this hostel isn't for you. However if you are looking for a more laid back, chilled experience away from the crowds look no further. As mentioned in other reviews the hostel is about 25 mins from Yangshuo town by foot but less than 10 on bicycle so why not hire a bike for a day for 20RBM (£2) and the distance problem is sorted. They even rent bikes for free after 6pm so there is no excuse to previous moans about the long walk back to the hostel in the dark (don't forget to take a torch out with you though!!!)
We stayed in a 4 bed dorm & all rooms have en suites but in true Chinese style they are wet rooms and we found this hostel to have the worst drainage, to the point that a squeegee mop was provided in the bathroom to try to help push the water down the drain. This was quite a pain each time we showered!
That however is the only negative thing I have to say. All of the staff were really friendly & helpful and gave us the best advice of where to go / what to see on our bike rides and gave great recommendations for eating out cheaply.
The food in the hostel was good, they serve really big breakfasts which set us up for our days out cycling and beer was cheap too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NaiomiMollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent the week here and loved it. The location was excellent, far enough outside town to avoid loud bars and nightlife but close enough to walk in to town within 15 minutes. The excursion advice is excellent and I would highly recommend the scooter tour of the villiages, great to see 'real' rural China. The rooms were perfect and clean and the food was great and catered for everyone. The communication prior to arrival was also excellent and gave us full confidence that all would go smoothly, which it did. Wholeheartedly recommend this place, we had a wondeful time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beijingbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great, clean and comfortable rooms, nice garden, good travel advice, very good rental bikes, good food and the most wonderful and helpful staff you can imagine!

The location a little bit outside of Yangshuo is an advantage and it's no problem at all to go into Yangshuo in the evening by foot or by bike. Highly recommend one of the best places to stay during our two month in China.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabriellaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. The rooms are nicely decorated, with AC and comfy beds. The staff are friendly and helpful; they provided us with great advice for activities around Yangshuo and for planning our onward travel, north. It's about 20 minutes walk, 5 minutes bike ride, from town: a good distance if you're keen to relax, rather than getting fully stuck into the nightlife and crowds of the centre. Bikes are free in the evening so it's still easy to get in and out. Our room didn't have great view; not sure about the others. The location isn't as scenic as you might find elsewhere in Yangshuo but it does have nice, if somewhat poorly lit, common areas and a garden. The food's pretty good at the guesthouse and there are plenty of other travelers hanging out, most of the time, if you're keen to meet people.

Overall a great experience and one of the best places we've stayed in China.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesGill_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hostel as a girl on my own for 4 nights. The staff were so helpful and lovely, arranging trips and givng good directions. The food is good and the beer cheap. It is out of town, but that's what I wanted so it was perfect! My only advice would be dont walk back on your own in tr dark (goes without saying really but china always feels very safe). I got grabbed by a guy who stopped his moped. Luckily I managed to run away so I was ok, but never chance it, even though its a short distance as its pitch black at night. Saying that, I would not let that dampen my view of a truly beautiful place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlewelshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My second visit to "Cosy" and not the last. Good simple, clean rooms with aircon, hot water etc. Very nice large room at rear of hotel for reading and relaxing, 2 computers for free internet access (plus wifi). Staff are great, seeming to be able to answer any question asked. I had a great ceasar salad for lunch, and a very nice English breakfast (though be aware breakfast can be a little slow coming). Situated in a "village" about 2 km from the craziness that is West street,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markd229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.0 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 448 in Yangshuo County
1,073 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yangshuo Village Retreat
Yangshuo Village Retreat
#12 of 448 in Yangshuo County
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 448 in Yangshuo County
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 448 in Yangshuo County
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 448 in Yangshuo County
596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 448 in Yangshuo County
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cosy Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cosy Garden

Property: The Cosy Garden
Address: No.35 Shi Ban Qiao, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cosy Garden, is everything you'd expect from its namesake, A warm welcome and a cosy getaway to relax from all the stresses and chaos of the big Chinese cities. Set in the beautiful Yangshuo countryside The Cosy Garden offers everything you need for a relaxing and active stay on your journey through Yangshuo.Our cosy hostel offers Single, Double & Twin rooms all with their own en suite bathrooms. There is a large open terrace out front with a pool table, a great guest kitchen & lounge area with soft sofas and dining tables, and lots of nice spots to relax and read a book or sit surfing the internet. And of course we have a great cosy garden out back which we have lovingly designed to offer a great place to relax and socialize, with plenty of seating areas, a small waterfall and stream running around the whole garden, lots of beautiful plants and even space for BBQ's and a nice campfire. The whole garden is designed to focus on the karst mountains around the village and offer views down onto the paddy fields where the locals still go about there daily business.. Our little village offers a great place to relax and plan your time in Yangshuo, our English speaking staff have been here a long time and know a great deal on what Yangshuo has to offer, from bike routes running along, around, across the beautiful Li and Yu-long rivers. Excellent local knowledge on the best places to go in town, be it eating, drinking, shopping. Or even letting you know about some of the great little walks around and beyond the village itself. We also have great contacts for getting tickets to all the popular Yangshuo past times, Tai chi, Kayaking, Rock climbing, bamboo rafting, caving, and we can also help you arrange tickets for the light show, the great Yangshuo cooking school, cormorant fishing and one of our real favorites the Longji Rice terraces! We are only 5 minutes from the Li-river and can point you in the right direction for some great swimming spots, including the ever popular Double headed sandy Beach! Yes we may be out of the main town, but so is almost everything you could really want to do here in Yangshuo. If you want a great base for your travels and the opportunity to relax in a truly unique and beautiful environment, get some great advice on the best way to really take advantage of this spectacular area over a beer or coffee, be looked after by a great team who genuinely care and fall asleep in a comfortable clean bed to the sounds of nature then we think we have everything you could need... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Cosy Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing