We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yangshuo Tea Cozy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Ranked #2 of 434 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We went in Dec so it was pretty cold. Came home to a lovely open fire and a kitchen that was happy to accommodate modifications(due to allergies & taste preference) to the existing yummy menu.
All the staff were lovely and eager to assist to make sure we would have a good time. Especially Amy, Bella, Suzie & Richard.
Their prices are very reasonable for all things, food, wine, mini bar & teapots.
They booked our bamboo raft tour and provided us with bikes to see the countryside.
Since it was winter and so cold the floor is very chilly and the bathroom, which has no heating. Would be wonderful in a hot summer I am sure!
Thank you to all the staff for being our friends. We have made some wonderful memory.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. No elevator, so not good if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaiRai13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    54
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
173
262
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My family and I traveled to Yangshuo in October 2013. A number of friends recommended this property and it did not disappoint. THere is much to see and do and we had our own personal guide everywhere we went. The hotel itself is beautiful; excellent rooms, friendly staff and great food. We had a family room and it was perfect for our family of four. Richard was an excellent host and he customized a package for us that we truly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Family room is great but the number of these rooms is limited - book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Thanks to Amy, Curry, Richard and all the staff for a wonderful time. We enjoyed everything; the food, organized tours and Amy's Tea Ceremony. It is a great hotel for a family and we were all made to feel very welcome. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have to be honest, when we were driving to the hotel (about 75 mins by car from the airport) I wondered what on earth we were getting into. The hotel is secluded in what appears to be the middle of nowhere. Winding roads lead you past various Chinese homes and more and more farmland. I worried that the kids were going to be bored to death and we would be stranded!!

How wrong I was!

Amy was great at setting up excursions for us which meant from our first day we had a week of activities planned that kept us busy our whole time there. If you have kids, ask for Jerry to be your guide as he was superb with our young ones. Playing games, crafting little things for them, singing songs and more as he took us to various sights and adventures.

The food was amazing and had plenty of variety. Pizza and pasta for our fussy kids and fantastic food for us. It was hard work picking from everything I wanted to taste and on more than one occasion my wife had to reign in my orders! The stuffed eggplant was a real hit, as was the curries, the cashew chicken... Makes me hungry remembering!

Yangshou town is about 5km away. We hired bikes and cycled into town. The road is fairly easy going, though there is a lot of traffic.

The only niggles I had (which I did put to the staff) was that the room service could have been a little better. There were days where our cups were not cleaned or exchanged and the towels were often folded up wet and not able to dry properly. The WiFi was generally good, though had the odd blip. No coat hangars in the room, so we lived out of our suitcases.

Also, if you enjoy your wine then be prepared to pay for it! The hotel offers a limited choice of wines which are all quite expensive. That said, as I explored the shops looking for alternatives most alcohol (except the Chinese stuff) was expensive, so the hotel isn't ripping you off. It seems red wine is also a big thing there as I could not find any white wine in the shops!!

On the whole, I highly recommend this hotel. The staff are incredibly friendly, welcoming and hard-working. They really did help make our trip a memorable one and it was great to see the staff take the time to play with our children and keep them happy. They were gutted to have to say goodbye, especially to Jerry!

Be aware that this hotel is well away from the hustle and bustle of city life and such amenities. If you enjoy that sort of thing you will be very happy here, we certainly were!!

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for the family room which offers 2 rooms equipped with a king size bed, a doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emeny2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard c, Manager at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Emeny,
Thanks very much for choosed stay with us, and thanks for your kind review. Our guide Jessy said he also had a great time with you and your child, we all wish can see you soon again.
Thanks for remind us about the room service, we will reinforce the clean quality, this is a good advice for us.
We offer many different kind of great wine, which is from Australia, Chili, Italiy, Argentina, Newzland, Spain, France... in this low season not many guest to drink wine, so we are not buy much of it, all these wine we are import from different country direct, so the tranfer and customs tax makes the price a bit more than your place maybe, but to spend some money to buy a bottle of wine with beautiful Karst hills view and our garden restaurant that is worth to do it.
Amy send her warmest regards to you and your family.
Tea Cozy Team, Richard, Curry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I would like to specially thanks the hotel staff for their kind hospitality and attentive service to our needs and requirements during our stay at Room 401 (29-31Dec), We had a very memorable stay and especially the delicious food served (from natural fresh farmer grown Vegetables and Chicken and so on...). We are very impressed by the Tour guide's (Wen and Yuan) service who show us every parts of nature beauty around Yangshou We will be back again.

Lastly, kindly pls do consider to place a mirror in the room, although there is one in the toilet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

tea cozy is like a home away from home. this place has everything going for it, from the rooms to staff, location, food, tours, etc. located in a quiet area with gr8 views and very attentive and helpful staff, especially AMY. we had a tailor made tour that suited me perfectly and the recommendations on what to see and do were spot on. airport transfer was seamless in a clean new vehicle, i would definitely do it this way rather than get taxi from airport. hotel charges 350RMB. prompt reply to my many queries per e-mail prior to my trip. good b/fast, modern rooms with chinese touch, western bathrooms, ENGLISH spoken which is a big PLUS. i researched lots of hotels before choosing TEA COZY and glad that i did. dont hesitate, just book here but remember not many rooms so gets booked out early, you snooze you lose.

Room Tip: no lifts but not a problem at all for me. anyway higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We thank Curry, Amy, Richard and all the staff of Tea Cozy for their friendly, courteous and attentive disposition. This small boutique hotel is for travelers who like simplicity and authenticity and want to avoid tourist traps. It feels almost as if it were one's home. Food is wholesome and delicious and the kitchen is open from 7am to 10 pm (very convenient). We arrived on Christmas Day and all hotel guests were invited to a copious and tasty Christmas dinner - convivial and family-style. The staff made our stay at Tea Cozy very enjoyable. They organised our outing to see the evening show "Impression Liu Sanjie" - not to be missed! I live in China and recommend Tea Cozy to anyone who wants to experience Chinese hospitality, see the countryside and the beautiful nature around Yangshuo.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank xuxazhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Owner at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words! We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Tea Cozy with us, we also enjoyed the Christmas party together with you as well.
I am sure you must have enjoyed our new bikes those you used as they are the best new bikes in Yangshuo so far since we bought 20 new ones 2 weeks ago, 12 mountain bikes of Giant ATX777 and 8 bikes of Giant Alice. It is very important to have a nice bike for exploring the beautiful countryside of Yangshuo.
We look forward to your next visit.
Curry, Richard, Amy and the whole team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
6.2 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
9.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#7 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
5.6 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#10 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#15 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Tea Cozy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Tea Cozy

Property: Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Address: No.212 Xiatang Village, Baisha Town, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 434 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Yangshuo Tea Cozy Encircled by breathtaking Karst peaks, situated beside the banks of the Dragon River and hidden among local farmers’ fields, Yangshuo Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel is an ideal refuge away from the town’s crowded market streets. Come and relax in a peaceful and serene location just a short distance from Yangshuo’s famous West Street.Just as the tea cozy works in harmony with the teapot and keeps the tea warm, so we strive to surround you with the warmth of our hospitality and the beauty of the Yangshuo countryside. Tea is also a passion for us. We have a special tea house within the hotel and would love to welcome you as our guests for our next tea ceremony. Each of the twelve rooms in the Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel is unique and decorated in a traditional Chinese style with tastefully fitted wooden furnishings, personally selected by us. Every room houses an array of antiques and pieces of local artwork. Enjoy a comfortable night’s sleep on the best mattresses on the market before heading out onto the wooden balcony to take in panoramic views of the local landscape.If you are seeking action and adventure our dedicated team have expert knowledge of the local area and can arrange kayaking, white water rafting, climbing, caving and even camping. For those looking for more cultural immersion, we can arrange cooking lessons, tea ceremonies, tai-chi sessions with the local masters and more. Alternatively, if you are just seeking peace and quiet our rooftop bar and restaurant serving Chinese and Western cuisine from our organic garden providethe perfect backdrop for rest and recuperation.At the Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel we pride ourselves on high quality and personal customer service. Come and join a family atmosphere, walk among the paddy fields, meet the local villagers and immerse yourself in the local culture. We are committed to making your stay with us a magical and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Tea Cozy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing