We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, should have stayed longer”
Review of Yangshuo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yangshuo Resort
Ranked #22 of 438 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place, should have stayed longer”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Came in from the Li river cruise, which I strongly recommend. The property is a little out of town, but only 5 minutes away. W had hired a car, so this was no problem for us. The resort seems quite new, and very well maintained. Grounds were in good shape, the rooms were large, spacious, modern, and well equipped bathrooms. We had a tub in our room, which was pretty cool. Best part of the resort is the stunning location. Service was a little slow, and they did not have black tea, which was an annoyance. The breakfast restaurant is clean, has fantastic views, but the food was not as good as other 5 star hotels in China. We ordered hot chocolate, and the waitress said that they did not have it. When I asked the manager, he said it was no problem, and brought it to us quickly. Staff is a little inexperienced, so don't hesitate to ask for the manager. Situated with the spectacular mountains on one side, and a quite lazy river on the other. We did go to the liu sanjie water show which was really good, do not miss this. Wish we had stayed another night here, and really enjoyed the resort and Yangshuo a little more. Quiet, relaxing, and beautiful place. I have been around the world, to several countries, and this one is right up there with the best of them.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Venkat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    99
    53
    18
    14
See reviews for
48
94
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Nice big rooms. Toilet shower setup not too sure about that one I did not like it. Huge bath in main room. Breakfast average have had much better. Oh do remember this is Chinese hotel beds are hard...not firm hard...grounds could be better maintained. We stayed three nights easy free shuttle 9 minutes to town. A must do is bamboo rafting Down the river 1-1/2hr ride worth it...we enjoyed our stay here all staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It's probably the best you can get around Yangshuo, that is for Chinese standards. Yet if it were in Europe or elsewhere in Asia, you would probably be a lot more critical about this resort hotel. The rooms are spacious with a bath and a shower, TV flatscreen, internet (be it slow). The room we were in looked renovated, nothing wrong with it, although quite a bit of walking at the end of the resort (which, in 38 degrees Celsius with a very high humidity, is a long walk). The airco is somewhat of a problem (if you really like it cold, which is not bad with these temperatures, don’t expect to get it below 26-27 degrees).

The beds are hard, but asking for an extra duvet on the matrass will make it slightly more comfortable. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious, that's the best description I can come up with. A shower and a bath (be it right in the middle of the room). The resort has two restaurants, a Western and a Chinese. We arrived late (in a unbearably hot reception area (over 40 degrees!), without airco or even a fan) and could only eat in the Chinese restaurant, as the Western was closed at 08.45 pm. Most of the dishes on the menu were “sold out” and we ended up with a weird chicken dish, extremely poor. In the neighborhood better restaurants can be found, and cheaper too. The bar near the river Li is unmanned at most times and by the time you found someone willing to service you a drink, your coffee is cold as it needs to be brought in from the main building.
Breakfast is good (we were in summertime, on a Sunday so be prepared for a massive number of loud Chinese tourist). The swimming pool is large and fun for kids, yet too warm for me (better to take a dive in the nearby river). All in all the best you can possibly get in Yangshuo where luxury hotellerie is still in its infancy. It is as luxurious as it gets here, but surely good enough for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Try to find a room that is closer to the reception area, but make sure it one of the newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a suite overlooking the river and the mountain on the other side. The room was spacious and had a bath in the middle which was quite romantic. Went to see the Sanji Liu lights show on the river and the staff tried the best to get us the tickets as it was sold out. We had great time and the resort was well maintained and cleanliness was ensured. The only flip side was the restaurant did not offer enough choice and could be more english speaking staff but overall a great experience and I recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vedia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Rooms were big and spacious, the air conditioning was not very effective. The grounds are beautiful and it is lovely to be able to sit on a balocony looking out to the river. It is a long walk between the two furthest blocks which our group was splt between.
It is close to moonhill, good location for bike riding and bamboo rafting, walking but a bit too far from west street (Shopping) and food options. The food in the hotel was very expensive.
Staff did not have a lot of English.
It is a good location for those that just want to get away and enjoy the beauty of the nature around them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights. The Yulong river is on one side and the Karst mountains are on the other. Beautiful property, well maintained. Our room had nice amenities; balcony overlooking river, slippers and robe, room safe, free bottled water. It was quiet and restful. Free bikes and nice outdoor pool. The breakfast buffet included lots of variety and we found plenty to eat. The western restaurant seemed overpriced, but we wanted to eat at the Chinese one anyway (and it was reasonably priced). The location is just a short distance from town. I would have liked for the TV to had had a few more english channels.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kamva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights in this resort and we were in Block 8, rooms no 8205and 8206. Our pick-up was organized by the travel agent through the hotel and we were picked up on time from the airport. I travelled to Guilin with my two teenaged children and my husband. Rooms in this hotel are very spacious and all the rooms have a balcony. Our balcony was facing towards the riverside, so we had an amazing view.

They have a nice pool. The downside of this pool is that since there is too much greenery around the trees the bugs drop into the pool. My daughter while swimming got bitten by an insect and she had painful rashes all over her body for next three days.

The hotel staff made us feel very comfortable. It was raining hard the day we arrived and I thought that holiday will be spent in this resort. It opened up the next day and we saw bamboo rafts in the river that flows right next to the resort. My two children enjoyed their stay at the resort as there was plenty for them to do. Bicycles at the resort are available for free and my daughter biked within the resort everyday.

It a well built resort, well located with a beautiful view and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aru68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
3.6 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 438 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 438 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
#19 of 438 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Resort

Property: Yangshuo Resort
Address: North side of the Gongnong Bridge, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Yangshuo County
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
#26 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Yangshuo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Yangshuo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing