We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awsome Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Ranked #4 of 401 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awsome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and wished we had forty more. We had 2 bedrooms on the 3rd floor. One room with two single beds on one side and one bedroom with one queen size bed on the other side of the building with a common bathroom in the middle. Upon arrival we were welcomed with ginger tea by the fireplace. Breakfast was good and the staff super helpful. In the room there was complimentary tea. It was great sitting in the balcony sipping tea and taking in the unbelievable views of the country side. We were also given directions to walk to the Great Banyan Tree through the back road entrance. To get to the town you walk to the main road to catch a bus or ask the front desk for a taxi. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    28
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
64
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

there are no TV, and but wifi conditions from 2nd floor. at the 2nd days I moved to
another room at 1st floor for the above reason. but there are so smell, i could not
stand to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nagasaki0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights in late October. We stayed on the 3rd floor, 2 bedrooms with 2 balconies one at the front of the hotel, one at the back. The hotel is just as it appears on their website. It is amazing to wake up each morning to the faint sound of distant music from the village & look out at the stunning scenery. The hotel staff can only be described as exceptional. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them & we were always warmly greeted each day when we returned. Yes the rooms are basic but comfortable including the beds (unusual for China). After staying in large hotels in the major cities this was by far my favourite stop.

Room Tip: 3rd floor best views, takes a little longer for the hot water to reach so you need to let it run for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandpCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Can't add much to what's been said -- rooms had a feel that was artistic, Asian and minimalist -- in the best sense of all the words. Beds were much softer than in other places we stayed. Great fun just sitting on the balcony watching the street below (not much real traffic, mostly the ubiquitous two and three wheeled vehicles and once a woman leading some water buffalo.) But we weren't aware of any street noise.
Very good service. I hurt my knee the first day and the kitchen brought us dinner on our balcony the next two nights so I didn't have to climb the extra stairs to the dining room.
Be aware that this hotel is away from the center of town -- that's part of why we chose it -- but it limits dining options. But the food here is very good -- if you're tired of "Chinese" food, get the farmers pizza!
Only thing I missed was a river view but I don't know if you can get a river view plus all the good things about the Fonglou without spending a lot more money.
Final caveat: use the hot water in the morning. It gets kinda skimpy in the evening.

Room Tip: We had the room with two balconies on the second floor. Debated getting a room on the third floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We ended our month long trip to China with 3 nights in Yangshuo. Booking this hotel outside of the city was very relaxing. Quite a change from the crowded cities we encountered. Originally this visit to Yangshuo was for photography. But the smoke from the farmers burning their rice fields and the persistent cloud cover made it less than ideal for photography. The hotel is less than a 1/4 mile off the main road. We got in late, but they were willing to cook us up a very nice dinner. We had several meals there as there are no other restaurants around. The city is a 40 yuan ride away. There are many places to eat in town. West street is very crowded so we elected to eat at the hotel. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are spartan but clean, great shower. No tv so bring a book to read. The staff will help you plan your days with river raft rides, bike trips and hiking trips.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 3 rd floor rooms. They have very nice views if the river and mountains. The sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yazretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

After travelling from Northern Virginia, and spending a week in Taiwan and Hong Kong, spending four days at Phoenix Pagoda was a much needed break to decompress. The retreat is nestled in a small village of Fonglou, and is surrounded by karst peaks. The retreat provided my husband, my 15 year old son and me with a private shuttle to and fro from Liagjian airport, Guilin. I would recommend this service to first time travelers to Guilin because the retreat is about 45 miles from the airport and it saves you the hassle of dealing with the language barrier and finding transportation after a tiring flight. The personnel service provided by Luna, Lilly and Fannie will be forever remembered by my family, especially by my son, who learnt Chinese words and phrases from Fannie and Lilly. Our bedroom had its own private balcony surrounded by mountains, and our beds were considerably softer than the harder beds in most hotels in China. The Chinese believe that hard beds are good for your health; however, this posed considerable hardship for me as I’m accustomed to softer beds. Thus, sleeping on the beds at Phoenix Pagoda was a welcome relief. The food was excellent and the overall service was impeccable. The hotel planned and arranged daily tours for my family including boat trips on the Li and Yulong River, mountain climbing; cave exploration and bike riding trips. Overall it was a great experience and I highly recommend the Phoenix Pagoda for a tranquil and restful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalinefraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Me and my girlfriend went for national holidays to Xi'an and Yangshuo. After being surrounded by a huge crowd in Xi'an, Yangshuo was the great place to have a nice and relaxing time.

The hotel is surrounded by mountains and far away enough from the highway so you can enjoy your time.

In that week the city center of Yangshuo was full of people, so we just decided to stay at the hotel, have some drinks and good food. Besides, there is a close path to see the moon hill and also to the river, where we took a bamboo ride back to the hotel.

I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.4 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 401 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
6.5 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 401 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
4.5 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 401 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#13 of 401 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
5.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#12 of 401 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#17 of 401 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Address: No.98 Fonglou Village, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 401 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat presents the most natural style accommodation for you to enjoy the hills and rivers at Yangshuo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing