We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best relax and beautiful nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
prague, Czech republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best relax and beautiful nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel was just great- i will never forget the lemon chicken, breakfast and fresh orange juices. We have lost the milk bottle of our 20months old sun in the taxi, he refused to drink a milk from any other glass or bottle since childrens' bottle you can not buy in the area. Untill we offered him your home made orange juice - he fell in love and drank it every morning, lunch and evening. He was very happy. We have enjoyed our stay, we have seen a lot and in the same time we could relax as well. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere, good energy, super clean, very kind people working inside, helpful and smily everyday. I think i will return again to forget about shanghai where we live right now:-) Viktoria

Room Tip: if you are traveling with friends or bigger family - you may do the same as us rent a house 2rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Viktoria. We are so glad your family (and especially your young son) enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    36
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
74
99
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a great trip to Guilin and Yangshuo over Easter 2013, with 4 nights at the Secret Garden. It did not take long for Faye and team to make our family (3 children- 9, 7 and 5) to feel at home in this small hotel. The food was great with a mixture of Chinese and western food so there was something for everyone. The hotel is in a small village about 15 minute drive out of Yangshuo, which was pretty quiet and with no tv in the hotel, we kept the kids amused with cards and other games. The Secret Garden was a great base for exploring the Yangshou area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
On behalf of Faye and the rest of the Secret Garden team we thank you for choosing to spend your Easter holiday with us. It was a pleasure welcoming your family into our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasmechelen, Limburg, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were very happy that we could book at least one night in this beautiful hotel in a historical building with super friendly staff. It was an experience to never forget. The rooms are so clean and tidy and so cute. The atmosphere so cosy. It was our starting point to discover the area by bike. The restaurant dishesbare excellent and they serve a variety of drinks. Top !

Room Tip: When you are looking for something very special that is unforgettable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and all hope that you can stay a little longer on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

While off the beaten track, this hotel represents what traveling to remote China is all about. Rather than staying in town, this is a much preferred location if you are one to some tranquility, waking up in the morning to birds chirping and cockerels crowing.

Secret Garden exudes the old China rustic charm of village living but with modern day amenities. Faye and her staff are wonderful hosts, always ready to ensure that their guests are comfortable. Most reviewers have shared their experiences so I won't bore you with details...except to share with you photos of the hotel and its beautiful surrounding landscapes. Without doubt this is definitely a place to stay while in Yangshuo.

Thank you Faye, Ian, Peter, Tanya, Lulu and everyone at Secret Garden for a memorable and pleasant stay. We will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yiwen-sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
On behalf of Faye, Ian, Peter, Tanya, Lulu and all our staff, thank you for your lovely review. Trying to preserve a little of China's rustic charm is our main goal here at Secret Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I can't recommend this place enough. It is located off the beaten path, in a quiet remote village, in a restored and very charming 200 yr old brick structure, with terraces, water gardens and quaint sitting areas. The staff are amazing. The food, exceptional. They will take care of all your needs. This not a modern facility( no tv... but there is wifi) but very comfortable with simple relaxing charm. We floated down the li river on a bamboo raft, took an amazing cooking class, and happily wandered thru the valley on foot and bikes. my favorite of all these activities was renting the bikes. this is a MUST. This place reminded me a lot of Tuscany...old in history, a scattering of small villages, connected by small foot paths, the air scented with orange blossoms, and songbirds. Don't stay in Guilin or even yangshou, as both are busy loud cities. This was definatly the highlight of our trip to China.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feastingathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in our lovely village and happy that your time with us enhanced your overall experience in China. Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We chose this hotel from recommendations on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Situated outside of the main town of Yangshuo in a small village, the Secret Garden is a perfect place to get away from it all.

Faye, Peter and all the staff make you feel welcome as soon as you set foot inside. They are always more than willing to help organise activities (bike rental, cooking lessons, walking routes) or travel plans in and around Yangshuo. The food on offer at the hotel is also really tasty and at a great price as well, meaning you can avoid the town centre all together if you wish. Our room was comfortable, clean and very quiet.

We recommend you rent bikes at least one of the days so you can explore the great landscape around the hotel. The roads in and around the centre may seem a bit chaotic but we found them easy to navigate.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and would love to go back if I ever stayed in Yangshuo again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyManc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Faye, Peter and the rest of our Secret Garden family thank you for your lovely review. We too would love to see you back in Yangshuo again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We (couple plus 17 y/o daughter) stumbled upon this beautiful place and had lunch. Potstickers, cucumber salad, egg vegetable fried rice! Delicious ! Tanya is wonderful! An amazing place! Beautiful place in a secluded spot. Please go, it's great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank traveling9169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much, we too are glad that you stumbled upon us and had a great lunch experience. Tanya was very happy to hear your positive feedback and hopes to meet you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
4.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.7 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#15 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Boutique Hotel

Property: Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Address: Jiuxian Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is a boutique hotel with restaurant and art gallery, near the Yulong River in the beautiful Yangshuo countryside. We aim to preserve the beautiful Ming Dynasty buildings of this rural village; conserve the surrounding environment; and help develop the local community. If you are looking for a unique and inspirational environment in which to relax or explore, the Secret Garden Boutique Hotel is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Secret Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing