We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Rooms, Breathtaking View”
Review of Ecofarm Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ecofarm Lodge
Ranked #20 of 441 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The three of us stayed in a suite at or near the top of this guesthouse for two nights earlier this summer. From the beds, the rooms have a stunning view of the karst scenery on the other side of the Yulong River. If you stand next to the window and look to the west, you'll see the peaks rising up along either side of the river. In retrospect, maybe they were dragon-like. (The name of the river contains the character for dragon ("long").) It was great to just lie on the bed and read a book while enjoying the view. Some rooms do not face the river.

The property is managed by the family that owns it, who are friendly and helpful.

Our guest rooms and bathroom were basic, but clean and very spacious. Bare light bulbs hung down from the ceiling in the guest room and the shower (which had great water pressure) simply sprayed over the floor of the bathroom.

We had two satisfying meals. They were delicately seasoned and delicious, and, if you are there at the right time, we recommend the stuffed squash blossoms. (One of the interesting types of local cuisine is "niang"--which includes vegetables stuffed with a proprietary mix of ingredients.

But we preferred hanging out at the Giggling Tree, which is only about five minutes away by foot. The Giggling Tree has a nice casual outdoor eating areas and is great for breakfast or Western snacks--and their Chinese food is good too. Ecofarm is a good place to have a meal, but the atmosphere at Giggling Tree makes it a better choice for having a drink or reading a book.

I could have easily spent a week doing nothing and trundling back and forth between Ecofarm and Giggling Tree--a wonderful combination.

Room Tip: Make sure you face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knickherboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 56 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

The service there is really tip top at the whole area. The owner's family has always been helpful. The same dishes made from organic vegetables are incredibly good. We also experienced the 'natural swimming pool' close to the eco farm. It's a great holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Although the building is not yet completely finished, there’s no inconvenience at all! Nice rooms, amazing view, very very tasty and healthy meals and also the wonderful people around! We had really a great time there and can’t help thinking about going back soon again. The three days in Ecofarm were absolutely the highlight in our whole GuiLin trip. Thanks a lot Pan (Ecofarm’s manager) and your families. We will definitely come back again ;)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

What a great concept. This small guesthouse offers very nice rooms with great views and hot showers, a good value for the price and the free bikes are a plus. We had a fabulous dinner there one night, but were a little confused by the average dinner the next night. Overall a great trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

*The price listed on this site is incorrect- The rate if very reasonable.
The city of Yangshuo is a tourist destination for thousands of Chinese who come to view the karst hills, ride bicycles, float down the river on bamboo rafts and take photos in front of Moon Hill. But four kilometers outside of the city, near the landing where the bamboo rafts take off, the small, but multistory family run hotel… allows one a great view without the traffic and tourist crush. At the … we enjoyed the organic food fresh from the garden, the four kinds of home-mad rice wine, and the feeling of being invited to be part of the family. The hotel is not yet complete, and the hallway walls are covered with various notes in many different languages left by visitors from all over the globe. It was one of the friendliest places we stayed among tens of hotels all over Asia.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We spent 11 days at the Eco Farm Guesthouse in November 2011 and would have no hesitation in recommending it as an excellent place to stay.
Eco Farm is a Chinese family run Guesthouse outside of Yangshuo. The place is almost new and the location is very quite and peaceful. The rooms have a fantastic view to the mountains and the surroundings, they are very nice and clean, the bathroom was large and had western toilets, some rooms have a balcony. The familiy is very friendly and helpful and they are happy to involve you into their daily life. The offer bicylcles for free and can help with all the touristic acitivities. thank you Eco for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkA_and_ClaudiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I can only agree with everyone else! This place is truly unique. The view is amazing and the rooms are great! The owners are very friendly. We were worried about the location before, a little outside of Yangshuo city but It was very convenient to borrow the bicycles to get around. The food is also great. Most likely the best place to stay in the Yangshuo area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smurfzingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.9 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 479 in Yangshuo County
622 reviews
2.1 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 479 in Yangshuo County
1,106 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 479 in Yangshuo County
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
#16 of 479 in Yangshuo County
23 reviews
3.1 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#22 of 479 in Yangshuo County
317 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 479 in Yangshuo County
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecofarm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecofarm Lodge

Address: Aishanmen Village, Chaoyang Dock, Yulong River, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $36 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an eco friendly lodge own and operated by a local family.The lodge is located in a picturesque Aishanmen village near the Yulong River,It's only 5km from downtown of Yangshuo. The room has amazing views,half of the building has floor_to_ceiling windows.tailor-made bamboo lights,western toilet,high speed Wi-Fi access,24h central hot water,private bathroom in each room,air-con and heating facilities.We have our own vegetable garden, Offering absolutely authentic local Chinese food.Only 10 minutes walking,there is a great nature swimming spot in Yulong river.This is truly a family home-stay for discerning travellers... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Ecofarm Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing