We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem that is the Secret Garden Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 479 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

A beautifully restored little hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Yangshuo but hidden in a picturesque farming village surround by spectacular scenery.
My daughter I shared the spacious ground floor studio room for 4 nights. The beds were the comfiest we have slept on in China.
Faye, Ian and their staff did everything possible to make our stay memorable and hassle free.The food was great, both Western and Chinese cuisine. Our evening with the Village "Mayor" was one of the many highlights of our trip.
The Secret Garden will not remain a secret for long.
Thank you for your kind hospitality , we will be back !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 268 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

Don't be fooled by the exterior as you drive to this interesting boutique hotel. Once inside the courtyard, you will be impressed by the design and atmosphere of this place. My wife and I really enjoyed this hotel located outside the busy city of Yangshuo. Sam and Faye took good care of us, and we visited with the architect/artist/proprietor Ian for quite a while as he showed us his accomplishment so far, but also his ongoing project to restore this Qing Dynasty group of buildings. We enjoyed our stroll around this small village and the surrounding area; watched farming done by hand and animal. Our room was spacious and beautiful, as the restoration is spectacular, and Ian's designs are very pleasing and warm. We highly recommend it for a great retreat!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This was a true find and is a must do when you are in the Yangshuo area - a beautiful boutique hotel right in the middle of a small village - old Qi Dynasty building - you want to discover the non touristic, real china? You'll find it here! on top of that perfectly located in a countryside that is mesmerizing.
What however above all makes this comfortable hotel so unique is its people. Thank you to Sam, Nancy, Faye and Ian making us feel so welcome - Sam, you have to practice your Jenga!! - we absolutely loved it here and hope to come back soon - Beautiful location, beautifully restored, you looked after us so well: perfect holiday. Thank you.
Mathieu & Catherine

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toxic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Everything about this boutique hotel is amazing. Beautiful buildings, comfy rooms, stunning scenery and friendly staff. My family and I will definately return. Thank you for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leslielemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is the most extraordinary place to stay in the Guilin Yangshuo area. It is located in a beautiful spot where you can hike in the rice fields and look at the karst formations. The hotel itself is in an ancient village, in a house that has been converted into a modern comfortable hotel with comfortable beds and good plumbing. The staff speaks English and is very hospitable.
Bob Calvin
Chicago

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Definitely the most beautiful place I’ve stayed in China. Amazing Qing Dynasty buildings have been renovated with real love and an eye for detail. The village and surrounding countryside are beautiful. The whole experience was so amazing we didn’t bother heading back to the crowds of nearby Yangshuo after our first visit. Thanks to Sam at reception for looking after us during our stay and to Faye for helping arrange all our sightseeing and other travel plans.

Room Tip: If you're planning a longer stay choose one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tomtravels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

General: If you want to experience a Chinese village, there is no better place than the quaint Secret Garden outside Yangshuo. The old farmhouses have been simply and tastefully restored. Many Chinese had heard about it and came by to admire them at the week end.

The owners and staff are very friendly, give you inside tips and help you organise bikes, taxies, dinners and excursions. They also give you answers to the many questions you probably have about life in in such a small village.

Rooms: We had a very clean and comfortable standard room with a view of the village rooftops. If it is raining, there is a cosy sitting area at the bottom of the building overlooking a small courtyard where you can relax and sip tea or have a cool beer. If the weather is nice, there are nice places outside in the yard to enjoy.

Food: One thing we enjoyed very much was eating a good breakfast or a good Chinese dinner outside in the courtyard. The fresh produce came from the market. And, again, if you want to know the name or how to prepare the vegies, just ask.

Try it, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Uschi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
4.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 479 in Yangshuo County
1,107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 479 in Yangshuo County
622 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 479 in Yangshuo County
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#6 of 479 in Yangshuo County
467 reviews
4.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 479 in Yangshuo County
298 reviews
4.7 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#15 of 479 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Boutique Hotel

Address: Jiuxian Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 479 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $45 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden is a boutique hotel and restaurant near the Yulong River in the stunning Yangshuo countryside. Our hotel consists of Qing Dynasty buildings that have been beautifully restored in order to preserve the historic character, while providing customers with a unique and inspirational environment in which to relax or explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Secret Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing