We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yangshuo Village Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Li River Resort(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CTN Garden Hotel(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Dongling Resort(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Doraemon Inn(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
Yangshuo Elegant Hotel(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
Xiaoqingmai Hotel(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Huaqiao Hotel(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
149
87
23
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
87
23
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily chaletfree shuttleli riverhotel is locatedenjoyed our staychinese foodthe hotel staffshuttle servicegreat roomdeluxe roomtaxi driverair conditionercooking classpeaceful locationper dayno elevatorbelgium
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 268 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for some peace and quiet time after 3 nights at a West St hotel.The hotel from the outside is not impressive and could do with a new coat of paint but the rooms are just grand.The service is satisfactory.There is variety in the menu at the restaurant and food is to our taste.But take note that coffee in Yangshuo is expensive everywhere.
Walking to town is not practical coz when you spent 40 minutes to and fro, you have not much energy left in West St..The road is also muddy when it rains.The free van service is a good way to go to town. If you are staying here, arrange all your trips through the hotel.The price is the same as in town and transport is right to the hotel door.
Overall, if you have only 2 nights in Yangshuo and want to be in the thick of action,then stay in town but outside of the West St area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chan_Y1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Don't be put off by its modest exterior in a village just outside Yangshuo, this is a great hotel with extremely comfortable, well equipped rooms and very helpful staff who speak flawless English. Far more luxurious inside than the outside would lead you to believe! Rooms are spacious with comfortable beds, a sitting area and wet-room bathrooms. Fresh linen daily. West Street is a 20 minute walk, or the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle bus to the town running every 2 hours. Be sure to reserve this in advance to guarantee a space / to ensure that the service will run. The staff are extremely knowledgable and willing to suggest / organise itineraries for tours around the area and reply quickly to emails. Wifi is a decent speed, particularly in the lobby. Laundry service available but does not get ironed. Would definitely stay here again, even though in a rural area, it is not too isolated; indeed, this is part of its relaxing charm.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the Yangshuo Village Retreat, and I must say it was one of the best vacations I've had. The hotel is located just a little bit outside the town centre, which was good because the town itself can get quite noisy and busy. It's a little bit out of the way, but you could arrange for free shuttle which runs every couple of hours or so, or just cycle (10-15 mins away - but like i said, the town can be quite busy and riding with the mopeds can be quite daunting).

The room itself is spacious, but the bathroom layout is pretty weird. There's also a lot of mosquitos so keep your doors closed or better yet bring an insect repellent. I suppose it's the same everywhere in Yangshuo. There's free wifi, bike hire and restaurant onsite, which was really convenient. Not the best food, but it's alright.

The staff are really friendly and helpful. We came to Yangshuo with nothing planned, and we just arranged all the activities with the reception. From airport pickup and drop off, trip Yulong River, Longsheng, and Xingping. They even showed us the biking route to Liugong Village, which was really nice. They just made everything so easy, and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chylle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just spent a second visit to Yangshuo Village Retreat in 2 years. 1st trip we were a wedding party of 20 people this time family and friends. Still a great place to relax and enjoy the area. Nice rooms, good food and great staff, just an easy place to stay. Talking to other guests all seemed to be of the same opinion. Home from home!!.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed in an awful hotel for one night in Xing Ping (CTN Li River) and then came here.

What a refreshing change. The staff speak english, the hotel is charming, lovely food and wine (particularly for China) and good boutique style rooms at less than 400 yuan.

Really good value with a free shuttle bus into town. I would go back here.

One thing: I wouldn't suggest paying all the money for the local 'show' they promote. It costs more than the hotel does and is really not worth it. If it was 100 Yuan fair enough, but it's about 240 or so and clearly is run just to bilk money from Chinese and Western tourists. Not worth it but do stay in this hotel, it's the best value for money I have seen in China.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the front, not the back.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobiaswebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews