We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Yangshuo Tea Cozy(Yangshuo County)
$86
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

River View Hotel(Yangshuo County)
$45
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hidden Dragon Villa(Yangshuo County)
$46
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Yangshuo Resort(Yangshuo County)
$115
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Moondance Boutique Resort(Yangshuo County)
$60
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Yangshuo(Yangshuo County)
$249
$232
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Yangshuo Mountain Retreat(Yangshuo County)
$50
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Li River Resort(Yangshuo County)
$81
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Mountain Nest(Yangshuo County)
$59
$49
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Lotus Hotel(Yangshuo County)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
149
87
23
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
87
23
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleli riverenjoyed our staychinese foodthe hotel staffshuttle servicethe hustle and bustletaxi driverhotel is situatedair conditionermain towncooking classper dayfamily roomno elevatorbalconyvillage
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 270 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile

This place is located walking distance from the pier of Yangshuo. The Li River view is very beautiful. This accommodation has been around for 6 to 7 years. With the constant humidity and rain, the building needs some maintenance. Shuttle service is available for usage. You are required to reserve it 30 minutes before to take the shuttle van to town west street. It is very convenient to have the shuttle service as taxis could be costly.

We have a family room with balcony. A big king bed and adjourn bedroom with twin beds with 2 separate bathroom. It is spacious. There is toothbrushes, slippers, coffee tea offered complimentary for usage. Loved the big shower head. The complaint I have that the hotel leaves the window open to air and there are mosquitoes. The sewer pipe smells awful in the room. I had to get them to spray but it was useless. The water pipe on the sink is loose.

This is a family run business. The restaurant offers good food for lunch and dinner. Breakfast is complimentary. You can choose western and eastern style. Very delicious. Comes with juice and tea or coffee.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank May F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Yangshuo Village Retreat. The staff were truly amazing, kind and very efficient. Nothing was too much to ask for in our experience and we learnt so much from just chatting. The restaurant was affordable and varied so we were really happy to try a number of different dishes. The rooms although old do have a quaint French decor and are large and comfy. One of the best experiences we had was our day with a local guide Lucy, riding through Yangshuo countryside and rafting on the quiet bamboo rafts on the Yulong river. Well worth the cost

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sweenbillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017

If you're trying to save money, then for 1 or 2 nights this place is fine. It's hardly a 'retreat' given the construction going on in the mountain across the way. But at night, they are not working, so it is quiet, but there are other buildings nearby -- it's not alone anymore. The room was pretty good sized, but it was also dank and musty -- you could smell it in your clothes for several hours after leaving. The furniture was very slap dab and looked like it had been rescued from 50 years in a storage unit. The locks were broken on the sliding door to the patio and the windows, but it seemed safe as it was on the second floor. The lock to the main door of the room was fine. There was an in-room safe that actually worked despite the fact that the keypad was hanging by its wires. But the important stuff was all pretty good: shower was very nice, so was the toilet and the sink in the room was new and very nice. The bed was also nice. The air conditioner looked like hell but worked very well. Also, the restaurant was pretty good and the people working here were very friendly. Note that it is out of town, so it's not for you if you wanted to be near shopping and other excitement. They do have a shuttle to take you into town and pick you up, but I didn't use it while I was there so have nothing to report.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017

We had an awesome time in Yangshuo with the Village Retreat as our base. It is a cross between a small hotel and a Bed & Breakfast with an older but updated exotic feel. It is on quiet outskirts of Yangshuo and sports a garden area with picnic tables, a nice lobby and dinning / restaurant area. Rooms are on 2nd to 5th floors, no elevator. My wife and I had a regular room and my son and his family with kids had a two room suite. Our room had a fairly typical toilet and shower combo in the same stall but spacious, with a separate sink across the room, which was only slightly inconvenient. The suite had a larger bath area with whirlpool tub and extra room for about twice the cost. The beds and rooms were comfortable, hardwood floors not carpet. A small outside balcony provided a nice view and relaxing area. As typical with most accommodations in China water was for bathing, not drinking, but one bottle of water was provided per person, plus a large Culligan type water dispenser was on each floor in the hall. WiFi worked well. Our room price was reasonable and included breakfast. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the breakfasts with 5 different choices on the menu. The waffles were good but took a long time to make, and could have used more syrup because they were dense waffles, but the food generally was very good. We also chose to eat our dinners there, again with very good food Asian and Western at reasonable prices, plus very convenient. The dinner menu had a much larger variety than breakfast. The only other food issue was that the chicken schnitzel was on the dry and rubbery side. The staff spoke English fairly well and were very friendly and helpful on activity information. Our favorite benefit was that they rent bicycles either 3 speed ($25 RMB - about $3.60 USD) or more robust bicycles ($70 RMB - about $10 USD) per day. We found the 3 speed bicycles to be very adequate for the terrain. We rode bicycles for 2 days, one day in the rain, and that was the highlight. We loved seeing the area on bicycle riding along the Li and Yulong Rivers, along country roads through small farming villages, and making our way through crazy traffic in Yangshuo. The bicycles made our trip. We would definitely stay again if we ever return to the area.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have better views but have to use stairs. All rooms seemed to be situated for quiet enjoyment
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigskyguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017

This hotel is situated out of town, but it is very accessible by the hotel's shuttle or a short 15-20 minute walk.

The hotel staff is very friendly and extremely accommodating. They consistently go above and beyond. They arranged many things for us during our stay, including a cooking class, laundry, and transit.

The food at the restaurant is very good and there are many options. The breakfasts are very good and the Chinese food is delicious. There are also Western options.

The hotel is in a picturesque location and has the potential to be grand- however, some improved maintenance could really elevate the hotel to 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReliableRatings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews