We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and away from city dust.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Retreat
Ranked #81 of 479 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very homely and friendly staff that can offer you good advice on visiting places. Their hospitality made you feel welcome. Strategically located in a good position where left is the river (cycling distance), walk behind the retreat you find a good view of the mountains and opposite is the caves visit ( walking distance). Night market is about 10min by cab and the staff is helpful in arranging transport for you with good bargain price.
Overall my family enjoy our stay very much and we highly recommend this retreat.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank pohkuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huo you l, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a kind review of our retreat. Our retreat is run as a family business and thus we love to hear that guests enjoy the hospitality of what is effectively our home. It further pleases us to hear that you enjoyed all of Yangshuo’s attractions, which are conveniently located on our doorstep. We hope to see you again soon !

Best regards from all the Mountain View Retreat family,

Ao Li
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 55 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently stayed here. The room was a bit mouldy on the ceiling and did not smell great. Our bath did not work and although I asked 4 times it was not repaired. It seemed like every time we stepped out of the door we were asked- where are you going? do you need a ticket? i can sell you a ticket? to the point of being too much. It was just okay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huo you l, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and, on behalf of the staff, I offer my most sincere apologies that our Retreat did not meet your expectations. Your comments have reiterated key areas which we are currently aiming to improve.

We have recently reviewed our current procedures for cleaning and have overhauled the process. One of the key features of our establishment is the traditional style and construction of our villas using natural elements such as wood. However due to the humidity of Yangshuo, such wood becomes susceptible to mould as unfortunately you may have experienced. Nonetheless, your valued feedback has reiterated to the Management the need to address this and such a new, more thorough and regular, cleaning regime has begun. Increased ventilation is also an issue we are striving to suggest.

Furthermore, our staff are currently undergoing retraining for customer service. Although they are very eager to offer the best level of service possible, it has become apparent that this may come off as being ‘in your face’. Thank you again for highlighting this issue as it is something we are taking very seriously and trying to address ASAP.

Thank you again for drawing these issues to our attention. I once again would like to offer my most sincere apologies that our retreat did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time despite a couple of minor issues.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, right next to all the tourist spots, the water cave with mud bath and hot springs literally across the road, Assembling Dragon Cave a bit further 5 minutes walk to Moon Hill, easy access to Banyan Tree and bamboo rafting on Yulong River.

One bit of advice, if you need money changing do it before getting to Yangsho as the only place to change money is in the town which is about a 15 minute drive. The hotel driver kindly took us there and on the way back took us to the stop for the bamboo rafing. He picked us up 2 hours later at the end and took us to the water cave with the mud bath and hot springs. He then took us into the town that night to West Street which is a few streets full of bars,restaurants and shops. Some people said it's too touristy, but past 7-8pm in the hotel there was noone around so we wanted a bitof life in our holiday too! For all these little trips it cost us 130 yuan which we thought was good value.

We hired bikes from the hotel for 20 yuan each for the day and we rode down the main street andtook a turn off a little dirt track and ended up in some great countryside into a little village with people living which was great!

We upgraded our room for an extra 120 yuan per night so we could have a view which was 100% worth it despite the weather not being too great, the scenary is stunning, although please be carefulas there is also a Mountain View Retreat which has views over the Yulong River which I think some people may get confused with as I had thought from pictures we would have river view, but I still wasn't disappointed.

Couple of cons;

Noise from the road was quite loud in the morning as it is very close to the road and buses/trucks/cars seem to constantly be beeping their horns which did get quite frustrating.

Airport pick up - they knew we were only 2 people but sent a minibus to collect us which was an extra 100 yuan, not a bigdeal but not sure why they didn't just send a car when they knew there's only 2 people. There is an advert on their websitefor free airport pick up but this is only for bbookings done through the hotel site. On leaving we arranged an airport run only to get up to find they had booked us a taxi. Maybe this was because it was early morning but we were a bit disappointed they had just ordered a taxi without letting us know as we still had to pay the full price of 300 yuan for the car :(

Overall fantastic little hotel in a great location for extremely good value, we would definitely return if ever in Yangsho again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mrshoeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huo you l, Manager at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your good review,we are sorry about the noise form the road is lound in the early morning.But our transportation is convenient,and we close to all tourist spot.For now our govemment is planning to project the Shili scenery gallery,will not allow the trucks/cars pass here.at that time it would be quite in the morning.
Welcome you to come our hotel next time,we will try our best to offer you a good sevice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is very close to all the attractions Yangshuo has to offer. Very cosy and clean rooms. If you want to live right in the middle of Yangshuo's scenery, this is the place to go. Very friendly and helpful staff, great tours. Next time going to Yangshuo I will gladly stay there again. I can recommend this place to everyone, backpackers, couples and families.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisK0ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huo you l, Manager at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your good review,we are hope to see you again.have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have spent a few days here over the summer of 2012 . I am ethnically Chinese and having stayed at a wide range of hotels in China, most of which I was disappointed in so I didn't have my expectations up for this. But I was very impressed by this hotel. All the hotel staff were very kind and helped us plan our visit, Sam was especially helpful with this. The food here was also amazing and the location was calm and convenient as there were many attractions nearby. The rooms were also large, spacious, modern and clean. In short, I definitely recommend people to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huo you l, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us, it is encouraging to know that our guests are enjoying our hospitality. By sharing your comments on particular staff members who have been particularly helpful, we will seek to emulate such a level of customer service to ensure our guests receive the best treatment.

Best wishes from the Mountain View Retreat family,

Ao Li
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed there for 3 days in late Sept.

Pro :
1. Very close to tourist spots.

Con :
1. Hotel is next to the main road, it started to get noisy early in the morning
2. Doors and walls of the room do not block noise at all. Simply get up early in the morning because of the noisy guests (on top of the noise from the trucks n cars)
3. Dirty room. Apparently our room had a lot of insects. And we frequently killed some big flies . But the floor stayed extremely dirty (with dead insects around) every night. Oh, and dirty towels stayed at the same spot in the bath tube during our stay.
4. Staff simply messed up our tour and without notifying us. This hotel offers day tour for various activities. We booked a rafting tour (that was supposed to start at 1.30) in the morning. To make it easy, we chose to stay at the hotel and wait ( and the staff knew it). But they told us the tour was canceled almost at 1.30. Very disappointed service.


They obviously need better management

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huo you l, Owner at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,

I sincerely apologise for your stay at our hotel however feel some parts of your review is slightly unfair and I will try and explain each point.

1. The hotel entrance is next to the main road so it can be a bit noisy however the government is planning to restrict noise on the main road as the area is national scenic area.
2. I apologise for the noise of our guests but it is the Chinese National Day Festival so most guests are mainland and hence can be very noisy at times.
3.Our Houses are Mulou Style buildings as our hotel has an pastoral feel to them. Hence the houses are made from wood which attracts bees, insects etc.
4.I am sorry about the service, I have told the staff about this and they will treat guests better next time.

Thank you for your review and we have taken your complaints into consideration. For example now we have hired professionals to get rid of the insects. I am very sorry and we invite you to stay for free next time and enjoy a new and better experiencec.

Li Huoyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went to Yangshuo for 3 days with some of my university friends last week. At first I was a bit hesitant as I have read both good and bad reviews for this hotel. However I really wanted to stay here as it is close to many attractions such as Moon Mountain and the mud baths, and at a reasonable price.

I was really glad that I chose this hotel. The staff are really nice, especially the receptionist Sam who was very warm and nice to us. The other staff are very interesting including a man called Ao Bama (Obama) who actually looks a bit like the president himself. The food was also really nice and the waitresses all are nice and speaks very good English. I feel that the bad reviews of this place is wrong as I have enjoyed a memorable stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CHRIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huo you l, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Chris,

Thanks for such a kind review. We really pride ourselves on the friendliness and welcoming nature of our staff and so we're glad to hear that you had such a pleasant stay.

Best regards and looking forward to seeing you again in Yangshuo,

Ao Li
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.8 mi away
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
#21 of 479 in Yangshuo County
10 reviews
3.8 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 479 in Yangshuo County
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 479 in Yangshuo County
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 479 in Yangshuo County
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
#16 of 479 in Yangshuo County
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 479 in Yangshuo County
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Retreat

Address: Sangaoyuan, Moon Moutain Scenic Spot, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 479 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $26 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Retreat is a newly opened, family run retreat. Situated in the beautiful countryside amongst the amazing Karst peaks of Yangshuo. We have 24 luxury villas all decorated in Chinese style but to high western standards.Our adjoining farms provide produce for our organic restaurant where you can enjoy both Chinese and Western food. You can venture into our strawberry fields and pick strawberries to enjoy with chilled champagne in your private whirlpool bath. Or take advantage of the passion fruit vines overhanging our restaurant.We have extensive travel services and local knowledge, bike rental and a pool and table tennis table. If you're looking to escape from city life, Yangshuo Mountain View Retreat is the perfect getaway. Perched near the Moon Hill Park and surrounded by towering limestone peaks, you'll experience views that have inspired poets and artists for millennia. Built with great considerations for feng-shui, here you can enjoy the beauty of nature, tradition and local culture in harmony. We can help you organize activities like cycling, hiking, rock climbing, bamboo rafting, Chinese cooking lessons, kung fu and Tai Chi lessons, and lots of other excursions. Our staff can arrange taxis, tickets to the Sound and Light Show, as well as train, bus and plane tickets.No matter how small the detail might be, we are here to make your experience at Mountain View Retreat one that you will want to come back to and to tell your friends about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain View Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing