We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fun Sam's Bed and Breakfast
california
2 reviews
“Friendly and Comfy”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Sam is insightful and a lot of fun. He's great to chat with and knows a ton about his hometown. He really made us feel welcome and a part of the family. We had a great tea service from Sam's Dad while we all huddled around their indoor fire pit. Yungshuo is COLD in January but Sam made his home warm with a smile. Comfy beds, thick blankets and hot water! Oh and you get your exercise in everyday on the way to your room. :)

A little ways out of the town center but that's nice because you get to see more of Yungshuo than the tourist Ghetto! Only about a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayalmesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
24
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've spent a couple of October days at Sam's place. Though it is more like a hotel than homestay as we expected, the atmosphere created by Sam and his family is very warm and welcoming. We could always get solid breakfast, Sam's advise and assistance with tickets, etc.! We took the rented bikes and were riding around beautiful Yangshuo hills until dark, then hanging out somewhere around West street, and somebody of Sam's family was waiting for us in their very cozy "lounge" to let us in. Like home! Rooms are very clean and bright, but minimalistic in design so we would recommend all guests to bring some posters or pictures to make every room unique (maybe, national style? etc.) Sam is very positive, smiling, with perfect English!! We wish him a lot of success with his business and making friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darina_Vo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Fun Sam's was a great place to stay. Sam, his family and rest of the staff are all extremely welcoming. He isn't called Fun Sam for nothing, he is chock-full of energy and optimism. He's also really keen on improving his English (even though it is already good) so he's always up for a conversation.

His family, despite their limited english, are really cool and kind, and his mother is a master of Chinese cuisine. During my entire two months in China, some of the best food I ate was prepared by Sam's mom. I thought they had bought food from a restaurant when I first saw the food being served but it was all made from scratch by his mother; it is well worth the price. They also rent bikes for really reasonable rates which I took around Yangshuo.

All in all, my time in Yangshuo wouldn't have been as enjoyable if I hadn't stayed here. Thanks again Sam, I hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radinfinitum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We spent a great week at Sam’s place where we felt truly relaxed and at home after being on the move for some months. Sam was extremely helpful and kind during our time there as was his whole family and Wanshan. We will miss the Chinese chess classes from Sam’s dad and Sam’s mum’s amazing cooking, we even got to help make dumplings. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the house is a 15 mins walk from the town centre and really close to the bicycle route which leads out to some amazing scenery in Yangshuo, you can rent bicycles from here also. We also tried rock climbing with Sam (who is an excellent rock climber) and loved the new experience. For the record Sam speaks the best English of everyone we met during our month in China so communication is excellent which cannon be taken for granted in China. We would definitely recommend staying here for an authentic Chinese homestay experience. Thank you Sam & family for making this a memorable stay for us in Yangshuo 

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaDiomidous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Sam is a great host - friendly, extremely helpful, and perhaps the best English-speaker we met on our trip to China. He helped us arrange daily outings, got us a discount on tickets to a cave, and gave a lot of good advice.

We stayed in Yangshuo for three nights, and rented mountain bikes every day (20RMB/day), to go into town and out to the nearby sites (caves, mountains, the river, etc.) We found the location to be perfect - close enough to central/downtown Yangshuo to be convenient (a five minute bike ride or a twenty minute walk), but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet.

Sam's mom is a great cook, and made us vegan meals every day (well worth the 20 yuan per person charge). Make sure you notify her in advance if you'll want to eat at the house. She and the rest of the family/staff were really friendly, though we mainly talked to Sam as he's the one who speaks the most English.

Our room looked out onto the side of a mountain - beautiful!

The guest house is currently being renovated and more rooms will be opening upstairs. We stayed in the dorm room. (The beds are hard, but that's typical in China and we didn't mind.)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Procrastinasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We just spent a few days at Sam's and had the privilege of meeting him and his hospitable family. At Sam's place you have everything you need to make the most of one of China's tourism hotspots: confortable room and yummy food cooked by Sam's lovely mum at very affordable price, and - above all - Sam, with his smile, invaluable tips, and excellent English (no minor asset in this part of the world!). We definitely recommend the place and the person, you'll feel at home even if you come from the other side of the planet ...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed at Fun Sam's at the beginning of January, not exactly the ideal time to be in Yangshuo, and it was raining. But despite the freezing cold and rain, I had an amazing trip thanks to Sam. He helped me plan what I could because of the rain and went as far as to take me out with his personal friend and trainer to go rock climber.

The bed and breakfast itself was nice as well. It felt more like a homstay at times, rather than just a hotel. All the food was hand made by Sam's mother and grandmother, and it was so good! They were probably the best meals I had during my week in China.

I highly recommend Fun Sam's. The location is central to everything in Yangshuo, and you have a personal guide on site. Whenever I go back to china, I will definitely be heading to Sam's again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 448 in Yangshuo County
291 reviews
1.9 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 448 in Yangshuo County
1,073 reviews
1.2 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#21 of 448 in Yangshuo County
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Green Lotus Hotel
Green Lotus Hotel
#17 of 448 in Yangshuo County
362 reviews
2.2 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#6 of 448 in Yangshuo County
454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wada Hostel (Yangshuo)
Wada Hostel (Yangshuo)
#1 of 52 in Yangshuo County
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fun Sam's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Sam's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fun Sam's Bed and Breakfast
Address: No.27 Xiangshui Road, Yangshuo County, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun Sam's Bed and Breakfast offers affordable, comfortable rooms for travellers and authentic food is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fun Sam's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing