We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
148
87
23
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
87
23
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleli riverenjoyed our staychinese foodthe hotel staffshuttle servicethe hustle and bustletaxi driverhotel is situatedair conditionermain towncooking classper dayfamily roomno elevatorbalconyvillage
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 269 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2015

The Village Retreat was about a 20 minute walk out of the hustle and bustle that is downtown Yangshuo so it is a nice peaceful place to stay after the day's events. The staff are very helpful, their English is quite good. Our room was comfortable with adequate air conditioning too. The bathroom layout was a bit weird but not really an issue for us. We hired bikes for a day's ride (70RMB pp) and we really enjoyed our trip out into the countryside, the directions being very easy to follow once you get used to the chaos of Chinese driving habits. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2015

We were 5 friends and we booked 2 rooms at the hotel. Located a little distance from towncentre, it is a wonderful place to relax and holiday. Its restaurant served the best food we had in entire yanshuo. Staff was english speaking and very helpful. Rooms were luxurious. They also provide free shuttle service to and fro town centre. There is no lift in the hotel. A great holiday for us and i will recommend this property to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mehul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2015

We had two rooms at the Village Retreat in Yangshou last weekend. Gerd and his crew did a great job. My wife, kids, and I stayed in the Family Chalet which has two beds in one room and a king sized bed in the master. My parents had a standard room w/balcony - their room was at the end of the hallway near the stairs, so they heard noise from the hallway more than they liked. It also had an interesting location for the shower - but that is part of the charm in staying in these types of hotels. If you want a brand-new hotel where all the rooms fit the corporate standard, then this hotel is probably not for you.

The hotel is outside of Yangshou but a very easy and safe walk (15-20 minutes) to all of the shops. They offer a shuttle, but we found walking more convenient.

We used Gerd and his staff to make all of our activity bookings and felt that his suggestions were good at a fair price. They have a fleet of bicycles available for their guests to rent, which was much more convenient then going to a rental location in town.

The food in the restaurant was excellent. They have a very extensive menu and make all their food when ordered so it does take a little bit longer for them to prepare your dishes, but it was always worth the wait.

If I find myself traveling to Yangshou again, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpeter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

Without any doubt it's a nice place to relax.

The rooms are comfortable and the staff nice.

It's a little too far from the center, but they have a free shuttle that can do the transportation if needed.

They also have a lot of western food, so no worries.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2015

We've stayed at the Yangshuo Village Retreat six or seven times now and have nothing but praise for the warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and tasty food that are always on offer. Although the owner, Gerd and the staff all speak excellent English, we like to practice our Chinese and always get lots of encouragement from all of our friends at the hotel. I say 'friends' because that is just how we feel about this hotel. There's a courtesy, friendliness and helpfulness that goes beyond what we have found in any other place. As soon as we arrive, there's Mahao, eager to help with the luggage, unbelievably kind and hospitable. When the girls say 'Good morning' or 'How can I help?' they really mean it. When we're hungry, Tracy, Amy or one of the other girls in the restaurant serve hot food promptly and with a smile and when we need advice urgently (as when we got lost one day and almost missed our pick-up), Hua Hua or one of the other lovely girls at the desk, finds a quick solution. Over the years we have come to respect the role that Gerd and his wife, Jennie play in this happy haven. They are not just business people but active members of a cheerful working group all striving to make the hotel something special. It's no surprise to us that YVR is this year's number one hotel in Yangshuo because we always knew it! Congratulations Gerd, Jennie and everyone at the Village Retreat. Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews