We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great deal, and really nice staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yangshuo Dongling Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Ranked #15 of 406 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great deal, and really nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent two night at the beginning of january at Yangshuo Dongling Resort, it's a bit outside of Yangshuo, but this is a good point, because it not noisy and busy as the city center. And you can really appreciate the view. The room was clean with a nice balcony in order to enjoy the view. I think the service was the best part of this hotel, the team was helping us for everything we need, and they even help us to get some good deal regarding some ticket and tour. They can speak a quite good english which was more convenient. The food was quite nice too, really traditional Chinese food we tried both diner and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    28
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
45
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed this hotel three nights for our honeymoon. As we booked the room from the booking.com, we didn't know the room was two single beds. When we arrived at the hotel, the manager Jan upgraded a king size bed room with amazing view for us. It was very nice.
The hotel on the top of a hill, it is a little bit far away form the town (It costs CNY30 for a taxi), but it is very peaceful and the atmosphere is very very fresh. The view is amazing. You can see the Li River, the beautiful mountains and the villages & Yangshuo town.
We loved this place.

Room Tip: The room with a balcony see the river and mountains is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have a lovely stay here for four days. Amazing scenery, lovely breakfast and great people.
Mountain bike riding is a must to experience the real Yangshuo and its great scenic views and local villages.
The hospitality and kindness shown by Jan and Anita has been outstanding. We hightly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the river view room with balcony is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we stayed at the resort for three nights and despite the fact that it was raining on and off almost the whole time we were in yangshuo, we loved it. we'd reserved a standard room w/ a garden view, but were given a room in the new section with a river/mountain view w/ no price increase. the resort is located about a ten minute cab ride outside of town. it worked for us because we wanted a quiet and relaxed retreat after mostly city traveling in china. we hid out and rested in the quiet of our room and the resort during the day and headed into town at night for dinner. the restaurant onsite is also very accommodating with a lot of food choices if you don't feel like leaving. we didn't find the seclusion a problem - the front desk was very good about ordering cabs for us and we didn't find it problematic finding ones in town that would take us back for 30 rmb. the staff, as mentioned by others, is wonderful (though maybe a little overwhelmed when there are a lot of guests in the restaurant for breakfast!) and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skirtandsupersuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Dongling Resort is a perfect place for someone who likes to stay near Yangshou but not in Yangshou (a noisy and very touristic city), who loves a quiet and cosy sourroundings and who wants to recover from an exhausting day of hiking or cycling.
The rooms (take the rooms with view) are spacious, simple and clean, the staff is super-friendly, helpful and speaks a decent English. We stayed there for three days and got everything we wanted - advice for nice tours&massages, dinners at 10 pm (even though the kitchen was already closed), bikes for rent and fair taxi arrangements.

As said - the place is a bit outside the city. However, taxis from the hotel bring you to the city for around 3,5 Euros. Back to the hotel you need to bargain with the drivers but at the end you shouldn't pay more than 4 Euros. Walking to the city is a bit long but worth as you cross Li River with a Bamboo boat!

All in all a highly recommendable place for some relaxing days around Yangshou!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieClyde2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am writing this review as I stay my last night at this fabulous place. It is a family business and it was a joy to stay here for 4 days. The most important thing is that everyone is really nice and goes the extra mile to satisfy you and address all your requests. The views speak for themselves, it's just lovely. I was getting fed up with Chinese food after traveling for a while in China but when I got here, everything changed. The food, cooked by the family mother, was divine.
The bathroom was great, with a very nice shower. The room was very comfortable and with great views from our private balcony.
It felt like staying home, everything was great and they also helped us incredibly with tips, maps, and long descriptions of what to do and go outside the beaten track. Only small remarks would be that the bikes that they rent could be in better condition and that the television did not have any English speaking channel. Overall it was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noyoudont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I only explainations I can think of why this place has such high rating is 1) most of the reviews are written by Chinese travelers (probably backpackers since compare to Guilin, not so many people actually stay overnight in Yangshuo) 2) for the price of under $50, I guess one really doesn't expect too much, and perhaps this extremely low expectation made the actual impression ok.

Objectively, I think it is a 2-star place. (maybe a 3 star if the bathroom doesn't stink so badly) It looks nice and all on the photos, but in real life, all the details are overlooked. cheap tiles (imprinted with wooden pattern) throughout the room. in fact not only the toilet stinks, the water from the faucet also stink! I had to brush my teeth with bottled mineral water....

The other place I considered was Mountain retreat. but the local guide I hired told me Dongling and Mountain retreat are 2 comparable places, similar in every aspect. But when we were rafting down one of the rivers, i saw a beautiful resort (a real resort, not just the single building as Dongling is). That looks like a place that would suit much better my taste. But sorry to report that I don't remember the name.

whever you stay, think twice about Dongling. look at the tripadvisor rating with a grain of salt.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zc12_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 406 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
5.9 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 406 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
4.6 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 406 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 406 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#27 of 406 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
3.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#7 of 406 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Dongling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Dongling Resort

Property: Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Address: Hillside Dongling Road, Yangshuo Town, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#13 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Dongling Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Yangshuo Dongling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Dongling Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing