We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will not be disappointed. An oasis in the countryside. Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yangshuo Village Retreat
Ranked #12 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
371 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed. An oasis in the countryside. Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Yangshuo many times in the past but this was our first visit to mountain village retreat. It is a fantastic oasis of calm compared to the noise and chaos of west street whilst being only a short walk, bike ride (bikes are available for rental) or complementary hotel transfer away.

The hotel is a great base for exploring the area be it by bike, foot, boat, bamboo raft or canoe. All staff are helpful & friendly and will contribute to making your holiday a great memory. Our guide for exploration around Yangshuo, as it has been on the 5 previous occasions, was Nancy who works for herself. She is an excellent guide and will help arrange all you need to enjoy the splendours of Yangshuo whilst sharing its history. She can be contacted at liangxiuss@yahoo.com. Very highly recommended......

Rooms at the Village retreat are clean, and very comfortable even if a bit quirky. Food is good with a mixture of western comfort food and Asian dishes. There are other options for food & drink in easy walking distance (noteably trippers Carpe Diem) albeit all are managed by the same person.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerd B, Owner at Yangshuo Village Retreat, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your very good experiences with us and recommending us to fellow travelers. We're happy you enjoyed the quietness of life in the village yet appreciated the convenience of the proximity of the center just a 5 min free shuttle ride, 7min bike ride or a lovely 20min walk along the Li-river ride away. Your support is very much appreciated and we are looking forward to welcome you back one day!

Happy travels!
Gerd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    83
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
66
103
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in a quiet, large, clean room. We were a little concerned at first when we saw how isolated it looked, but it ended up not to be a problem at all. They have a shuttle bus to town every hour or they can call a fairly decent priced taxi for you. Their hotel restaurant was excellent and the staff helpful. We actually had all our activities arranged by the staff with no problem. There are a lot of interesting and fun things to do in this area, it is a nice change from the larger Chinese cities. Then after a fun filled day, it was nice to come back to a comfortable ,quiet, stylish room. Just as a warning - there is no elevator, so if you are up on the higher floors be prepared to climb the stairs. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerd B, Owner at Yangshuo Village Retreat, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments about your room, the food in our restaurant and the helpfulness of our reception team, I will be delighted to pass on the great feedback to our team! Thank you for choosing to stay with us again when you would be coming back, we are looking forward to welcome you as a returning guest with a 10% discount on the room of your preference.

Thank you!
Gerd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wonderful staff, great restaurant, beautiful bike rides around here and an amazing massage today that basically healed my body from problems developed over years of athletics! We loved this place. Rooms are stylish and spotless and the people that work here are the best. We had the best time here. Book it!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank losglobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerd B, Owner at Yangshuo Village Retreat, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much Sandy for sharing your lovely feedback about the comfort of your room here, and in particular the food in the restaurant and the helpfulness of our staff. Reviews as this just motivates them to return the favors and welcome and please our foreign visitors even more!
Also thanks for adding the tips for a worry free day out. Yangshuo is in fact a very safe place but indeed as everywhere there is some little crime that may affect someone's overall holiday experience, and we always advise visitors to leave their passports in the safe in their room or at the reception, do not take it along in your bag left out of sight.

Thanks again and all the best!
Gerd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arranged a pick up from the airport which went smoothly despite having to contact the hotel last moment to change times as Air China had changed our flights without notification. Hotel reception staff spoke excellent English and were always helpful. We eat some meals at the hotel and food was always delicious. Room was large and spacious. Ok, shower on the balcony is odd but added to the character! We rented bikes for 2 days and cycled to Dragon Bridge one day and to Moon Hill on the other. The staff were helpful advising on routes on the map. Cycling was actually more pleasant in the heat in August than walking as you got some breeze and the area is really flat. Cycling through Yangshuo traffic is a bit of an experience but most cycling is on extremely quiet roads and paths. You get to see some real China not 'tourist' ancient villages - we actually cycled through derelict proper ancient village! One piece of advice we were given was tie your bags onto the bike as there has been incidents of drive past swiping bags. We also visited 2 caves (receptionist - no-one ever does 2 caves on the same day- but we like caves!). We visited Water cave and Silver cave. The latter was extremely impressive - even though the coloured lights are awful but don't let it put you off. We like the fact that the hotel was outside Yangshuo and enjoyed the quiet and the walk back at night - the locals swim in the river after the tour boats have gone and it is lovely and refreshing to swim in the river late afternoon. I would also recommend to walk up the steps on the hill to the pagoda in Yangshuo Park for a great view over the town and hills.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandie2Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerd B, Owner at Yangshuo Village Retreat, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Great to read you truly enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for taking the time to support us with a 5-star rating and recommend us to your friends and fellow travelers!

Thank you!
Gerd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

A great place to get away and base your trip around. Very comfortable rooms, good amenities, good food and lots of excellent Belgian beer. Very friendly and helpful staff - lots of activities and they arrange everything for you. I could nitpick the odd thing here and there, but it would be contrary to the laid back spirit of the place, which was thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clocksendak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerd B, Owner at Yangshuo Village Retreat, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your broad minded feedback! It was a pleasure to welcome and host you with us and it will be even more intense when you ever come back!

Thank you!
Gerd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. The room was large and comfortable with a lovely small balcony with great views. It was so peaceful in the village, I could have stayed much longer. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was great too.

When we were leaving, I couldn't find my bank card and thought I might have left it in an ATM. As we don't speak Chinese, one of the staff accompanied us to the bank which was beyond the help I expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubbie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerd B, Owner at Yangshuo Village Retreat, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for leaving us your excellent feedback, I am so pleased to read that our staff was able to show you their hospitality and was able to help you get your card back much faster than usual is the case at the bank! We are much looking forward to welcome you back one day and you can enjoy the other tours you would love to enjoy as well!

Thank you!

Gerd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked a room with a balcony, and we loved the view!! The room is very cosy and spacious, and the bathroom was good too. It does not have a shower curtain and is quite small, but it doesn't matter much.
It is a bit far away from the city - but unless the purpose of your visit is to party hard, this is definitely an advantage. They have a shuttle service, and pick up from town for only 20 RMB. They also have a free pick up service when you arrive. And the walk is not more than 15 minutes - so don't choose a city hotel over this one, unless you really want to stay downtown. This is nice and quiet, and the views are awesome. Walk our use their pick up service - steer clear of Yangshuo cabs which are extremely expensive!

Their restaurant is very, very good for both breakfast and other meals, and the dishes are not more than they would be in town.

The staff are nice, friendly and their english is good. We used their in-room massage service (which is REAL massage!), and it was very good and quite cheap (like 100 RMB for more than an hour).

The only issue we had was that we had really been looking forward to having wireless internet in our room. We had no coverage whatsoever - we complained several times, and the first few times they just told us that it was because of the location of our room at the end of the hallway, and they didn't quite seem to grasp, that we didn't care about the location of the room - but was unhappy that we paid for wireless in the room, and didn't get it. After several complaints, they tried restarting the internet etc., but it didn't work until the last day of our stay, when we had some coverage if we sat right next to the door. This was quite disappointing, and a shame, since the rest of our stay was good.

Room Tip: I marked down the room because we had no WiFi as promised- make sure you get a room at the end of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanne849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerd B, Owner at Yangshuo Village Retreat, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing the great feedback about our hotel and services. I regret so much that I was not informed about the internet issue in your room, surely it would have been resolved the same day! We have replaced the router on the 3rd floor which offers a smooth wifi connection again and I have asked our staff once more to inform me personally of every complaint or constructive feedback offered so we can resolve any sudden inconveniences in a more timely manner.

Thank you,
Gerd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.6 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
3.9 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Village Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Village Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Village Retreat
Address: Shi Ban Qiao Village,45, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yangshuo Village Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Yangshuo Village Retreat, an established 4-star Belgian-Chinese family retreat in the beautiful and peaceful countryside near Yangshuo, Guilin, China. We provide a free shuttle service to town all day per comfortable mini-van that takes you to the heart of Yangshuo in 5 minutes. For longer stays we offer every 7th night free of charge! Located in a quiet village, nestled in between mountains, rice paddies and citrus trees, our Yangshuo hotel offers the perfect base to explore the countryside, its rural features and amazing scenery, and provides the ideal environment to sit back, relax, and enjoy the idyllic landscape Yangshuo is famous for, with the comforts of home. And with only a beautiful walk along the Li-river bank to Yangshuo’s main shopping and entertainment area, the Yangshuo Village Retreat might have the best location of all Yangshuo hotels… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Village Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing