We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian food in China? Really!”

kali mirch(black pepper)indian cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Indian food in China? Really!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

OK, so I didn't try everything on the menu, and it wasn't the kind of Indian food I've had in London or the Bay Area, but for China, it was quite good. Fresh ingredients, fresh taste, and a hoot to watch my Chinese friend taste Indian for the first time.
Loved the service too - whoever helped us spoke perfect English. Note: you will pay more for the food here - but alas, they have to import the spices and the chef!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rubycafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    100
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shinjuku, Japan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“I can never get enough of the food here!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Back in China and Yangshuo again and I always head straight to Kali Mirch. The food is always great and the staff are friendly and helpful with their suggestions. It's good to know that you can always return here when so many other restaurants close down so quickly. A well deserved number one on trip advisor. Thank you Kali Mirch for staying constant in a changing China!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinginasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great quality Indian food in Yangshou”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

It's in the crowded city bazaar street, and I spotted this when photographing. Run by a ex-tour guide, its got a good homely, relaxed and very done to earth simple decor. Very friendly service and highly interactive staff, if you want a conversation. The food is of good taste, excellent Nan's, and decent helpings served. The menu spread is quite high also tells of the quality of the Management and Chef. It's a good option if there is a high interest for any tourist, especially vegetarians, who want something not common in the twin cities of travel here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank its_anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The chicken curry was excellent! What a great find and well worth the visit. The staff are friendly and they are happy to provide a non-spicy option too. The naan bread was delicious!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try this resturant after reading the good reviews on Tripadvispr. It is a big surprise that an Indian resturant is rated as the best resturant in Yangshu but we were not disappointed .
The food was very good, service is good.
We orderd a bottle of red wine which was good and reasonable price.
The only comments I have is regarding the setting.
Table cloths are old and I saw some stains
Same with chairs and tables, must say it is not different from other resturants in Yangshu...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaganHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed kali mirch(black pepper)indian cuisine also viewed

 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Been to kali mirch(black pepper)indian cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing