We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Yangshuo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moondance Boutique Resort
Ranked #11 of 475 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A friend recommended we stay at Moondance, and we couldn't have been happier. We stayed in a nice room on the 3rd floor. We loved being by the river surrounded by the beautiful Karst mountains. The staff arranged rafting on the YuLong river, rock climbing, zip line and abseiling excursions. After spending the previous week in big cities around China, it was such a nice break to be in the countryside, relaxing and enjoying the outdoors! Thank you Roland and Staff for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Moondance Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 328 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Really struggled to choose a hotel in this location. All the top rated ones away from Yangshou township sounded great. Managed to bike past all of the top 5 during our stay and really pleased with our choice of the Moondance. Others were practically right on the road or otherwise tucked away miles from anywhere. Location is excellent - right on a small river with lovely grounds set up with outdoor seating and umbrellas - close enough to Yangshou township for convenience but far enough away to feel relaxing. Arrived at Guilin airport at 9pm after a two hour delay on our flight leaving Hangzhou and were pleased we had taken the owner (Roland's) recommendation to pay 300RMB for an airport pick up. The journey took just over an hour (all on highway) whereas taxis travel on more minor roads to avoid tolls and the journey takes considerably longer. Driver (Mr Lee) was excellent. Met by Sam at the hotel reception who advised the chef had finished for the night but that it would be no problem to whip us up a snack if we were hungry. After we had showered there was a really tasy toasted sandwhich and welcome cold beer ready. We had booked via the hotel website and stayed in room 206 (Memories) on the second floor at 480RMB p/night. Our choice of room was motivated by price. Others range up to over 700RMB per night. Our room probably had the least desirable outlook. The balcony overlooked the narrow road and river but the view out of the other window was the back of the hotel and piles of bottles etc and the village. Room was more than adequate though with large tiled shower and comfortable bed. The toilet is located inside the large tiled shower area which is a bit unusual and the toilet gets wet from the shower. The basin is outside the shower room. The only thing the room lacked was a fridge, however staff only to happy to provide us with ice to take back to our room. We had not realised when booking that breakfast was included in our room rate. The first morning we had the bacon and eggs but found the fruit, meusli and yoghurt to be the tastiest option. We made use of the bikes provided by the hotel at no cost for guests. Bikes a bit hit and miss mechanically but did not let us down. Lee at reception was very helpful with suggestions for our biking trips and you can purchase a bking map for 10RMB. Yangshou township is an easy bike ride away either by main highway or via small local roads. Plenty of food options at Yangshou township and lots of laundries who wash and dry clothes for a fraction of the price the hotel charges. A taxi ride into the township for evening dining is 40RMB each way. We didn't have an evening meal at Moondance but lunches and snacks were very nice and they make a mean cocktail and beers are very reasonably priced. Relaxing area in the lobby with comfy chairs and great views of the grounds and river. At the hotel's recommendation they arranged a trip on the Li River in a bamboo raft for us. Although it was drizzling we still managed to get great views of the spectacular limestone formations. However for the price (180RMB each for the boat ride and 150RMB for the taxi there - we caught local bus back from Xing Ping) and the length of time it took to get there I would have been just as happy with a boat ride on the smaller Yu Long River which we could have biked to and the boats were more authentic there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuck33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We enjoyed each of our 5 days in the hotel because it was in a small village far from city and pollution, in the middle of the mountains with beautiful views.

Our room 302 was a lovely room, well decorated and comfortable, quiet if we forget the small motorbikes in the morning. Balcony was good but I would have appreciated some flowers on it at least to hide us from the house beside... It's not very luxurious but for us who hike and cycle all day, we enjoyed the country style of the room or hotel generally.

Staff was nice, sometimes busy with other clients or on computer very often... but there when we needed and able to explain to us what we didn't understand about the culture or traditions. I would just advise them to change the time they clean the room. Honestly, breakfast is served until 12 and it's great ! I would have enjoyed to sleep until 11 or even 10 but the noise in the corridor hoovering, talking, I couldn't stand it. Same when I went for my breakfast, I go back to my room just after and she was already in cleaning it..! They should think about it, really...

Food was great, we ate there every evening, portions were good and prices were much better than every other hotel we went in China.

Bikes are available for free and that is great. Yanshuo is just 10km away, quickly done. Everything is around the hotel and we really enjoyed cycling there.

I miss their dog Coffee, lovely dog, friendly and quiet, sleeping most of the time...

Room Tip: Top floor if you can
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SosoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed two nights in the "Unforgettable" room - a lovely room with two terraces and great views. When reviewing a hotel in China's countryside you should take into consideration the living standards around it... This is not a resort, its more a BB located in a magnificent setting. The room is located in the 2nd floor, it was spacious and clean with a modern bathroom and two balconies with the amazing view of the hills.
We loved the location in a small village 10 minutes drive out of Yangshuo - so peaceful in a magnificent setting. Most of the area's attractions (Moonhill, the cave, Li River rafting etc. ) are within 15 minutes cycling.
Staff spoke good English, and were very helpful . The breakfast was served outside by the river, which was amazing especiially when right below us there were women doing their laundry by the river... Food was OK (relative to the Chinese version of Western breakfast), you could choose the bacon and eggs menu or yogurt, granola and fruits). We dined once at the hotel's restaurant and the food was very good (the Chinese ones, we didn't try their version to pizza etc).
If you plan to use the hotels bicycle make sure you test them first- most of them are in bad condition (no brakes, flat tires etc).
The swimming pool was very dirty, could have been nice to have a swim after cycling.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra to stay at the bigger and higher rooms with balconies
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in the familyroom. Lovely room, huge balcony with a good mountainview. Staff and owner very friendly and helpful. Children were happy playing in and near the river, food super, views stunning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loes0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights in the Moondance at the end of our 3 week trip to China. We had organised with Roland a transfer from the airport and were so happy when we arrived. We both had been sick during the day so after weeks it was so nice to have peace and quiet with only the occasional noise of a car horn. The staff are lovely, helpful and speak good English. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Our favourite spot was to sit at the table by the river relaxing, enjoying a cocktail and watching the locals going about their daily lives.

We ate at the hotel all nights and were more than happy with the food for both value and quality. Drink prices are reasonable with wine also being available.

Our only negative comment would be that the pool does not look inviting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imagine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed two nights in the room 203 which was a lovely room with two terraces and great views. Not really a resort but more a B&B offering dinner and excursions. Not a problem being out of town and glad we didn't stay in town as we did the excursions directly out of Moondance.
Staff spoke good english, were super helpful if a little dysfunctional at breakfast time. Food was acceptable and a typical Chinese version of a western breakfast. No better or worse than anywhere else we stayed. Pool looked a little dark and uninviting with back tiles and fed with river water.
Had a great 5hr walking excursion with one of the hotel staff to Xingpin and went to the light show one evening. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here, we would definitely recommend it.
Taxi should cost 40 to town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canterburykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 475 in Yangshuo County
1,093 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 475 in Yangshuo County
610 reviews
4.5 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#6 of 475 in Yangshuo County
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 475 in Yangshuo County
243 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 475 in Yangshuo County
171 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
#16 of 475 in Yangshuo County
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Boutique Resort

Address: Fenglou 1 | Gaotian, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 475 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $63 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moondance Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With twenty-one non-identical suites holding modern private bathrooms, Moondance has the perfect suite for each traveler. Enjoy your coffee on the wooden balcony, take a bath with tremendous views of the surroundings, read a book in your lounge corner and rest like Sleeping Beauty in our self-made King-Size bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Moondance Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing