We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - relaxing rural location and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 475 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This place is truly somewhere unique. A glorious old building restored tastefully in a traditional village and rural setting. So quiet and relaxing with fantastic food and the friendliest service we have ever had in China. The perfect break from the city, we went cycling and exploring. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you so much from the whole Secret Garden family for your wonderful review. We are so happy you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 266 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent two nights at Secret Garden (SG), booked a suite out of no choice, I never regretted it. The hotel itself is professionally managed, clean, friendly and helpful staff, tasty food (especially pancakes) etc. Without a luxury executive lounge but it has gardens for you to unwind and enjoy fresh air. No front desk or concierge, SG staff almost know everything.

My suite is on the ground floor, very spacious, comfortable beddings, firm mattress, clean. The only downside for me & bf is - we lived on ground floor. There was one morning guests lived on the second floor left at 6am ...we got wake up and you can guess the rest. Suite is value for the money, even for two people. We had a comfortable stay at SG and highly recommend for others.

Room Tip: Suite on second floor if possible
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ3956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you. We are glad you and your boyfriend had a comfortable stay with us. Our staff are happy they could help provide all the information you needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights there and it was great. Staff was wonderful, they helped us organize activities and made good recommendation. The kids loved the location, with the old buildings and fields around us. We rented bikes and biked in the country side up the river and then took a raft back down. Food was great, the family room was perfect with the kids. We went to Yangshuo for one evening and just loved the fac we did not have to stay in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

All our staff are happy they were able to help make your family's stay with us one of your highlights in China. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent three nights at Secret Garden, which is perfect. It was like being with friends arranging everything, from pickup at the airport to cars at our disposal whenever needed. We biked along the Yulong river through villages with people working in the fields and building houses. Being at Secret Garden was the closest one comes to the real life in China. The houses are 200 years, but with all modern facilities, large rooms and bathrooms. Very beautifully done. The kitchen was wonderful, a large menu, with both Chinese and Western food. We already miss the people working there, like Faye and the one we christened Sunshine. Getting breakfast from her made our day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edlebring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your wonderfully kind words. Faye, 'Sunshine' and the rest of your friends at Secret Garden fondly remember your whole family. We hope we can have the pleasure of meeting you all again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our two nights here, from being collected from our cruise boat to being dropped off at the bus station, were among the highlights of our China trip. We thoroughly enjoyed walks in the countryside, meals (particularly breakfast), friendly helpful staff, prompt service, quaint room, comfortable bed, working wifi, and great activities. The hotel is well organized and staff helped with advice and booked activities for us, including the Sanjie Liu night show and bamboo rafting.The only downside is that there is no easy transport access and you have to rely on the hotel drivers to go places. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms have flower names. Jasmine was good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajah_Luojie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We are all so happy that we were able to make your time with us one of the highlights of your China trip. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent 4 days at this place and we really enjoyed it. I like this one more than Tea Cozy, after staying there too. The location is perfects and is more isolated from touristy places and the road.
And the food is great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miguel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

On behalf of all the Secret Garden family, thank you so much for your kind words. We always try our best in everything we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My friend and I spent a weekend at Secret Garden. It didn't matter that we hadn't read our guide books back to front because the staff at secret garden arranged everything we wanted to in the blink of an eye! The setting is beautiful too, a very peaceful village with lots to see and do. The charm of the old buildings was very unique and beautifully kept. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to the area, especially if a quiet location is your thing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shi-tacular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and beautiful village so much. The staff are glad that they were able to help you with all your arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
4.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 475 in Yangshuo County
1,093 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 475 in Yangshuo County
610 reviews
4.7 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#6 of 475 in Yangshuo County
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 475 in Yangshuo County
295 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 475 in Yangshuo County
171 reviews
4.6 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#15 of 475 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Boutique Hotel

Address: Jiuxian Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 475 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $45 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden is a boutique hotel and restaurant near the Yulong River in the stunning Yangshuo countryside. Our hotel consists of Qing Dynasty buildings that have been beautifully restored in order to preserve the historic character, while providing customers with a unique and inspirational environment in which to relax or explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Secret Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing