We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to the family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trippers Carpe Diem Hostel Yangshuo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trippers Carpe Diem Hostel Yangshuo
Ranked #14 of 406 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcome to the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

I would prefer to keep this location a secret... but it's just too good to keep to myself.
Travelling a month through China, I could feel the western influence immediately through small details in the accommodation and general feel of the hostel. I didn't have a reservation but they booked me in right away and even arranged a pick-up at Guilin airport. I loved the location, walking distance from the city center, between greens hills and the local peasants. The food was excellent and I'm impressed that they managed to teach a Chinese cook how to make good western food (eating an apple pancake with ice cream and chocolate sauce after all those noodles and rice, was like stepping into 7th heaven).
The staff introduced themselves with their names and they were eager to practice their English and they were happy to correct my Mandarin pronunciation.
The length of hospitality surfaced when I lost my belongings on a bike trip through the rice fields. The management send some staff members with me to the police station and they guided me to an international phone so that I could inform my insurance. Without their spontaneous help, I would have been lost. In the days after, they all kept asking if I was alright and the management checked with me regularly. I really felt that they were taking care of me.
If you’re not looking for a place to stay, but a place to come home to: this is it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evi_VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    16
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
38
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chamonix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I really recommend Trippers Carpe Diem. I spent almost 3 weeks in the hostel with my boyfriend and we had a very good time sharing stories and experiences with travelers we met.
The staff is great, looking after all your needs, they all are very helpful and friendly, the best crew I ever met!
The location is amazing, in a very quiet place but still close to town. The food is also very good and the breakfast strong enough to let you enjoy the full day activities you will have!

Many thanks to Tripper!

xxx

Elodie

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elodie_V_Montpellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Yangshuo. Bed was pretty comfy for Chinese standards. Room is very basic, but all you need and clean. The watertemp. of the shower could be more consistent. The place is very nice to start/end your day with a good bar/restaurant with lots of choices. They have a great terrace to sit on and it is also nice that it is just outside of Yangshuo, so you can escape the masses of tourists there... Still close enough to walk though. They rent good quality bicycles, also suitable for the taller among us. Staff is very friendly and their English is great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

great hostel in a beautiful location!great food and beer!friendly staff and clean rooms!highly recommended!great atmosphere for christmas dinner!the best place to stay in yangshou!

Room Tip: i stayed in a double and it was perfect...cleaned every day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfarrelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

The best hostel that we have stayed in. There was a beautiful view from the balcony on which we ate many delicious meals. We ate at the carpe diem restaurant a number of times during our 5 day stay and loved it. (we asked for one of the recipes that we particularly enjoyed) Indeed when we went to Yangshuo itself for an evening meal we were served awful food. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and our room was very clean and it felt very secure and safe.
We hired bicycles on one of the days and had a great bike ride, despite getting lost. We also arranged (via the hostel) a visit to the moon water caves and some 'white water rafting' down the Yulong river.
In terms of cost, we felt that it was worth every penny and wish that we had stayed longer. I would thoroughly recommend this hostel and going to see the region.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Very expensive tours, food could better, the rest was superb.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Respe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Clean bedrooms, helpful staff, for the most part the food is pretty good....away from the noisy center but close enough to walk to
Bathrooms could have been cleaner. Some of the staff are nicer and more helpful than others. Had some problems with the cook not willing to fix my order (burger) that was very undercooked....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasandra1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
5.5 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.9 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
3.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#7 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yangshuo Village Retreat
Yangshuo Village Retreat
#11 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
4.0 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yangshuo Sudder Street Guesthouse
Yangshuo Sudder Street Guesthous...
#4 of 406 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trippers Carpe Diem Hostel Yangshuo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trippers Carpe Diem Hostel Yangshuo

Property: Trippers Carpe Diem Hostel Yangshuo
Address: No.35 Shibanqiao Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trippers Carpe Diem, a Belgian - Chinese family run guesthouse, halfway up the valley in one of Yangshuo's most scenic villages along the banks of the Li-river, yet within walking distance from the town center. Beautiful hike, run and cycle trails with stunning views start right at our front gate. We are dedicated to make your holiday most relaxing and to be your informative link to the best China has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Trippers Carpe Diem Hostel Yangshuo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing