We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Yangshuo Tea Cozy(Yangshuo County)
$86
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

River View Hotel(Yangshuo County)
$45
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $51/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hidden Dragon Villa(Yangshuo County)
$46
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Moondance Boutique Resort(Yangshuo County)
$59
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Yangshuo(Yangshuo County)
$250
$232
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Li River Resort(Yangshuo County)
$81
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Mountain Nest(Yangshuo County)
$59
$49
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $58/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Yangshuo Resort(Yangshuo County)
$107
$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Green Lotus Hotel(Yangshuo County)
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat(Yangshuo County)
$50
$46
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
249
37
11
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
37
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyulong riverold villagesmall villageyangshuo townfamily suiterice paddiesorange duckwonderful atmospheremodern comfortslarge menulight showeggplantchinese villageoff the beaten pathaway from the hustle and bustlehighly recommend this hotelchinese food
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 300 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

Pur travel agent booked us a "family room" in what was to be a "countryside " experience. Upon arrival, we felt it was run down and not rustic. Stone floors and walls, slightly dirty and air con barely working in the tiny sleeping rooms. It's quite far from town and not a place for families. Might be better suited for those seeking an off the beaten path experience, back packers, the adventurous honeymooners or if you're ok with fairly unconventional accomidations. We ledt and found another hotel for the night in town.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Cal346304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Public Relations Manager at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Dear Cal346304,
We apologise that your visit didn't meet your standards. We have investigated your complaints and have rectified the problems, thank you for your feedback as we are continually working to improve.
We wish you well in your future travels.
Kind regards,
The Secret Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017

Yangshuo has become a tourist destination for everyone, but there's still the opportunity to find an authentic slice of Guangxi culture and a place to stay away from the crowds. Faye and all of the staff immediately make you feel welcome, and the inn is a beautiful Qing style set of courtyard buildings, with a great ambience and comfortable decor. The food is fantastic, especially if you ask for the spicy dishes. We've stayed twice here, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting. The inn is set in the small village of Jiuxian. There are fun hiking paths available, and you are close to the Yulong river. It's a great place to get away, with modern comforts but set in a authentic corner. Get away to this secret place.

Room Tip: For a real treat, ask for one of the suites - Plum Blossom or Peach Blossom rooms!
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShenzhenJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Public Relations Manager at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Dear Shenzhen Jim,
It was wonderful to welcome you back, thank you so much for your kind words. Faye and the team always go above and beyond to make every guest's stay special, and the beautiful Qing dynasty buildings here really do make for a cosy and welcoming atmosphere.
We're glad you enjoyed eating at our restaurant, and our chefs are always happy to prepare dishes according to your level of spiciness! The scenery around the village and river is looking so beautiful and green at the moment, it's definitely worth getting out and about to explore.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile

Big room beautifully decorated
Peaceful area with beautiful garden which we sat in for our meals (especially enjoyed the treehouse)
Big selection of meals - try the local cuisine
Helpful staff who helped with our bookings around the area and arranged transportation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ccandynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Public Relations Manager at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear Ccandynz,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel , and for posting your great photos, the tree house is definitely a beautiful place to eat, drink, and relax! Our team has a wealth of local knowledge, and they were so happy to help you make the most of your time here.
We are continually working to expand our varied menu, so we hope you have the opportunity to come back and try some more of our chefs' creations in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

I learned of this place through a friend. I'm happy I did, this is one of the memorable hotels in Asia for all the right reasons. The décor is set in the beautiful and mysterious Yangshuo region. The hotel itself is made up of houses that are all over 200 years old and have been beautifully done up. The restaurant is simple and simply good (try the green beans, bacon and chilis). The hospitality is stunning. The owner (a South African architect) is great company. Many of the staff speak English. The hotel part is geared towards the international traveller. Super-fast internet, good beds, good shower, a/c, all spotlessly clean. This hotel in itself is worth a trip and is great value..

Room Tip: We had a large room with a separate sitting room and balcony at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Honky_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Public Relations Manager at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear Honky_Richard,
We are so glad you had such a memorable time at the Secret Garden. Great care has been taken by Fengzi Ian, the architect/owner, to preserve the ancient buildings and keep a traditional atmosphere while at the same time providing all the amenities the discerning traveller requires.
Our reception and restaurant team do have excellent English language skills and are always happy to assist our guests, from organising fun days out to recommending menu items.
Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017

We had a great time at the Secret Garden. Was first recommended there for the food but found the hotel stay to be as good as the food they prepare. Western taste in services at a Chinese cultural heritage, beautifully restored building. Helpful English speaking staff.
Highly recommended.
Rob.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bastosfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish W, Public Relations Manager at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Dear Rob,
Thank you for your high recommendation. The Secret Garden project began as an effort to save these beautiful historic buildings, so we are always happy to welcome people who also appreciate the importance of preserving this cultural heritage. We have a great team here who always go above and beyond the call of duty with smiles on their faces, and we all hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews