We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in the Countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moondance Boutique Resort
Ranked #10 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the Countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This marvelous boutique hotel has all the modern conveniences and is set in the countryside close to Moon Hill. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the food is good and the swimming pool was a total hit with our kids. There are lots of beautiful outdoor seating areas and the concierge is very helpful about organizing local trips and tours. They have free bikes that we used to get around.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have brilliant river views. Call the hotel or email if you'd like tips on c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    62
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
112
126
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I cant say enough about the service and facilities at Moondance. We stayed two nights and enjoyed our meals and the service provided. The location is such that you can sit by the peaceful river with your cocktail and watch the locals go by, while being away from the hustle of the main road. The food was good and plentiful. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. But the enthusiasm of the staff was fantastic. Susan our host always had a smile and was helpful with all questions. Prices were reasonable. would recommend to anyone going to Yangshuo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Nancy M,

This is a great review and one of the best we have ever had. Moondance opened a new building this April, and got to start with a whole new team of young, excited and very helpful local people. Service levels and atmosphere have never been better and under the guidance of Susan, our Client Service Manager things are only improving still.

We would like to invite all our potential guests to visit us and experience the Moondance hospitality by yourself

The Moondance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a fabulous hotel out of town in a beautiful setting next to the Jinbao river. The staff are very friendly and several of them can speak English very well. They were super helpful and arranged everything for us during our stay. Stay in one of the rooms on the top floor looking out over the river. Room 305, "Stairway to heaven" was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was great. Take a bike tour with Farmer Tang, a local who knows all of the best places to go. The pool was a refreshing treat after a day of cycling or touring around. It was a huge hit with our kids. We enjoyed the mango shakes. The food in the restaurant was good but not great. The staff can easily arrange a taxi into town where there are many food options. Free bikes for our use made it easy to explore the local area and greatly cut down on our cost and time traveling back and forth to town. We highly recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: Top floor facing river. Room 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We were traveling as a family of two adults and three children (10,8,6) in China with some frustrations about the lack of quality and value in other hotels booked by Stubborn Mule Travel agency, in fact we were feeling quite cheated. HOWEVER, the Moondance met and exceeded our expectations.

We stayed in two different style of rooms, one that was a large room with a comfortable king bed, a spacious bunk bed and a roll-away bed. The second room style was the best as it had a front room with a spacious bunk bend, television and couch. The connected bedroom had two single sized beds that could be pushed together, a desk, another couch, a spacious deck and room for a roll-away bed. The rooms were clean and bug free. The bathrooms were clean and spacious as well. The air conditioning worked perfectly, quickly cooling the room. You could rent a DVD player as well as DVDs from the front desk which was quite convenient. We ate our meals at the resorts restaurant and were never disappointed. They had a generous menu of both Asian and Western options and were quite accommodating for our selective children. Meal hours were well timed and restaurant service was efficient. You could place you breakfast order the night before, which really saved time. There were nice outdoor spaces to enjoy dinner while listening to the river and nature. The pool was being renovated, but looked like it was going to be a refreshing. The resort also made bicycles (single and tandem) available for your use for a quite ride through the local villages which was very interesting to see. The staff was extremely helpful and very welcoming. Several spoke English. The resort was being expanded when we were there so I would anticipate there being even more great rooms for you to experience. This is THE place to stay if you are heading to this part of China!!

The resort was a 20 minute walk from the entrance to the moon rock entrance. This is about a 40 minute somewhat steep stair climb to the top. The view is worth it. The resort is centrally located near many other points of interest making it an all-around gem.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Loveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we truly appreciate your opinion that you loved Moondance the most of all your hotels in China. It is one of our goals that we stand out in personality and feeling, compared to big five star hotels from the big cities. Especially families with chidren finally have the opportunity to chill out, reload and see a whole different side of China here in the countryside.

As we have guests from all over the world, we try to offer a suitable menu of meals to satisfy as many guests as possible. There are burgers and sandwiches for those that miss home, but there is outstanding Chinese food available as well.

We are happy you enjoyed it

The Moondance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here at the recommendation of our private tour company, Wild China. This was what I was hoping for in getting outside of the biggest cities in China. The location is absolutely superb - right on the river, near a small rural village. Since we had a guide and driver lined up, it was not an inconvenience to be located away from the main action in Yangshuo. The pool and the building next door were nearly completed, so the construction was not really too much of an inconvenience. Biking around the area was terrific. We also walked some, and it was nice to see locals in their daily life. The hotel's front staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts, either inside or on the deck, were quite good. But we felt the very best thing was the AC! After staying at hotels in other cities that were regulated or had not yet switched from winter to summer mode, it was a very welcome relief to have an individual control with a very good quality unit, as it was certainly starting to get warm and humid. Our room on the 3rd floor had an excellent balcony and view of the river and mountains.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for a great review and are pleased to hear that your stay at Moondance was satisfying. One of the most important parts of running a hotel is to make sure all the hardware is working and that's not always easy when you are situated in the countryside. Moondance tries her best to offer comfort and convenience with authentic village life and great nature at her doorstep.

Once again - many thanks!

The Moondance Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We(a couple and a toddler) stayed here during Easter because we didn't get a booking at The Giggling Tree. The hotel is located in a small village near a river and the view was quite nice with a few odd dumps of garbage but that's because of the construction going on I'm assuming. There was also a lot of noise because of that. If that bothers you make sure you go after the construction is over.
The rooms are really nice and cosy with good beds and some have really nice balconies. One of the days we had a nice long breakfast on the balcony enjoying the view. The other day we were told they were not serving BF in the room which was quite odd because when we went down to eat there was absolutely no one there. Eating outside the hotel in the garden would've been nice it has amazing views of the mountains and the river but we had to eat in because of the rain.
The food whatever we had was really nice considering we are vegetarians we didn't have a problem.
The staff here is fantastic, they were very helpful and friendly.
They also have a lot of bicycles which they give their guests free of charge to explore around on their own. They have a dog n a puppy running around and sitting in the hotel almost all times. Our daughter enjoyed playing with them.
The hotel is a little away from the city, everytime we went to the city we had to pay 40-50 RMB each way.
All in all we had a good time here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Moondance Resort has to be located in the most picturesque spot you could imagine! The staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. The Rooms are clean, well appointed and request that you respect environmental issues. You need to bring your mossie repellent as the mosquitos are the size of small dogs. But the resort, the staff and the rooms are definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.5 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#6 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#15 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Boutique Resort

Property: Moondance Boutique Resort
Address: Fenglou 1 (behind Moon Hill) | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moondance Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With twenty-one non-identical suites holding modern private bathrooms, Moondance has the perfect suite for each traveler. Enjoy your coffee on the wooden balcony, take a bath with tremendous views of the surroundings, read a book in your lounge corner and rest like Sleeping Beauty in our self-made King-Size bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moondance Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing