We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited the Secret Garden during Chinese New Year and loved the hotel, the food and the setting. The management and staff are fantastic and it is a welcome reprieve from Guilin and Yangshuo town. It is convenient enough to town to access bars and restaurants but far enough away to feel the solitude of rural Chinese life.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheKarmalaunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing to spend Chinese New Year with us. We are happy you enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 276 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Situated in a rural area of Souther China, the Secret Garden provides an interesting, unusual and beautiful environment whilst only some 17 minutes by an efficient and inexpensive taxi service to the attractive town of Yangshuo. The host, Fay is an extremely warm and welcoming person and these guests immediately felt at home in the charming, renovated stone building whist the courtyard provides a lovely setting for breakfast. On the subject of food we were more than pleasantly surprised by the quality of cooking but with hindsight given that much of the produce was very local it may be expected. We concentrated on the Chinese fare but the menu of Western food seemed more than adequate. We enjoyed the sleeping accommodation and overall the venue is highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your compliments on to our chefs. Thank you and we hope to meet again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This boutique hotel truly is unlike anywhere we have stayed before. Gorgeous buildings, lovingly renovated, in a picturesque location. It's not often that I would rate a hotel as the highlight of my trip, but this was everything we dared to hope for. Whilst we relaxed in the beautiful courtyard our kids raced around exploring the amazing buildings and gardens. It was hard to tear ourselves away for a bit of sightseeing at nearby attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double storey family suite with our own private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mel-apple-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staying at the Secret Garden was a unique and very special experience that far exceeded our expectations. The hotel is set in breathtaking scenery in a traditional stone courtyard building in a rural village. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the building has been beautifully and sympathetically restored. You really feel in harmony with your surroundings, a visitor rather than a tourist. The view is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen, and only a short walk from the river where you can take a raft or ride a bike - there is so much to see and do. The old village is surrounded by rice paddies and fish ponds with ducks, kumquat and pomelo orchards, rows of neatly planted vegetables, chilli bushes and fruit trees. The food at the hotel is fantastic, wonderful breakfasts with fresh ingredients and home cooking, and at night some of the most delicious Chinese food I have eaten, especially the spicy Sichuan dishes. The rooms themselves were tasteful, spacious and very comfortable, and toasty warm even though it was just a few degrees outside. The owner was so helpful in arranging taxis for us into nearby Yangshuo and in recommending places to walk and visit. We visited in the down season, when it was very cold, but we would love to return in warmer weather. Altogether one of the loveliest short breaks I have ever taken.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerysHongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel provides a unique opportunity to experience Chinese rural village life in a stunning setting and great accommodation. Faye is a wonderful host and makes sure you enjoy your stay with members of her team. The restaurant serves up excellent Chinese and western food. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was a wonderful, extremely comfortable place to stay in the middle of rice paddies. The staff speaks English, and we relied on them to make arrangements for all of our outings. Peter took us on a long bike ride in the countryside with a hike to Moon Hill. He was great! The hotel is lovely in a setting off the beaten path. Photos do not do it justice! We stayed 4 nights, just the right amount of time to see the area and Yangshuo. We were really glad we stayed outside town, which was noisy and busy. Also, the food at Secret Garden was excellent, better than restaurants in Yangshuo, and less expensive.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. We had 2 rooms for 4 of us. We had a little sitting area between the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryEllen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Room was spacious, clean (crisp sheets) and comfortable (especially the bed). Setting was totally unique - couldn't stop taking photos. Staff spoke english. The best bit was the breakfast - possibly the best in rural China! Excellent coffee, a great choice on the menu and items were prepared as you'd expect them to be (home from home). Wonderful place - peaceful, calm, full of history. We only had 2 nights there - a week would have been ideal. Commendable endevour on the part of the owner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0verRainb0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
1.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
627 reviews
4.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,134 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 483 in Yangshuo County
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 483 in Yangshuo County
309 reviews
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 483 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
4.7 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#5 of 483 in Yangshuo County
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Boutique Hotel

Address: Jiuxian Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $35 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden is a boutique hotel and restaurant near the Yulong River in the stunning Yangshuo countryside. Our hotel consists of Qing Dynasty buildings that have been beautifully restored in order to preserve the historic character, while providing customers with a unique and inspirational environment in which to relax or explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Secret Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing