We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent European and asian food”

Le Votre Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 115 Restaurants in Yangshuo County
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
dublin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“excellent European and asian food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

14 of us went. The gamut of tastes ranged from well done steak to sichuan cooking and everybody was happy. We ordered far too much food but all of it was delicious.The twice fried beef and the Sichuan eggplant were particularly good. The basic taste of the beef with mango was excellent but it could have done with a little more kick and the vegetables particularly the celery were superb. I had eaten hotpot the previous week in Chengdu and while I like spicy food it was too much for the normal European palate even though the basic taste was delicious. Experience here has given them the ability to serve food at a temperature a European can tolerate and it is still to our palate spicy. All of the people who had European food enjoyed it. For dessert the banana with rum was particularly good. It was a celebration so we had 3 bottles of European wine and as much of their homemade beer as we could drink. Total bill for a complete blow out was 200 yuan per head but you could have a very good meal here for about 150 for two.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hond6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    18
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Top notch food”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stumbled across this place by chance while looking for breakfast on our first morning, great food and service and nice interior.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AussieTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Microbrew and tasty food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Their dark microbrew is excellent! Menu selection is impressive and atmosphere at the top of a bustling main street is ideal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good french food, bad chinese food. Go figure.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were in a party of four. Two people ordered chinese food and two people ordered the same french dish: the duck. The duck was pretty good, well cooked, well presented and good sauce. The chinese food, however, just did not taste good. And just one dish, but all three of them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirador_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly overrated.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was one of a party of four who dined at this restaurant on New Year's Eve. The restaurant is housed in a great space, but the food and service were both very disappointing. There were only four other tables in the restaurant when we were dining, but the food came out slowly and to one diner at a time. Our table was served the "famous" French Onion Soup, and it was lukewarm - we had to send it back to be reheated. The main courses were served over a space of 40 minutes, with the first person having completed the meal by the time the last person received their entree. Two in the party had fish (nothing to write home about), one had duck (also served lukewarm), and one had Chinese food (decent). Very disappointing, especially after the restaurant had received such high praise from Fodor's. Would definitely not dine here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelCShu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Votre Restaurant also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Been to Le Votre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing