We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, room for improvement”
Review of Yangshuo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yangshuo Resort
Ranked #22 of 462 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, room for improvement”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The location of the Yangshuo Resort is excellent for a peaceful view of the river and mountains. The design a classic of modern resort hotels. Quiet and relaxing the rooms are large and comfortable (bed on the hard side). The staff are mostly cheerful and want to please. The management have taken the staff for training trips overseas they say, but have not invested in the hardware to make it work. An example is my attempt to get an expresso for breakfast. After a failed attempt, it became clear the hotel had no expresso machine! The waiter did did his best, but knew it was not expresso and that the beans were poor quality. For this attempt at expresso the charge was RMB70 - rediculous and waived (real expresso in the best hotel in the area was no additional charge). This hotel could be paradise, but needs an upgrading of management to people who know what is required to be a high quality hotel to achieve its potential. That said I would be happy to return to sit quietly by the river.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oriental88traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, Guest Relations Manager at Yangshuo Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your patronage of Yangshuo resort , and thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, we are very delighted that you had enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and beautiful scenery here, especially with your compliments to our service staff which is extremly encouraging. And we are very sorry to hear about the coffee issues and appreciate that you've brought this to our attention. Myself and our food & beverage manager have started to look into this immediately to ensure our guest with inspiring experience inside the hotel as well as outside the hotel. We look forward to welcoming your back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    101
    55
    18
    14
See reviews for
48
99
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

A magnificent lobby with open air lounges. Airy, bright and romantic. When we arrived there was live Chinese flute music wafting through the halls. Our party immediately took over one of the outdoor lounges and didn't want to move.

The rooms were gorgeous and the grounds spectacular. Our rooms had five star amenities though we found the mattress hard and there were some quirks that we assume cater to Chinese tastes (bathroom open to the bedroom with a curtain separation).

Breakfast buffet was great though as is common in this part of the world, the selection leaned Asian, and the croissants were not up to Parisian standards (are they ever?). We usually eat breakfast in the hotel and then try to find lunch and dinner

Service was good and prompt and energetic but some language issues made it a little hard, but we got everything we needed in a flash.

Location on the river and under two massive vertical mountains is unbelievable.

Our complaint is that we were some of the few guests at a massive complex. Better than fighting crowds at high season, but a little eerie and i suspect the staff would be pressed to keep up during busier times. It is probably designed well for meetings and tours and a bit over-scale for a family, but we enjoyed the solitude none the less.

A great stop on a tour of the region for a couple of nights and might be great for a business conference or tour group.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sails4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, Guest Relations Manager at Yangshuo Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear friends, thank you for visitting Yangshuo resort and taking the time to post feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. All of your comments will be shared with our team and known the staff will be thrilled to read your compliments. We are proud of our team and service they deliver for our guests every day. Should you travel back to Yangshuo Resort, we would be thrilled to welcome you. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Never before have I stayed in a hotel of such extreme contrasts. This was an absolutely stunningly beautiful hotel facility, only a few years old, and nestled in the hills along the river. The lobby was gorgeous, and the pool and scenery spectacular. Meanwhile, the rooms were not very nice and the service was truly abysmal at every turn.
Rooms: Our initial guaranteed "river view" rooms had absolutely no view of the river at all. They were on the ground floor, and smelled of sewage gas backing up from the drains. We were finally moved on day two, with no apology or price adjustment. The rooms were spacious but dark. The bathroom arrangement was unconventional with a tub in the middle of the room and a glass wall (hmm, not frosted!) between the shower and toilet. The bed was very firm and not comfortable, the towels very small and thin (think Motel 6), and the phones never worked in the rooms. On the morning of checkout, they turned off the AC in the rooms from some central location, so it became extremely hot and humid.
Restaurant: The little restaurant had very limited offerings and the food was low quality, so I would recommend eating in town when possible.
Service: The management and staff were consistently unfriendly during our stay. The hotel staff took over an hour to check us out of our pre-paid rooms while, best I could figure, they confirmed that we hadn't stolen anything. Beware, they will charge you $6 for each plastic room key card you can't find upon departure...really annoying in the context of an expensive hotel bill (three rooms, each for three nights, and meals).
Pools: The pools were beautiful, fun, and uncrowded. But, as soon as we arrived, the killjoy cabana man dashed over and handed us a card in English telling us not to remove the pool towels from the pool area.
I asked around, and despite the poor service, this place may be the best game in town for now. My advice: manage your expectations and hope that someday they hire the Marriott to manage the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the ground floor for a view of the river and to avoid the smell of sew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OpinionistaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, Guest Relations Manager at Yangshuo Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear friends, thank you for staying at Yangshuo resort and it is our honor to have your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the gorgeous scenery here. Also we sincerely provide our apology as the inconvenience we had brought to you. We promise to make persistent efforts to improve and offer you excellent service. We are looking forward to your return. Warmest regards from Yangshuo Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a waste. Every now and then I come across a hotel or restaurant that has it all design wise but screws it up with the Service. Or lack of. Case in point: Yangshuo Resort.

Initially this was a good surprise when I was hunting for a hotel in Yangshuo, for early October. I never expected to see something so beautiful in China's countryside. It looked so amazing that I booked a suite for 3 days.

The resort is simply beautiful, and my suite was ideal. View on the river, lounge mat on the balcony, and the list goes on. However when it came to service it didn't deliver. and then some. Room cleaning was bad, making the room was even worse. It's like the bed was done by a 5 year old kid (I took pictures).Food and glasses were regularly left in the room post housekeeping. Contact at check in and check out was lengthy, complicated. For no reason. Reservations for transportation or activities were grossly overpriced.

The restaurant was really the worst. Not bad as in unhealthy, more bad as in "no, I'm sorry, I know what a Pizza is and no, it's not a tart with vegetables and doesn't look like this at all" and " Sorry to be extremely demanding but could we get the appetizer before the main dish this time?" or also "is it normal that I'm done with the the main course and my friend didn't get the appetizer yet"? And don't get me started on the drinks...Yes, the restaurant experience was bad, and I think the "Western" restaurant was worse than the other. But it needs to be said that in China the whole Hotel and Restaurant concept, especially in the upscale (or what pretends to be upscale) category is a new territory, and the staff is clearly not trained accordingly. Give it time, I'm sure the country will catch up and professional hostelry schools will emerge.

I still enjoyed my time at Yangshuo, and loved the resort. It's just that the bad Service does get to you at the end, no matter how much you prepare mentally for it.

If I were to come back to Yangshuo, I would look for alternative options.

As for Yangshuo: there are tons of activities immediately around it, and some further afield. I would highly recommend two that I have reviewed here (Bamboo rafting and light show)

Room Tip: Suites have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Z, Guest Relations Manager at Yangshuo Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your patronage of Yangshuo resort , and thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, we are very delighted that you had enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and beautiful scenery here. And we are very sorry to hear about the service issues and appreciate that you've brought this to our attention. Myself and our team had start to look into this immediately to ensure our guest with inspiring experience inside the hotel as well as outside the hotel. We look forward to welcoming your back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location cannot be bettered for relaxing views. Outside town, but to my mind that's an advantage. Don't miss the sound and light show on the water, or the cruise on the Li River.

Don't think about upgrading a room - the standard rooms are large and very well furnished.

Maybe a week is too long as there may not be enough to do - 3 or 4 days is ideal.

I had two days here and intend to return for a four day stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Porthmellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived in the pouring rain at night, only to open the curtains in the morning and find ourselves right beside some of the picturesque karst mountains that we had come to the area to see (no wonder it was so dark when we arrived). We were at the far end of the complex (building 9) closest to the mountains as opposed to the buildings in the middle that face the river more directly - it didn't matter to us and the walk to the main building (#4) on covered walkways wasn't really very far. The setting was so lovely that we decided to skip a biking excursion to enjoy the pool for a couple of ours (we were the only people there). Our large room (#9215) had a tropical resort feel to it. The bed was a bit hard, but not as bad as we had expected in China and the open concept bathroom is a bit unusual but seems to be a bit of a trend since we came across the same thing in Lijiang (Crowne Plaza).

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group. The Resort is a few miles outside Yangshuo (40 yuan one way taxi trip). The hotel also has a periodic free shuttle bus service to town.

Rooms were particularly spacious with good views of the limestone karst outcrops and hills. Bicycle hire is available. The in house massage complex was very good value where for 188 yuan you could get an excellent one hour aromatherapy massage. Nice outdoor swimming pool.

Drinks prices were very expensive but the Resort is well aware that the nearest alternative is some distance away. Reasonable laundry prices though.

The breakfast area was also very spacious with an outside dining option. The breakfasts were good.

Some irritations. The water supply failed for a shortish period during our stay and we were fined 50 yuan for losing a plastic room key. Wifi was free in the rooms and the lobby but kept on failing periodically.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 462 in Yangshuo County
245 reviews
3.9 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#6 of 462 in Yangshuo County
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
#15 of 462 in Yangshuo County
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 462 in Yangshuo County
1,084 reviews
2.5 mi away
Green Lotus Hotel
Green Lotus Hotel
#17 of 462 in Yangshuo County
368 reviews
13.0 mi away
XY.Yun House
XY.Yun House
#19 of 462 in Yangshuo County
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Resort

Property: Yangshuo Resort
Address: North side of the Gongnong Bridge, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Yangshuo County
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
#25 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Yangshuo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Yangshuo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing