We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff - nothing was too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Ranked #4 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful staff - nothing was too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in late-April. Staff were great, making us genuinely feel like members of the family. Arrangements for cars and excursions were made to suit whatever we wanted, efficiently, with no fuss. Food was so good we just ate in the hotel and didn't feel the need to venture further afield. Room was fine - I'd really recommend a balcony to sit and enjoy the view. Our only problem was that it rained every day, and the atmosphere in the room felt a bit damp. Not much they could do about the weather, but it's worth checking the forecast before you go.

Room Tip: Get a balcony - you'll love the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanAndRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    29
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
67
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

had such a great stay here and could only recommend it. the rooms are incredible.

the entire resort has a nicely kept and rustic feel. lily and jerry went out of their way to organize things for us and are such affable people that will make you feel like family.

go stay here, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: pick the room with the closed balcony for a nice bay window feel that overlooks moon hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesleygh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Can't say enough great things about this hotel - great attentions to detail, fantastic setting, extremely helpful staff, great food (and the juice is freshly squeezed). My wife and i were here with our 2 kids and wished we had stayed longer.

We recommend you take a bike/hike back into the village and then just get lost - we ended up with our kids along the JinBao river one day and had a picnic there - only us, the river bend, ducks, scenery and some farmers with their cows.

The owner and staff are to be applauded on what they've done - way to go!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCWB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changzhou, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our stay at Phoenix Pagoda Retreat, sadly, was only two nights. However, it was two amazing nights and days where we had nothing but good times and excellent care from the wonderful staff. The manager, Jerry, is a great guy who makes you feel at home instantly and is a wealth of knowledge. Lily was a life-saver when it came to fielding our questions and helping map out a gorgeous bike ride and helping us with transportation to and from Yangshuo. Again, I can't say enough good things about the staff.

Night 1: Stayed in lower room near front desk, the only issue (as is with any first floor room) is privacy as anyone who walks in the back yard can see right in, nothing out of the ordinary for ground floors.
Night 2: 3rd floor free upgrade (again, Jerry wants the best for his guests), great view and we had a little porch that had two bamboo chairs and a bamboo table which was great for morning tea and coffee as well as a place to read and write after hours of exploring. Our bus didn’t leave until 5pm on our last day but we were allowed to store our packs safely in the retreat still as we went into West St. one last time. This retreat is run by good people who want to make the guest happy and feel at home. I didn’t have a single issue with our stay, it was simply fantastic and made it hard to want to go into Yangshuo it was so nice.

Rooms: (we had 2 different ones, ground floor and 3rd floor)
-Comfortable and clean beds
-High ceilings
-Shampoo and body wash provided (no need to bring any along)
-Showers fluctuate in temperature some (don’t fidget, just gut out the high and low temps)
-Rustic look
-Water heater for tea and coffee
-Slippers
-Outside space (first floor room had a patio)
-Small Desk
-Sliding glass doors to the outside space

Reteat:
-Great breakfast and dinner, never had their lunch but I bet it is solid. Pizzas 40-50 RMB.
- American Breakfast includes: 2 eggs, toast, bacon or sausage, a cup of orange juice (REALLY GOOD OJ TOO!), and a cup of coffee for 35 RMB
-All meals are served in their dining hall, which is located out the front door to the left up a flight of stairs, or perhaps on the roof which is just another flight of stairs past the dining hall.
-Great location, quiet and able to hear the frogs and crickets at night!
-Bike Rental with lock: Mountain bike (50 RMB); Tandem (30 RMB); Touring (20 RMB)
-Service was wonderful, helped plan our bike route and how to get to and from town to the retreat. If we ever needed any help all we had to do was call.
-The whole retreat looks gorgeous inside and out.
-Amazing views of the karsts from both of our rooms

How to get to Retreat:
1.) Taxi-have address in Chinese characters ready to go, should run 30-40 RMB (prepare to haggle some)
2.) Shuttle Bus-have to know the right bus station to leave from, runs only 3 RMB
-Yellow shuttles take you from one bus station to the next and stops at West St. and one or two other places. Hop on and pay 1 RMB

How to get to Yangshuo/West Street from Retreat:
1.) Shuttle Bus-walk to the main road from the Retreat, cross the road and walk to the “Golden Water Caves” entrance, wait for a grey van with a white piece of paper with red Chinese characters placed on the dash (the wait could be up to 20 min but most likely around 10 to hail a shuttle), make sure it is 3 RMB before you get in, hop in and pay once you get to your destination. Prepare for a full van every time so have your valuables secured, take all the way to the bus stop, get off there and quickly try to catch a yellow shuttle bus (mentioned above) which will stop at West Street (if you want it stop along the way just make some noise and raise your hand, they’ll pull over for you). THIS OPTION STOPS AROUND 6-7PM! After this time you must take a taxi, so have that address ready to go.
2.) Taxi. Hard to come across so far away just on the street and costly (another 30-40, most likely 40)

Room Tip: Our ground floor room had noise in the morning from the kitchen, but closing the door kept most of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSDriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We chose Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Hotel as our first destination in China based on reviews and are very sad to be leaving today although we are excited to explore the rest of China. We arrived during Tomb Sweeping Festival and relied heavily on the advice of Lily and Jerry to pick the best times to travel into Yangshuo for the Light Show and shopping. When our taxi driver could not get to us in town because of traffic Lily was on the other end of the phone translating and giving advice. We like the location which still maintains its rural atmosphere with people tilling the fields and tending the orchards. We were able to ride bikes and walk to many local attractions and especially enjoyed bamboo rafting down the Yulong River. Our room at the top has a balcony with magnificent views. Although the bathroom has mould over the shower and a noisy exhaust fan the room was otherwise excellent with a huge comfortable bed. The shower had plenty of pressure but was hard to adjust so we left it a bit hot.
Last night Jerry, Lily, the cook and the security guard brought a birthday cake to our table for our combined birthdays. It was a lovely gesture and made us feel very welcome. The food overall was very good and we ate here quite a lot. I like the muesli and yoghurt Continental breakfast and also the English breakfast. The vegetable dishes were delicious - the pumpkin, green peppers, broccoli and eggplant dishes were superb. As for the pizza, it was crispy and tasty. The only food I could complain about was the pale white bread. In the room there was plenty of bottled water, tea and coffee, chocolate bars and a kettle.

This is a great place to begin or end your holiday. For us it was a place to recharge our batteries and get some exercise before beginning an organised tour.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I came to this hotel thanks to a friend of mine who highly recommended it to me. I was not disappointed at all as Jerry and Lili looked after me really well. I really liked staying outside of Yangshuo, in the countryside. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and the view is gorgeous. The food is also very good. No need to go into town at night expect if you want to leave the quietness of this place. I didn't have to organize anything. Jerry and Lili did it for me. There are bikes at the hotel that you can use to discover the area. Lili drew me a map of how to get to Yulong River through small villages where I was the only foreigner. It was so precise I could not get lost even though I was on my own. They arranged a taxi for me from and to Guilin airport as well as to Yangshuo each time I needed + bamboo boats + light show. It was my very first stay outside big cities in China and I never had to worry about anything. The perfect stay. I travel a lot all around the world and it is one of the first time I experience such an incredible stay, mostly thanks to Jerry and Lili. Thank you so much !! oh and I was going to forget: "low" temperature outside but there is a heater in the room. Wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed during this year during Chinese New Year and it was amazing with many thanks to the incredibly helpful and polite staff. In particular, Lily, helped us plan our days and made our stay enjoyable and comfortable. Really wish we were able to stay longer, it's located in such a beautiful area of Yangshuo and I can't wait to be back! :))

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#15 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
6.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Address: No.98 Fonglou Village, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat presents the most natural style accommodation for you to enjoy the hills and rivers at Yangshuo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing