We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star style, local prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moondance Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moondance Boutique Resort
Ranked #9 of 434 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“5 star style, local prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I love luxury hotels, and I've covered quite a number of these in most corners of the globe- but it seems like most of them have gone the way of "modern blandness" in terms of decor and room fittings. Plonk one in a deluxe suite in any major luxury hotel brand, and one can easily forget the country they're in- they all look the same. But the Moondance goes out of its way to be unique. In fact, not only the hotel is unique- each room is unique. They're named- when was the last time you stayed in a hotel which named its rooms with monikers like "Unforgettable", or "Rising Sun", with a description of each on its website and a worded portrait of the views they offer? The interiors are fitted out simple but tastefully. I noticed that a lot of the items- cushion covers, the Chinoiserie mugs- were available in the town markets, reasonably priced. A demonstration of how beauty can be achieved even on a budget.

The bathroom is probably the best feature- sparklingly clean, huge, deep tub with a view across Yangshuo's rural bucolic. The black-and-sandstone colour theme continued throughout- not a single bland glass fixture to be seen. The reading nook in "Unforgettable" is a particularly nice touch for the many misty (mystical), drizzly days that is probably part of Yangshuo's character- and charm- perfect spot to curl up with a glass and whatever literary escapism you have on hand.

Yes, the hotel is far from the action (about 10 mins by taxi or 15 mins by tuk tuk- both easily found near West Street), but one does not travel to Yangshuo for its action. The banks of the Jinbao River is a dreamy antidote to the mass tourism of West Street. Aptly perched along the Ten Mile Gallery, the most scenic route of Yangshuo, it's a traditional Chinese painting come alive with the sounds of roosters, the occasional buffalo and the chatter of local women as they washed their laundry in the clear waters in the early morning. It is easily the prettiest spot in all of Yangshuo- no mean feat when one considers that the town is probably the most picturesque part of China.

Breakfast is included, and excellent- although this wasn't made clear on the hotel website. There are set breakfast sets (Western or Asian) but I would recommend the "a la carte"- choose from a wide range of items to fit your appetite- all included as long as it remains within the maximum budget (Y25). The hash brown was particularly well done.

Five star beauty at 3 star prices. If only we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Read through all the room descriptions and choose one that appeal to you. "Unforgettable"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    61
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
111
125
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Unforgettable was the name of the hotelroom in Moondance Boutique Resort and indeed: our stay was unforgettable. Arriving in Europe after travelling in southwest China we already miss the beauty of the hotel and the room with view on this typical Chinese scenery, the good meals and the warm ginger tea, the garden with the flowers, which we only knew from southern Europe, the dogs and the usual sight of the village people, walking by. This hotel was a restplace in a very strange and far away country, where in other hotels we experienced that almost nobody spoke English and practically did not understand us. We appreciated the staff in Moondance, helping and advising us in trips andexcursions. Very nice young people with lots of energy and enthusiasm. Also the guests, attracted to this hotel, seemed to be more open for contact and some talking, sharing the costs of the taxi and going together on bycyle tours. The whole atmosphere was warm and friendly and we liked it a lot. Thanks again to Roland, Emily, Milly, Amy, Lynn and Sem. If possible: we'll come back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

It was not our first trip to China, but it was certainly the best one because of the wonderful time we have spent in Moondance Boutique Resort, a outrageous hotel on a splendid spot. Actually when we arrived, we drove on a water hidden road, due to heavy rainfall, on a dark evening, but you can guess our surprise next morning, seeing this lovely area, next to the river, with the mountains in the background. Women were doing their laundry in this river, buffaloos came by. The hotel itself breaths out a warm and welcoming atmosphere and the staff is very eager to help you, also willing to advise with trips and calling taxidrivers. As we have been in more Chinese hotels where hardly anybody spoke a word of English, we were happy with this communication, which offered us more potential. Looking back we say: we had the time of our life in Moondance Boutique Resort and we want to thank Roland and his staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We originally were going to book a different hotel but changed to Moondance Boutique Resort on a recommendation from our local guide (Lilly Lu).
The hotel is in a spectacular location: On a small river, about a half-mile from the main road. It's a short bike ride to the Moon Hill, Banyan Tree and 30 minutes into Yangshuo.
This property is meticulously maintained, from the manicured grounds, lobby, sitting area, dining room, and rooms. It is warm, cozy and invites a sense of peace and tranquility upon arrival.
The common room serves as a multi-purpose reception, bar, lounging area (great couches and fireplace), and food ordering station. Somehow it doesn't get cluttered and runs with whimsical efficiency.
We booked a deluxe suite (room 202) and found it to be spacious, very clean, and inviting. The porch overlooked the front drive with great views of the mountains/river. Bathroom was very large, clean and tasteful. Bed was very comfortable and we were able to sleep with the window open for some fresh air.

The staff are entertaining and helpful and seem to enjoy their jobs. Met the owner (from Holland) during our stay - was also very professional, informative and seems to carry some clout and respect with the local community.

Breakfast was recently included with the room price - this is a nice gesture since the hotel is some distance from town and you really have no choice in the morning but to eat there.

We ate several meals (besides breakfast) at the hotel. The menu is diverse (eastern and western) and the quality is VERY good. I think the menu is good enough that the hotel could advertise the restaurant for dinner solely on its own merits.

Property offers free bikes which is nice for navigating to local attractions not requiring a guide, and for getting into town. Some bikes could use updating, repairs, but the price is right so no complaints here.

Hidden tip: follow the road past the hotel into the village. Keep walking back behind an elementary school and you will suddenly end up in the farms surrounding town. Going a little further and suddenly you have the whole world to yourself - away from just about everything except the local farmers and a few buffalo. Walk even further and you end up on the Li river with the bamboo raft trips going by. Walk along the river as far as your heart desires.

Room Tip: They're all excellent (we peeked in on a few that were empty). Just go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurfColorado78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a simple, comfortable country inn that we enjoyed very much.There are lots of activities but we opted mainly to just relax in the the beautiful surroundings ,going for meandering walks and enjoying both Western and Chinese meals in the garden.Our room (Starry Night) on the top floor was clean and had lovely views .Moondance was a serene oasis that enabled us to have a glimpse of rural life that we really appreciated as a contrast to the busy tourist areas that we visited.
The staff were exceptional.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bella1192212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia SC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent five nights in the 3rd floor room "Starry Night" at the Moondance, for vacation after business in Hong Kong. Our experience was as others have described it, magnificent and "other-worldly" scenery, great opportunities to participate in outings, services and good food conveniently offered by kind and efficient staff. Our room was lovely. One can enjoy sitting out on the terrace or at the tables next to the river, watching travelers cross the bridge, the ducks on the river, sometimes farmers herding animals, framed by the stunning Karst mountains and huge sprays of bamboo. Or - you can go out and about, by taxi, bicycle or walking, with a guide or on your own.

We went on a bamboo raft float down the Li River, which was an atmospheric and interesting trip. We were taken to an exceptionally good lunch after the raft trip and before heading back. (The down side of this trip is the ride back, about a half an hour on unpaved, rutted road.) On another day, we bicycled from the hotel around Moon Hill to visit an ancient town; very interesting and not arduous for the less athletic (like me). We also went to the light show in Yangshou, one evening. Since we had seen the show on West Lake in Hangzhou, this show was less interesting - but if you haven't seen one, you might catch this one.

We discovered that the food at the Moondance was better than what we ate in Yangshou at a recommended restaurant on TripAdvisor, for the same local specialty, beer fish. The fish we ate at the hotel was far superior - more flavorful, meaty and delicious. So, we don't recommend eating elsewhere since it may be more expensive and not as good - unless guided by the hotel, perhaps.

Everything is not perfect, as might be promised by an American chain hotel. Some things are idiosyncratic. For example, we had trouble with our hot water. The pressure was low, and sometimes, the water wasn't hot. But we are out in the Chinese countryside in an extraordinary place and all in all, we had a most memorable and wonderful experience. We thank our host Roland and the staff, Sam, Lynn, Amy, and Emily. (I got in a massage before we left ... what a good send-off!)

Room Tip: The room we stayed in, the Starry Night, may be the best in the hotel. Roland indicated that the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
187 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I loved our stay at the Moondance Hotel, specially the super staff! The service was really good, the rooms were not luxurious, but were comfortable and clean for Chinese standards. The best thing of the hotel, for sure, were all the activities they were able to prepare for us. The Mountain Biking tour and the Longji terrace field hiking were definitively, along with the Great Wall, the highlights of our trip to China. Their guides are just the best!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
6.8 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#7 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#16 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Boutique Resort

Property: Moondance Boutique Resort
Address: Fenglou 1 (behind Moon Hill) | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 434 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moondance Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With twenty-one non-identical suites holding modern private bathrooms, Moondance has the perfect suite for each traveler. Enjoy your coffee on the wooden balcony, take a bath with tremendous views of the surroundings, read a book in your lounge corner and rest like Sleeping Beauty in our self-made King-Size bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Moondance Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing