We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moondance Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Apsara Lodge(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yulong River Gauche Hotel(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Qixin Jiuyin Hotel(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Resort(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Carefree Resort(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Dragon Villa(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shililang Renwen Hotel(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
246
63
11
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
63
11
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bikesrising sunthe riverchina tripkarst mountainsfavorite hotelbike tourcomfortable roomssmall hotelbeautiful sceneryspeak good englishguidetownyangshuotangbalconiesmosquitoes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 330 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved Yangshuo so much that when friends were going to be coming to visit us in Beijing we suggested a few days here and that we would join them. This resort caught our eye on TA and we were very glad we chose it! Since then, many friends have stayed here and enjoyed it as much as us. Hospitality here was great! Food was good and all of their set up and suggestions for activities were great! We walked to a very cool karst that had such a big cave that it was almost hollow and went rock climbing, zip-lining and abseiling there (i'm sorry I don't remember the name of that company). We biked all around, went on a bamboo raft trip, climbed moon rock, wandered West Street and just had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Any belated review is welcome if they can be as wonderful as yours! Thank you for the nice words and for introducing us to your friends! We try our best to provide everyone with a satisfied stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Moondance was one of our favorite hotel/lodge that we stayed in while in China. We stayed primarily in 5-star hotels, but Moondance provided a much better experience than the others. There was a very relaxing tone to the place and the employees and owner were AMAZING with their friendly attitude and they were filled with information on the local area and things to do and see. They even arranged for my husband and son to have in-room massages from a local masseuse. The free bikes were an added plus and we rode them everyday that we were there. The town of Yanhshuo was a bike-ride away, as was the cave, moon hill, and many other sights. It was so nice to be outside of the main city where it was quiet and we could get a feel for the local flavor with a wonderful view of the river and the nearby fields with water buffalo, etc.
The food at the restaurant was wonderful and we ate there almost every meal during our stay.
We would DEFINITELY stay there again if we make it back to China.

Room Tip: Our family of 4 stayed in the stairway to heaven and it was a comfortable arrangement. The only thing that could use improvement was the seating area around the tv. There is a library of movies to select from in the lobby, however when we sat down to watch them, we realized that there was not enough seating for the 4 of us.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanandtimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at Moondance at the end of March for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The hotel is perfect for a relaxing stay which is just what we wanted. It has a countrified rustic feel, yet had modern facilities and high spec bathrooms including loads of hot water. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and looked after us really well. After communications by email it was great to meet Roland who made a point of introducing himself. We stayed in the room on the top floor called Starry Night which was luxurious and spacious with a lovely bathroom and had a beautiful view of the river. i have read other reviews that mentioned hard beds but our huge bed was extremely comfortable, probably the best out of the 3 Chinese hotels we stayed in. The position of the hotel is set a little way away from the main hotel area, but within walking distance of all the main sights. The only downside to the location for some people is that when it rained heavily, the river level got very high and cut off the main access to the hotel which meant it was difficult to walk anywhere or get one of the usual taxis. However when this happened during our stay the staff arranged for a local driver who was prepared to take the back route to Moondance, which was along the farm tracks to the rear of the hotel. He took us to the main village to meet some friends in another hotel one evening and we telephoned when we were ready to come back. We could not have asked for a better or more personal service. I am not sure how often this happens with the river but it was not a problem for us as we were happy to chill out in the beautiful surroundings for one day, and the access road across the river became passable very quickly. It would certainly not stop us from staying there again nor recommending Moondance as a fantastic place to stay. We are not really cycling people but for those that are, getting around the back roads would not be a problem if the front access was inaccessible, and the hotel lends out bikes for free. We explored the local sights including the Big Banyan Tree, Gold Water caves, Fuli fan painting village by raft and watched cormorant fishing. If we are ever lucky enough to visit this part of China again we will definitely stay at Moondance Resort, it was perfect!

Room Tip: Starry Night is a large, luxurious room with a modern bathroom, huge bathtub and separate shower.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelfishkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Moondance deserves its reputation. This is wonderful small boutique hotel on the outskirts of Yangshuo. It is peaceful, and has a great setting. It is not in town, (which can be noisy at night) and the hotel is too far to walk, but a taxi will take you there for RMB 40(fixed price). It is not on Google maps (many places in China aren’t), so I’ll describe its location.
The hotel is located next to a river, surrounded by Karst mountains (see photo taken from the balcony of the ‘Stairway to Heaven’ Room. Roland and his crew are incredibly friendly, and you’ll feel completely welcome. Roland is Dutch originally, so the hotel has a blend of western and Chinese influences: for example the menu is good for both types of dishes and they will accommodate whatever you need.
If you are coming straight from Guilin airport, ask the hotel to send a car to meet you – it will save you money and a lot of hassle (RMB 400) since most airport taxis won’t know how to find it.
To get to the hotel, you need to cross a ford which taxis can do most of the time. However after heavy rain, the ford is dangerous to cross, and one taxi back from Yangshuo refused to take us because of this. A call to the hotel fixed this – they have relationships with taxis that know the back route across the fields which means that the hotel is accessible even when the river is high. Most taxi drivers don’t know this.
Our room was a Family room with one double and two single beds. All beds were very comfortable, though the double was up a flight of somewhat precarious steps in a roof space. Suitable for children, but not adults due to the very limited headroom. I worried about the staircase, (someone slipping on it in the night) but it was fine. The ensuite bathroom was luxurious by Chinese standards.
One disappointment was that the swimming pool was closed. This is a small pool that is filled from the river, and it is only open May – September.
One bonus surprise – bikes are free to borrow so that you can cycle around the local villages.

This was fascinating to see how the locals live, to meet them and explore. We took a guide to do this and had a better ride for it since she knew ether local area well. Crossing the main road on bike was decidedly hairy. The bikes are free, but check them carefully before setting off to make sure you get something roadworthy.

My only regret from staying at Moondance was that we didn’t stay for longer. We were there for four nights, and another 2 days would have given us some ‘down’ time to relax. There is so much to do, yet this is a wonderful place to relax as well, and I wished we’d had longer to enjoy the hotel more.

Room Tip: Book early - rooms go fast here due to its excellent reviews and reputation, and it is a samll hotel. Get a room with a balcony and a river view - early morning misty views of the mountains and river are fantastic.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainLumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Many thanks for your fantastic review and great to hear you enjoyed it so much

Regards from the whole Moondance Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Note: review below is based on visit to the premises and restaurant consumption with room viewing. I did not sleep here (but wished I had) but was so impressed with what I saw that I felt compelled to review.

I should say at the outset that we were supposed to stay in Yangshuo for two nights but only stayed for one because of the abysmal accommodations we had booked at the Camellia "Resort" (see my separate review). We had a guide take us around the Yangshuo countryside, and as he parked up outside the Moonscape for a local walk, my six year old announced she had to go to the bathroom. Not convenient. Our guide went and asked the front desk if they would let her use the toilet. They were so kind and accommodated. I know you shouldn't judge a hotel by its public area toilets, but I did. It was worthy of Homes and Gardens.

While we only stayed for a drink, I felt compelled to write because I so wished we had discovered this place --- I definitely would have remained in Yangshuo if I had discovered this hotel. I asked to see a family room and a regular room for future reference. Both were spacious, trendy and with great views. The bathrooms were (like the one in the public area downstairs) down to a very high standard --- I would aspire to renovate my own at home to look like this!

The building itself appears to be a newbuild, but it has obviously been designed to be in keeping with the local environment.

If I return to Yangshuo, I would consider spending a day walking around Yangshuo on arrival, but then perhaps staying at the Moonscape as a base for village walks/cycles (they provide free bikes here) and for seeing other nearby sites (Moon Hill, Silver Cave, Yulong rafting, etc.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Canoemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Manager at Moondance Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

I'm happy we made such a good impression on you in such a short time, and indeed we would also have preferred if you were able to stay with us. But who knows - the opportunity might occur!

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews