We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended hotel for Yangshuo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moondance Boutique Resort
Ranked #11 of 490 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Roland (the Dutch Manager) will answer any questions before you arrive. The hotel can organise airport transfers, guides, river trips, excursions in fact anything you like. We used the services of a local Tour Guide called Feng. She was great and provided us with a memorable few days in Yangshuo. Her e mail address is feng@yangshuoguide.com Her prices are reasonable, she will organise anything you want and she tries to avoid the large Chinese groups. We even had lunch at her family house (no running water, cooking on an open fire in a mud brick kitchen, water buffalo in the shed, etc, it should make you realise how lucky you are!!).
The hotel is out of the madness that is Yangshuo. Peaceful spot by the river. Rooms very nice and the staff all make an effort. Roland is normally in the reception area on his computer so he can always help with questions or recommendations.
We used the minibus / taxi vans on the main road to get to Yangshuo. Cost about 3 RMB. Taxi back about 40 RMB. We used the free bikes from the hotel for a couple of hours one morning.
Some tips and comments: The hotel is by a river so take precautions against mosquitoes in the day or night and on your balcony. The food is ok but not amazing as some reviews say. You can not put toilet paper down the loo. It was ok for us as we had no tummy trouble but it could be horrible if you have problems!! I might have thought twice about staying here if i knew this before i made my reservation. We stayed in room 206 Dreamweaver. Nice room but the kitchen and hotel staff sit outside below the balcony. As is the Chinese way they often speak loudly and excitedly. This takes the edge of the peace and tranquility. There is a family with a small child living in the room next to reception. The childs screams and crying carries up the stairs again spoiling the peace and quiet of the place. It might not effect the rooms on higher floors or in other parts of the hotel.
The Impression show is a must. Expensive but worth every penny. Amazing show on the river at night with the mountain back drop.
All in all we enjoyed our stay. Roland and his team put a lot of effort into running a hotel in rural China.

Room Tip: Obvious but choose the room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 330 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a very peaceful and relaxing time. The hotel is outside of Yangshuo and set back from the main road, which made it feel very secluded and quiet. It has a great front garden looking out onto the river and most rooms have balconies that you can spend just lazing around and enjoying the beautiful surrounding scenery.

We had two rooms, both very clean and spacious. The a/c and wifi are both strong, the towels were fluffy, water pressure was good. The beds might be a bit hard for some, but are typical for Chinese beds. They also provided bottled water, tea, shampoo and toothbrushes/paste. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. They gave us tips on what to see and do, and were very nice to chat with. They also helped us arrange tours around the area and to/from Guilin.

The TV had Chinese stations only, but we borrowed a DVD player and watched movies from the hotel's collection. They also had a hookup for your laptop to the TV, as well as a variety of books and magazines to borrow. We also used the hotel's bikes and took a nice and easy ride through the neighboring village.

We ate most meals at the hotel. The food is good and there was enough of a selection for 5 days. They have a variety of Chinese and Western foods, and we especially enjoyed the fruit salads, coffee and salted peanuts.

One downside is that the dam serves as the closest bridge to the main road, and since we were there during the rainy season it was nearly a foot of water to wade through to cross. We made it barefoot and slowly, but some may not feel comfortable as there is still a decent current. There is a longer way around the the main road, and though scenic, may be a deterrent to getting out to see the sites.

Also, if you are a light sleeper (as I am), I would recommend a room on the top floor. We had a room near the staircase on the second floor, and I was woken up a few times with late night stair traffic and the neighbours above walking around in their shoes.

And one last thing: bring mosquito repellent! I was eaten alive by the mosquitoes.

Overall, we had a great time at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Yangshuo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed 4 nights at the Moondance Resort. We had the strawberry field room which is adequate enough even for 5 of us. The hotel surrounding is very nice, just beside a river with beautiful moutains in front. It is about 10 minutes drive from YangShuo downtown. We like the tranquility of the countryside but for excursions you do need to add extra cost for transfer.

We used many times the bikes provided by the hotel for short rides around the hotel and really appreciated it. The breakfast at the hotel is quite basic. Our room is very nice with a lot of wooden decoration. We have a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. However water in the swimming pool does not look very clean, we saw nobody using it. We ate serveral times at the hotel, the cooking is of quite varied standard. Service is good and staff friendly.

We enjoyed our stay at Moondance and we believe that it is a good choice in Yangshuo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allure123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our wonderful travel guide Lilly Lu had recommended Moondance Boutique Resort & I thank her for it. It is in such a beautiful setting overlooking the Jinbao river. Our room was beautifully decorated with a marvellous renovated bathroom. The staff all seemed to speak some English & were friendly & helpful. The food was really yummy & they provided room service! A computer was available for guests to use plus bikes & umbrellas for loan. There were many picturesque spots to relax & enjoy the remarkable karst mountain views. The area was one of the highlights of our China trip.

Room Tip: Get a river view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gump204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A reasonable taxi ride out of the hustle-bustle of Yangshuo, this is a delightful country retreat. Very kid-friendly -- this would have been our #1 choice a few years ago when traveling as a family. Would have given it 4 1/2 stars, if that had been an option -- the only demerit was the food -- adequate but not stellar. But the room was great -- clean, spacious and with wonderful territorial views.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

After 3 weeks of touring China, we were looking for a change of pace to relax and wind down. The Moondance Resort was perfect for our needs. We stayed 3 nights enjoying the riverside garden ambience. The hotel is about 5km from Yangshou and requires a 40rmb taxi or local bus. The owner is a Dutch-Chinese couple and with several bi-lingual staff who are very helpful with advice on things to do in the area. There are free and rental bicycles for guests, a river-fed swimming pool, bar and good all-day restaurant service. Rooms are large, clean and with good beds. We could have stayed a week. Since the hotel is in the country on the edge of a farming village, occasionally we were woken early by locals arising to work the fields, but this was part of the ambience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canada4Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Moondance in May of 2013. We absolutely adored it! I highly recommend the Starry Night Room, the view from the balcony is exquisite & the room is perfect, especially the bathtub- very romantic. We ordered room service every night (too exhausted by the days activities to consider going out) & the food was some of the best we had in China.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kygreeneyedblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for the Great Review. We really appreciate it that you take the time to share your feelings and experiences with us and we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us here. Let the memories linger for a while.... :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 490 in Yangshuo County
1,139 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 490 in Yangshuo County
631 reviews
1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 490 in Yangshuo County
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#8 of 490 in Yangshuo County
271 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
#12 of 490 in Yangshuo County
28 reviews
4.1 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#21 of 490 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Boutique Resort

Address: Fenglou 1 | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 490 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $51 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moondance Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With twenty-one non-identical suites holding modern private bathrooms, Moondance has the perfect suite for each traveler. Enjoy your coffee on the wooden balcony, take a bath with tremendous views of the surroundings, read a book in your lounge corner and rest like Sleeping Beauty in our self-made King-Size bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moondance Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing