We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Yangshou!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Ranked #5 of 487 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This was one of our last stops in a 5 week trip through china and definately one of the highlights. The hotel is very comfortable with great views and really atmosphere. The staff were able to organise all of our travel plans and activities, oh and the food was good also. Would definately stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 309 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at the Phoenix Pagoda in October 2011 for 5 days. It is located a few KM outside of “downtown” Yang Shou which we really liked since it was so nice to be away from the crowds and the noise. The hotel was SO peaceful and relaxing. It was so wonderful to see the beautiful sunrise over the hills. The staff is wonderful and attentive. The manager, Luna, and the rest of the staff took wonderful care of us and they speak very very good English. There is no television ( which we did not miss at all, it just made the stay more relaxing) however there is a great internet connection! The hotel is very clean, the hot water, heat and A/C all work great. They also have soft “western” beds, which is a welcome change from the hard beds at some hotels in China. I would defiantly recommend a stay at the Pheonix Pagoda! We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank W1AIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Just spent 3 days here - can't beat the location if you are looking for a little peace and quiet. After traveling for a week in southern china, we were looking forward to just relaxing and this is exactly what we got to do.

At the base of Moon Hill, convenient to lots (walk to Moon Hill, walk to the river, taxi to town) but in a serene setting. The staff could have have been better, ready to meet any of our needs. We enjoyed drinks in the garden in the afternoon daily and dinner on the roof at night.

Rooms were clean, spacious, we had a nice balcony for reading and relaxing. They were able to arrange taxi's for us, bike rentals (had a good variety right there), restaurant recommendations, biking route suggestions... really anything and everything we needed.

We landed here exhausted and left extremely satisfied and fulfilled!

Room Tip: Mountain View rooms have a nice location (any floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jfrede01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

My best friend and I stayed at Fong Lou for the last three days of our trip. We were looking to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city and landed exactly in the right place. Fong Lou is located about 6 miles out of town, right next to Moon Hill.

The rooms were newly finished, clean and spacious. It was possible to have drinks in the garden as well as meals on the rooftop terrace. Food was tasty.

We rented bikes from the hotel one day and could buy a map of the area from the desk. The hotel was very accommodating and arranged taxis for us as well as made suggestions as to what we could do each day.

Eat dinner at Fong Lou, but also try the place right next door - they had excellent food too!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evelynwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hotel is just beside the Moon mountain, a famous landscape in Yangshuo.
It's an old hotel and had been decorated completely when the new padrone took it over this summer. The new padrone is a very nice and trustworhy man from Taiwan. In summer holiday my family went to Yangshuo and lived in this hotel, which just open for only 2 monthes after redecoration. Then we gave him several advices. This Nation Day festival we came again and found it had been improved significantly and became more comfortable and convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side faces the moon mountain have very good scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinlica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I can heartily recommend this hotel. It is beautifully situated with great views on the mountains and only 10-15 mins away from the tourist hustle of Yangshuo. We were actually the first to visit the hotel! It had just opened and it suffered from some technical hiccups but everything was solved by the friendly and cooperative staff. We had two adjoining rooms and both had balconies. The beds were actually the best I've enjoyed in China so far - big stuffy mattresses and plenty of space for tall Europeans like I am. Also, the bathroom was clean and functional.

I hope I will be able to return one time to the Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat as I had wonderful memories of the hotel, the people and the surroundings.

Kind regards
Machgiel Bakker + family

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Machgiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I enjoyed staying at Fonglou, which is a cozy retreat with friendly staff.
This really made me “Be at home!”
“Less is more”, as Mies van der Rohe said, I agree with Fonglou’s style and spirit. Guests can hardly find unnecessary metal or modern furniture at Fonglou. I especially like the vernacular materials in the rooms like stone basins and bath tubs, bamboo benches and lamps, as well as the idea of an open “closet” with a natural branch.
Fonglou is located very closed to Moon Hill where I enjoyed a great grand view. The public transportation is not convenient, but in fact, I preferred walking around or riding a bike without any particular destination. The only thing annoyed me was mosquitoes. Yet, they are part of nature. I did not like such a “pet” but fortunately I learned how to better survive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fongpei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 487 in Yangshuo County
1,138 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 487 in Yangshuo County
630 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 487 in Yangshuo County
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#4 of 487 in Yangshuo County
483 reviews
6.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 487 in Yangshuo County
269 reviews
1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 487 in Yangshuo County
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Address: No.98 Fonglou Village, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 487 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $47 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat presents the most natural style accommodation for you to enjoy the hills and rivers at Yangshuo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing