We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alley Restaurant

The Alley Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 112 Restaurants in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Alley is a cozy restaurant in a pedestrian zone right in the centre of Yangshuo. The grilled tenderloin, home made tagliatelle or the grilled chicken breast with basil pesto are excellent, the beer list holds german and belgian beers but also the affordable chinese option and on weekends you can watch live football.
Yangshuo County, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Pizza was great. The Alley has a huuuuge range of drinks from 8.5% Belgian beers to the must try Magners cider by far my favorite drink here they also carry local beer. Good atmosphere and right in the centre of town

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    24
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good quality food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I visited the Alley Bar a couple of times for food, including with friends. Being a reasonably competent cook myself I am rather particular; in relation to my food. I have travelled extensively through China and appreciate that finding quality “non-Chinese” food is unfortunately quite rare; however the Alley Bar’s food has certainly been enjoyable. I have tried their pizza, and pan fried chicken which was good, and the Chicken cordon bleu was perhaps the best I have ever had, their accompanying unique fries and tasty European influenced salad was a nice addition to the chicken. The only downside, that being a bar it can get quite smoke filled, which is not so good when your trying to enjoy a nice meal, otherwise I would have given it a score of 5.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Asia_expeditions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

They have great salads and pizzas as well as loads of beer options. I like sitting outside and watching people as they stroll past.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shalynn5284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangshuochen, Guangxi, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pizza, Pasta, Burgers.... BEER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

One of the problems with so many restaurants serving "Western" food in Yangshuo is that their menu is enormous. At the Alley Bar they concentrate on quality, a well considered menu offering a good selection of dishes makes you think that the food is fresh and cooked to order, not kept in the deep freeze to be nuked to order.

The best selection of beer in Yangshuo and for sports fans they show premier league football at the weekend, but without commentary so it doesn't interfere if you just want a quiet bite to eat.

Great place, highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jono250781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If You're Looking For Western Food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are looking for Western food, this is a great place to start. The owner is Austrian and his staff is English-speaking staff is helpful.

I ordered the veggie pizza (38 RMB) which is very good by Chinese standards. The tomato sauce used on the pizzas definitely has a kick to it. I enjoyed the spiciness at first, but about halfway through, my mouth was on fire. However, I am a bit of a whip with spicy foods.

My husband ordered a burger (30-40 RMB) which he said he would give an 8 out of 10. We have tried burgers elsewhere in Yangshuo and they weren't that great, so this has by far been the best. We topped off dinner with a piece of warm chocolate cake and ice cream (20 RMB). Obviously you can't be expecting a moist piece of chocolate cake covered in frosting (keep in mind this is China), but we still really enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingwithtori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alley Restaurant also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Been to The Alley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing