We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Moondance Boutique Resort(Yangshuo County)
$62
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Tea Cozy(Yangshuo County)
$93
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
River View Inn(Yangshuo County)
$45
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banyan Tree Yangshuo(Yangshuo County)
$299
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Lotus Hotel(Yangshuo County)
$90
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Li River Resort(Yangshuo County)
$98
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Resort(Yangshuo County)
$141
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat(Yangshuo County)
$48
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Mountain Nest(Yangshuo County)
$65
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
238
37
11
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
37
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyulong riversmall villageyangshuo townorange duckwonderful atmospheremodern comfortsarranged everythinglight showancient villagechinese experienceoff the beaten pathchinese villageeggplantguilin airportfive nightscommon areashighlight of our trip
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 288 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

A beautifully restored little hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Yangshuo but hidden in a picturesque farming village surround by spectacular scenery.
My daughter I shared the spacious ground floor studio room for 4 nights. The beds were the comfiest we have slept on in China.
Faye, Ian and their staff did everything possible to make our stay memorable and hassle free.The food was great, both Western and Chinese cuisine. Our evening with the Village "Mayor" was one of the many highlights of our trip.
The Secret Garden will not remain a secret for long.
Thank you for your kind hospitality , we will be back !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Don't be fooled by the exterior as you drive to this interesting boutique hotel. Once inside the courtyard, you will be impressed by the design and atmosphere of this place. My wife and I really enjoyed this hotel located outside the busy city of Yangshuo. Sam and Faye took good care of us, and we visited with the architect/artist/proprietor Ian for quite a while as he showed us his accomplishment so far, but also his ongoing project to restore this Qing Dynasty group of buildings. We enjoyed our stroll around this small village and the surrounding area; watched farming done by hand and animal. Our room was spacious and beautiful, as the restoration is spectacular, and Ian's designs are very pleasing and warm. We highly recommend it for a great retreat!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This was a true find and is a must do when you are in the Yangshuo area - a beautiful boutique hotel right in the middle of a small village - old Qi Dynasty building - you want to discover the non touristic, real china? You'll find it here! on top of that perfectly located in a countryside that is mesmerizing.
What however above all makes this comfortable hotel so unique is its people. Thank you to Sam, Nancy, Faye and Ian making us feel so welcome - Sam, you have to practice your Jenga!! - we absolutely loved it here and hope to come back soon - Beautiful location, beautifully restored, you looked after us so well: perfect holiday. Thank you.
Mathieu & Catherine

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toxic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Everything about this boutique hotel is amazing. Beautiful buildings, comfy rooms, stunning scenery and friendly staff. My family and I will definately return. Thank you for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leslielemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is the most extraordinary place to stay in the Guilin Yangshuo area. It is located in a beautiful spot where you can hike in the rice fields and look at the karst formations. The hotel itself is in an ancient village, in a house that has been converted into a modern comfortable hotel with comfortable beds and good plumbing. The staff speaks English and is very hospitable.
Bob Calvin
Chicago

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews