We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay after excausting bike trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley
Ranked #7 of 413 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay after excausting bike trip”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

After a few days of a bike ride we were extremely tired, willing to take a shower and fall asleep in a quiet place. Yankshuo met us with a crowd of tourists, noise and endless shops. Thanks God we found Stone Bridge guest house by accident!
Briefly about this place:
- only 2 km from the city, easy to find by directions signs
- peaceful
- non-smoking, light rooms with awesome view
- really helpful and delightful English speaking staff
- absolutely fabulous breakfasts (for those who miss Western cuisine in China)
- no elevator though, mind if you have lots of baggage

Steven and Angie - huge hug from Ukraine! and thanks for everything you did!
(I still remember the sunny-side-up eggs you cooked :)

Regards,
Nina & Oleh

Room Tip: take the higher floors - view is awesome! room 302 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaShulyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thanks for the kind words, we are only too pleased to know you had a great stay in Yangshuo and you feel well rested after your visit to our place. Its my aim to Always present a clean and comfortable room for guests and to ensure you get to see and do all the things you wish to see in Yangshuo
Enjoy your travels
Ah Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    12
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
59
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Having. Spent so much time in cities in Asia, it was so nice to be out in the country, yet within walking distance of Yangshuo town. This place is in a beautiful location with karst mountains surrounding you and some lovely spots for a walk. The rooms were very nice, no tv but that's the point when you are somewhere like this, and the Internet was good for keeping in touch. Food was excellent and the hosts were very friendly. Across the village is another guesthouse that serves great food and served as an amazing spot to watch the fireflies and lightening illuminating the mountains. Memorable.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Living in China, I wanted to discover the country side and Yangshuo came as a strong recommandation by my entourage. Also have been told that staying outside the city is the best solution (away from "tourist traps" and the nature is beautiful). The Stone Bridge provided us with everything we were seeking : a calm, clean and welcoming place, only 5 min by bike from the center of the town.

Food, rooms, service... I have nothing to say besides that this hotel managed by a very charming couple is the place you need to stay when going in Yangshuo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Yangshuo is a lovely town because of its scenery- staying at The Stone Bridge guarantees that you will experience that scenery. Victor and Angela are the ideal hosts- interesting, informed, friendly and helpful. If you can, have dinner there one evening- our stomachs are still rejoicing, months later. The Stone Bridge is the best of everything about Yangshuo- giving you access to biking, walking, quiet views and a calm away from the bustle tourist enclave that is Yangshuo Town. The rooms themselves are clean and well maintained, there is a porch to while away your evenings, and plenty of common areas to meet other guests. It's close enough to town to walk, and far enough away to give you a breath of fresh, fresh air in an area that is worth a visit. I know I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
413 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Excellent location for those looking for something a little more laid back. This guest house is situated a little out of the main town, which is easily accessible by bicycle. Because of the limited services and vibe of the property, we would recommend this place for those who are looking to relax and not for those looking to meet fellow travelers and hang out into the late night in the common areas. During our week long stay, there wasn’t anyone hanging out in the communal areas, other than one evening for a dinner party. There are many bars and other hostels in town for socializing.

We would recommend renting bicycles from the guest house, because of the location being a bit out of town, taxis will charge an exorbitant 30rmb each way. This will save you some cash. The bicycles for rent are in great condition, ensure you bring a torch or head lamp for those dark night rides home from town. Don’t forget to stop and watch the fireflies!

Our room was large, extremely clean, equipped with Wi-Fi (great signal), towels, shampoo and body wash.

We loved staying at the Stone Bridge!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fancytravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I highly recommend Stone Bridge. Its good value for money. The rooms are clean. They offer good, affordable food. Its a nice 20 minute walk to West Street. I liked it that we could go to West Street if we wanted a bit of hustle and bustle but we don't actually stay there. Stone Bridge is in the next village so its quieter and calmer. Victor, Angela and Lydia are all very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst touring the South West chinese countryside and adored this hotel. Victor the owner cooks a mean breakfast and was so helpful in recommending places to visit and renting us a couple of bikes. Ange at the hotel even helped us book our onward train tickets when our Mandarin let us down.

This is a homely place in a fab location. Great to be out of town overlooking countryside and karts whilst only a 20 min walk in through the covered market. Large clean room with en suite, friendly atmosphere and good price. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy_HLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.3 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 446 in Yangshuo County
444 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 446 in Yangshuo County
290 reviews
3.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 446 in Yangshuo County
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 446 in Yangshuo County
590 reviews
4.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 446 in Yangshuo County
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Sudder Street Guesthouse
Yangshuo Sudder Street Guesthous...
#4 of 413 in Yangshuo County
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley

Property: The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley
Address: No.26 Shibanqiao Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 413 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stone Bridge "Home Sweet Home in the Valley"Are you looking for the Countryside Experience in China? YANGSHUO has it -Glorious Karst Mountains set in rural farmland. The town of Yangshuo is a typical Chinese town, it’s vibrant and busy both day and nights. Days are the time for exploring the area in all its wonders and the nights are for eating drinking and having a great time. When it’s time to rest and get a peaceful night’s sleep, it’s time to leave Yangshuo’s rather loud club and party noise and Escape to the quiet Village of ShiBanQiao aka Stone Bridge Village. 20 min walk from West St / 5 min bike ride / 2 k north of town and your home :)Once well rested and after a terrific breakfast, hosts Jessy and ahLong are only too happy to hand out advise on local and regional travel. Anything you have come to see and do, your hosts can assist with, such as buying tickets/tours/bike hire/laundry and so on. Local knowledge from long time China residents fluent in English and Chinese. This Aussie couple runs by far the tidiest/cleanest hostel in China with recognition from Tripadvisor with 2 x Travelers Choice Awards 2013 & 2014 and from HostelBookers for Best Value 2013.There are 9 rooms in total, so we are a small husband and wife operation who personally take care of all your needs so that your visit to Yangshuo was the highlight of your China holiday.With an Eco Friendly approach to running the building we set examples in reducing our environmental footprint, we work to keep Yangshuo clean and beautiful for you to enjoy. Relax in our Deluxe or Ex. Deluxe rooms in a spotlessly clean B&B / Homestay Type guesthouse. We have closed our dorm rooms and rearranged the room layouts to offer more and better choice to you, the Special Guest. The Stone Bridge treats everyone with extra care and can arrange rooms to suit you. Rooms have rice paddy views and mountains or village and mountain range views, Ex. Deluxe rooms have an outside balcony. All rooms have reverse air conditioners and the western styled bathrooms are a pleasurable surprise. The rooms have free Wi-Fi, soft beds, rain shower with hot water, towels and shampoo/body wash is supplied. A wardrobe for your belongings and coffee free (1st night Only), a kettle is supplied to make boiling water for food/drinks and you may eat in your room. We do have a small kitchen on the ground floor serving breakfast, lunch and dinner-a mixture of Western and or Chinese food. Other food /snacks should be obtained in town before coming home as there is NO store in the village. We however are stocked with F&B and open for breakfast at 8am till 10am. Great sandwiches and snacks can be enjoyed all day and dinner is a family styled sit together where usually, a Local styled Chinese meal is served, often it’s a mix of local, Cantonese and western food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing