We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review previous review”
Review of Yangshuo Tea Cozy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Ranked #2 of 487 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We thank Curry, Amy, Richard and all the staff of Tea Cozy for their friendly, courteous and attentive disposition. This small boutique hotel is for travelers who like simplicity and authenticity and want to avoid tourist traps. It feels almost as if it were one's home. Food is wholesome and delicious and the kitchen is open from 7am to 10 pm (very convenient). We arrived on Christmas Day and all hotel guests were invited to a copious and tasty Christmas dinner - convivial and family-style. The staff made our stay at Tea Cozy very enjoyable. They organised our outing to see the evening show "Impression Liu Sanjie" - not to be missed! I live in China and recommend Tea Cozy to anyone who wants to experience Chinese hospitality, see the countryside and the beautiful nature around Yangshuo.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank xuxazhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Owner at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words! We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Tea Cozy with us, we also enjoyed the Christmas party together with you as well.
I am sure you must have enjoyed our new bikes those you used as they are the best new bikes in Yangshuo so far since we bought 20 new ones 2 weeks ago, 12 mountain bikes of Giant ATX777 and 8 bikes of Giant Alice. It is very important to have a nice bike for exploring the beautiful countryside of Yangshuo.
We look forward to your next visit.
Curry, Richard, Amy and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 630 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Have stayed in numerous hotels and i must say that Tea Cozy really is the most excellent. I could not find any fault with it. Any minor problems were all immediately addressed and the staff is constantly asking for feedback and making improvements.

They always greet with a smile and are very cheerful. Exactly what is needed for a holiday! They speak good English and communication is not an issue. They also provide excellent travel advice and are able to book all attractions at a good price.

Location wise - this hotel is located near Yulong river where there is bamboo rafting. All it takes is a 10mins walk along a scenic farm area. There are lots of farms in the area which makes it really relaxing and there is almost no noise at night. The hotel provides free transport at pre-determined hours to West street which is the tourist area. Their transport is really good and timely. Much better than the taxis! If you need other timing, it's RMB30/trip during day time and RMB40/trip after 6pm. The hotel helped me to book the taxi from Guilin train station, the rate was good at RMB300/car or RMB450/van.

Restaurant - the restaurant is really clean and they serve vegetables freshly gathered from the farm. Meat is purchased from outside. The taste of the food served is really good. So much so that we ate almost all our meals there.

Room - the room was really nice, full of bamboo elements. We were pampered with full windows which allowed us to see the peaceful scenary. The balcony was a really nice touch as you could sit outside and enjoy the scenary. Unfortunately it was winter and really cold, so we did not utilize it much. The toilet was a bit dark, but we got used to it and it was not that big a problem. The room had all amenties and also a electric water flask - but due to the great service and food in the restaurant - we spent most of the time in the restaurant and did not use it!

The bed was placed tatami like - loved the softness of the bed, it was not too hard and they provided many small pillows.

As it was pretty cold during the time we were there, we were very happy to see they had a fireplace!! They kept the wood burning and it was a cherry atmosphere in the restaurant area.

I really enjoyed my stay there and my daughter keeps asking when we will go back....

Room Tip: There is no lift in the hotel - do ask for the lower levels (there are total of 5 floors) if any gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorisChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Owner at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

I bet that everybody who stay at our hotel enjoyed the fireplace in our hotel restaurant very much, it is very important that it can keep our costumers warm in Winter.
Thanks for your great review towards our hotel facilities and costumer service, I think you will have to stay a bit longer as there are many to see and to do in Yangshuo area. As you know at our hotel area it is quite a place for you to enjoy relaxing, peaceful and quite life style. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your time here, and look forward to welcoming your back in the future.

Kind regards, the family Tea Cozy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

To start, Amy is awesome. We had great correspondence with her via email before arriving, and she lived up to all our expectations in person. She is a gem. I agree with other posters that it is very well run by the two owners. And they are lucky to have Amy on staff. All the staff are great, but Amy is a star for sure. We loved our room with an amazing view (502). Also enjoyed the fireplace in the dining area. Favorite meal: curry chicken with rice. Oh, and the steamed meat dumplings should not be missed. We chose to go in December, and it was rainy and cold for 3 of our 5 days. The heat in the rooms does work, but we had to angle the vent so it wasn't blowing on top of the wardrobe closet. That seemed to do the trick. No complaints though. Clean place with great staff and good food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreyBostonSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Owner at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Amy is the representative of costumer service and the assistant manager at Tea Cozy, she is a smiling girl that everybody like her very much.

Winter time here is quite short, only about 2 months. Anyway, it's getting quite warm these days, good weather for biking and bamboo rafting. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your experience here, thanks for taking the time to share with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

The whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a truly amazing hotel, very well run by two owners. Everyone is very friendly, helpful and very hardworking. Special thanks to Amy who has taken every effort to assist us.
Hotel doesn't spare a detail to make one enjoy the stay. They seem to be constantly making little changes and upgrades based in their experience.. Any of the bathroom goodies are provided in case you forgot them to meet the highest demands. They don't burden with touristy offers, everything is understated.
The food is great, everything we tried was really delicious (we stayed only with vegetarian dishes). We originally wanted to eat out too,but opted for eating at the hotel only as it would have been impossible to beat.
Every room has a balcony, we really liked our room as it was on a higher floor facing the road (it is rural and quiet) and had a great perspective on the mountains.
Some of the practical details: Hotel is not in the city of Yangshuo, but about 10 minutes car ride. Hotel provides shuttle service three times a day, but there are cabs that can be taken at other times. We only took a shuttle every day, it suited our needs. Being outside the city is actually an advantage, as it is getting very developed. Additionally the hotel is next to Yulong river, and thus in a more advantageous location for rafting, boat rides to see mountains (other than the Li River one) and hiking to the famed dragon bridge and moon hill. We liked the hike to Dragon bridge. A special treat, a Ming dynasty period village about 30 minutes away from the hotel, is a truly amazing experience.
One suggestion would if possible be to keep the hotel a bit more insulated from the December chill, it was not very warm in the rooms and in common spaces. For the guests, bring extra layers for wearing inside.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Owner at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words towards our hotel and service, we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recommendations to your friends and the others.
And thanks for your comments about the December chill, we 've already prepared some extra layers for the costumers and also we have bought some more warm blankets so that the costumers can bring it to keep warm whenever they go to the Impression show, or to enjoy the bamboo rafting and Li river boat trip.
On behalf of the Tea Cozy team, i wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
Look forward to your next visit, The whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I've stayed in hotels all over the world and after 4 nights at the Tea Cozy, I can say I've never had better hosts. I was accompanied by my daughter and 10 year old grandson who speaks Mandarin. Richard, one of the owners, spent one evening teaching him calligraphy. The next night he invited him into the kitchen to show him how to prepare Chinese food (the food is excellent). His wife Amy was a kind and warm presence throughout our stay. Curry, the third partner, took me to a mountain top with a gorgeous view of the sun rising over the river and mountains.
Richard and Curry are wonderful guides as well as Inn Keepers and I highly recommend them.
We had a great time biking through the villages and countryside, but the most enjoyable part of our trip was simply being at the Tea Cozy with the owners and guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Owner at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hi Jeff, We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. And i really like the photo that you sent to me very much, it is a great sunrise picture from Xianggong hill, as i know you worked so hard that 5am early morning. Thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful experience and great photos. We sincerely appreciate your recommendations to the others. Look forward to your next visit.

Curry and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

First of all I would like to thank Amy for her kindness and friendliness. She makes this place so much more attractive that I am not sure what the service would be without her!!
At the beginning I was a bit disappointed at the place, I was expecting more somehow since it was the number one hotel in Yangshuo according to Trip Advisor. Also once I went into the village I realized that there was so much more to do! But I am not sure how, this place grew on me and I was happy to be back at my room after a busy walk in the city and look at the rice fields from my balcony. The food at the restaurant was the best I had in all of China! Amazing.
Access to bicycles is free and it is a great location to ride around the hills/scraggs.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms facing the back if you'd like quieter ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moneymakestheworldgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Owner at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Amy is the assistant manager at our hotel, she 's quite a happy girl, and i 'm so glad that you enjoyed her service. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

The whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Definitely the best value hotel we have ever stayed in.

We stayed for 2 nights in early October when touring China and I really wish we had stayed longer. The hotel is about a mile outside of the town and you are in the middle of nowhere. This is what I expected authentic chins to get like. The staff were FANTASTIC in every way. Nothing was too much trouble. The service was superb , the food was to die for Nd overall I wish we had spent longer here.

We had a great room on the top floor with outstanding views up and down the valley. Oh, and the entire area is outstanding. Very rural very authentic and very friendly. Do the river trip on bamboo rafts and hire a bike.

We can't wait to go back one day. Very highlybrecommended

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ChrisBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryChen, Owner at Yangshuo Tea Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

On behalf of the whole team, thank you very much for your kind words, very glad that you have enjoyed your time here at Tea Cozy, and we always try our best to make your stay enjoyable! We hope to see you again.

The Tea Cozy team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 487 in Yangshuo County
1,138 reviews
7.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 487 in Yangshuo County
269 reviews
4.2 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#4 of 487 in Yangshuo County
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 487 in Yangshuo County
276 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
#12 of 487 in Yangshuo County
27 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#5 of 487 in Yangshuo County
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Tea Cozy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Tea Cozy

Address: No.212 Xiatang Village, Baisha Town, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 487 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $51 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yangshuo Tea Cozy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Yangshuo Tea Cozy Encircled by breathtaking Karst peaks, situated beside the banks of the Dragon River and hidden among local farmers’ fields, Yangshuo Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel is an ideal refuge away from the town’s crowded market streets. Come and relax in a peaceful and serene location just a short distance from Yangshuo’s famous West Street.Just as the tea cozy works in harmony with the teapot and keeps the tea warm, so we strive to surround you with the warmth of our hospitality and the beauty of the Yangshuo countryside. Tea is also a passion for us. We have a special tea house within the hotel and would love to welcome you as our guests for our next tea ceremony. Each of the twelve rooms in the Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel is unique and decorated in a traditional Chinese style with tastefully fitted wooden furnishings, personally selected by us. Every room houses an array of antiques and pieces of local artwork. Enjoy a comfortable night’s sleep on the best mattresses on the market before heading out onto the wooden balcony to take in panoramic views of the local landscape.If you are seeking action and adventure our dedicated team have expert knowledge of the local area and can arrange kayaking, white water rafting, climbing, caving and even camping. For those looking for more cultural immersion, we can arrange cooking lessons, tea ceremonies, tai-chi sessions with the local masters and more. Alternatively, if you are just seeking peace and quiet our rooftop bar and restaurant serving Chinese and Western cuisine from our organic garden providethe perfect backdrop for rest and recuperation.At the Tea Cozy Boutique Hotel we pride ourselves on high quality and personal customer service. Come and join a family atmosphere, walk among the paddy fields, meet the local villagers and immerse yourself in the local culture. We are committed to making your stay with us a magical and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Yangshuo Tea Cozy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing