We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Impression Sanjie Liu (Evening Showtime)
from $90.00
More Info
from $150.00
More Info
Reviews (1,573)
Filter reviews
1,173 results
Traveler rating
640
282
155
68
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
282
155
68
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beijing olympics opening ceremony chinese audience expensive seats special effects story line light show mountain backdrop the river open air takes place natural setting unique experience performers stage performance director
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,173 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

late arrivals, yapping all through show, cell phone use for video even wechat family and friends watching. people sta ding up for pictures. 15 minutes prior to end tour groups are slowly leaving unfront of you! leaving us a nigtmare too. 1,000 or more people! don.t walk back, dark road, take the golf cart shuttle for 10 yuan. meutermedia

Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

This was the highlight of our three week tour in China. The Impression Sanjie Liu is a music & light Show performed by a large cast of singers and dancers who are drawn from local villagers and minority groups. The artist perform on rafts and floating platforms in the Li-river with a backdrop of a dozen beautifully lit karst, tall sculptured rock formations. Liu Sanjie is a love story about a young woman called Liu Sanjie, which means "third sister Liu". Her voice was so beautiful that it touched everyone. The legend is that a warlord falls in love with Liu San Jie but she has already fallen in love with a farmer's boy from the village. The warlord does not accept this and kidnaps her but Liu San Jie's lover and friends in the village go to free her and the couple escape living happily ever after. It’s impossible to describe how beautiful and magical the show is, the setting, the lighting, the music, the massive cast of local people. If you are in Yangshuo it is something you must go and see.

Thank SueJim126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This show was an optional extra during our stay in Yangshuo on our tour.

Thank goodness we took the option. The entire performance with a huge cast was an eye opener. Set on a river / lake in the foreground and with mountains floodlit in the background this was a performance to remember in a majestic setting.

Others have described the performance better than I can - we were lost for words.

Arriving and departing is a bit of a hassle - too many coaches and inadequate parking.
At the end our guide asked us to wait until other groups had left the stadium and we then had a comfortable and more peaceful return walk to the coach.

Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a nice experience to see the show with a cast of 100+ and the stage was pretty impressive. The famous Chinese director Zhang Yimou did a revamp of the show in 2016 for the G20 summit in Hangzhou.

Overall, a must try activity if you are visiting HZ for the first time. My main gripe was that the show was only 50 minutes long. Just when I thought that things were building up to a grand finale, the show ended abruptly (IMHO). The weather was lovely during the time we saw the show, making the event more magical.

Just a tip: if you book the VIP tickets, it should be RMB 400 each. If you know someone in the industry, you can get it for RMB 340.

Thank CheckW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I find it difficult to understand how people can have given this show 1 or 2 stars. Yes it was in Chinese, but then the clue is in the country you are visiting!! The show lasts about 70 minutes, and it was like watching an olympic opening ceremony, taking place on water, with a backdrop of incredible mountains. The skill, and precision of the boatsmen, and those who have developed the lighting, and effects, make it absolutely amazing to watch.If you are in the area, this really is a must.

Thank Spenceleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This light show was absolutely incredible, with over 600 locals aged 10-60 featured in the performance (along with water buffalo and cormorants). The Li River is the stage, and pretty much everything happens on the water. The mountains are lit up in the background, and the show itself is so spectacular. We were told that the show was created by Zhang Yi Mou, the director and choreographer of the opening ceremonies at the 2008 Beijing Olympics. We were there on a rainy night and we were given one use ponchos when we arrived. I would go back again in a minute - even in the rain!

Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This show has a great reputation of being the thing to see in Yangshuo and it is amazing. The decorations, choreography and scenery of the whole show are a thing of beauty. I would absolutely recommend going to see it!

Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decorations: crags, karst peaks
Stage- liriver
Actors: cormorant, cows, Chinese guys
Very interesting show. Good organisation. In the entrance, they gave us raincoats. Although it was raining we felt comfortable. So I don't see the reason why guys are being A tickets. This under the roof but so far away from the stage...

Thank ekaterinak317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This show was utterly amazing! Even as a foreign visitor, the show was easy to follow. Be prepared for the huge crowds!

Thank gsb1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not as impressed as many of the reviews as we felt the major attraction, being the mountain backdrop, weren’t played to their best during the show. They were floodlit at the start of the show to many oohs and aha’s but then only briefly during therest of the show.

The “stage” is a huge lake and so movement takes a lot of time but the performers are brilliant and it is probably worth seeing but we weren’t blown away.

Produced by the producer of the 2008 Olympic opening ceremony and it felt like it. If you are into opening ceremonies you will love it.

Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews