We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and a bit of fun on the water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yulong River

Yulong River
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Private Tour: Yangshuo Bike Adventure including Tai Chi Lesson and Chinese...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
878 reviews
344 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 896 helpful votes
“Great views and a bit of fun on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our trip and the stunning views. Being on the raft and riding the small waterfalls was fun.
It was slow to start off with and we simply told our driver not to stop for drinks, dress up or waterfall photo and it was fine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    364
    71
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet Bamboo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Go to the part of the river where no one goes (further north than the touristy spots) and enjoy floating on your raft and drinking in the scenery. There are mini "rapids" and you might get a bit wet, but what a marvellous way to spend a day in the area! Plan on your driver picking you up at the end of the journey, or rent a bike and ride back into Yangshuo for another glimpse of the countryside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bekah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A floating market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I liked the bamboo rafting - (the deal is 120 rmb vice 150) - because it was relaxing for the most part except for the up selling.

Almost immediately upon leaving the staging area you will go over - a mini waterfalls for a lack of a better term - and there are people there taking digital pictures of you for selling - or printing off. So had I known that I would have looked better than thebgeekni was holding my iPhone filming my adventure.

So the pictures can be quite good but every falls there is someone doing this. There is a big drop off later that is probably an even better picture as the whole front of our raft submerged like thee nautilus - so you could save your money for that .

The real retraction is that there are people selling everything from soft drinks to slunch and breakfast specials and your oarsman is touting them to as he no doubt gets a commission.

3/4s the way down our guy stopped to get a drink and mini-meal becAuse he was. Tired/thirsty and we were his first passengers of the day - all to put pressure on us to stay and buy something - but we had just ate - so that part was dissatisfying.

If he is thirsty tell him to have the agent to throw him a bottle of water but don't stop - that is what someone else did as they didn't want their guy to stop.

I know people have to make a living so it didn't really bother me but be prepared.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daddyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“leisure bike ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I spent days cycling up and down the river, when it was too hot i just stopped in one of the cafes for a drink and a book. it was magical!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Effie_Love_health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Definitely take a bamboo raft. We opted for the 1.75 hrs version and did not regret it. It was peaceful and beautiful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yulong River also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Been to Yulong River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing