We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Yulong River
from $108.99
More Info
from $1,254.99
More Info
Reviews (1,528)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveler rating
591
252
41
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
252
41
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo raft beautiful scenery raft ride rent a bike dragon bridge karst mountains rice fields water buffalo taking pictures rafting rafts yangshuo rapids cycling motor float china
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 898 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

yulong river valley is a great place to stay all day and relax. since the government has restricted cars going in this area, it is great. you can explore it by walking with friends, or rent a bike or Escooter. I prefer walking with friends and family and talk the same time. there are always stop over places to rest to have tea or good coffee from semi-automatic coffee machines. a must for me everytime I go there is the bamboo rafting trip - its a must and sooooooo nice. the scenery is unbeatable.

Thank Snowman460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Most tourist will choose Yulong River Bamboo Rafting to see more of the karst mountain in Yangshuo stretch. It is one of the best view in Yangshuo County aside from Li River.

We got our tour booked from our hotel. Usually booking with your hotel will include pick up and drop off service. CNY 350 per raft / 2 pax. If you travel solo, you got to pay the full amount.

Distance from West Street to Pier - 20 mins (van)
Rafting duration - 3 - 3.5 hrs depending on speed.
What to bring - sunglasses, hat, cap, rain coat, sun block, camera, cash (selling snacks along the stream). No high heels, the raft is half submerge and the sharp heels might get stuck between gaps.

We went with slippers, and it was a right choice. When the raft drift down the steps, the raft sinks a little and water level can reach your ankle. Or simply just lift up your legs.

Overall is a nice and quite way to enjoy the surroundings. We took plenty of pictures, especially the section nearer to the end, the mountains folds closer to each other and field along the sides makes the scene more beautiful.

Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

The scenery is spectacular and goes forever with mountain peak after mountain peak.
The river is shallow and the water seems relatively clear and clean. There are tours of the river but just walking the bank gives you a good view of the mountains. The best part of YangShuo

Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

With our Tour Guide Emma from Wendy Wei Tours we went scenic drifting on a bamboo raft down the Yulong River. The non-motorised bamboo rafts are pushed along by a at a sedate pace down the course of the river and across a few small weirs by villager using a large wooden oar. It is such a peaceful and tranquil way to see the Karst hills and amazing views located along the Yulong river. Note: Your feet and ankles get wet when you go over the weirs so wear something that you can role up and shoes you can put in your bag.

Thank SueJim126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a tour which includes getting to and from hotel plus the bamboo ride for one pax @rmb260. Bamboo rafting along the river is pretty slow and takes about 90 minutes. Along the way, there are rapids where you plunge with the raft. Quite Exciting. Raftman recommended that I try the BBQ fish caught from the river. For rmb60 for one fish, must say it is really yummy. Should try if you have the stomach for it.

It was drizzling and pretty foggy which is bad for photography. Nonetheless, it is enjoyable. The ride is one way, down stream and the driver waits for us at the end of the journey.

Thank MadButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are tens of companies that you can get a ticket on a boat cruising down river....can not recommend any in particular...ours was ok, don’t remember the name. The difference in price mainly seems to be if you get a box lunch or a buffet lunch...perhaps the quality of the boat.

All I can say is that the seat you are assigned in the boat is not as important as the amount of outdoor and deck space on the boat if you are really interested in seeing the scenery and getting good photos.

The scenery is beautiful and a bit magical with all the karst mountains sticking up everywhere,
. Depending on the weather, you may get some fog, or low lying clouds which make for one type of visit, or a bright sparkling sunshiny day. We got some rain, drizzle, and some dry periods on our trip. Would have like some sun but still enjoyed the trip.

You get the boats in Guilin, some leaving from a wharf nearer to town and some from a wharf an hour bus ride away. Supposedly those are the ones with English speaking guides, but I will say, for the most part you don’t need an English speaking guide. And we could barely understand ours anyway. You can take luggage on board if you want to spend a couple of days in Yangshuo like we did. When you get off the boat all of the hotels are an easy 5 to 20 minute walk depending on where you are staying...or a short taxi ride. Or you can book your ticket with transport by bus back to Guilin.

This trip is a must do when you are in the area. We specifically made sure this was part of our two week trip and flew down there and were glad we did

1  Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recommend doing this on a wooden raft, beautiful and peaceful on this river. We arranged this through out hotel.

1  Thank WorldTravler1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

See river with cruise,bamboo raft or even walk near the river,river is beautiful and lovely to see it

Thank Flitz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice area. We took it in 3 different ways and loved all of them - it didn't feel redundant at all. I took hundreds of pictures that i'll have to sort through later. Oops - i hate when i do that, but its so beautiful!

1  Thank kelbel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at a resort beside the river and the who,e Valley is a unique place with sensational scenery in every direction. There are lots of weirs along the river making perfectly still reaches for reflections of the adjacent karst formations.

Now in a scenic area and access is by bus or you can ride in.

1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews