We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE MONTH IN VILLAGE RETREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yangshuo Village Retreat
Ranked #12 of 450 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
bertrix
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ONE MONTH IN VILLAGE RETREAT”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I attended a course chinese mandarin in Yangshuo.and then I lived in Village Retreat for 31 days. This advice may be interesting for people staying for a long period. Most of customers stay one to three, four days. The aprreciation must be quite different when you stay a longer period.You see more of what really happens in a place
The hotel has a quite good location at 25 minutes walk from the center of Yangshuo. It is valuable to enjoy a quiet environment after one day in the very noisy Yangshuo town

The plus points of this hotel are :
- The personnel in the restaurant is very friendly; the young ladies workijg over there give the best of themselves for welcoming and serving you in a very friendly way. The Chef is also a nice.peson.
- The quality of the meals : there is a good selection of western dishes and chinese dishes for a good quality/price ratio. possibility to take a meal at any time , this is very interesting.
-The rooms are very clean and the price not too bad for a long period
The less good points are
-The doors of the rooms" make a lot of noise "when you open them. When people dont move too often this is not a a problem but when some people especially late in the evening enter the rooms and leave the rooms many times it is quite impossible to sleep. This doesnt happen every day but it happens.
-bicycles need a serious maintenance;
-there was no wardrobe in my room : I asked for having one , 31 days is long ....but i just received a very small one ; quite a bit frustrating
- i asked for a desk lamp for studying: i never received

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fgc124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    85
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
68
104
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It's quite easy to review this hotel - it was great stay and I was very, very satisfied. Hotel is located in a small village Shi Ban Qiao 20 minutes walk from Yangshuo
Positive
- Great location, amazing scenery
- Spacious, comfortable and clean rooms with balcony (deluxe room)
- Friendly, helpful english speaking staff
- Good food for a good price
- Bikes and scooters rentals
- Service (trips, free shuttle to the city for free five times per day)

Negative
- Nothing

Yangshuo was the best part of China I have visited. Rent bike or scooter in the hotel and go somewhere. Incredible...

Room Tip: deluxe room has a balcony and seems to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielJanecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My 2 adult sons and I stayed in the Village Retreat in thier Chalet a week ago! We were very pleased with our accommodations. The main bedroom was very large and spacious. It had a king size bed along with a refrigerator, sofa & 2 chairs, coffee table and TV set- it was perfect for our gatherings. The bathroom had a big soaking tub along with a huge walk in shower that had two shower heads with hot water. This was the best shower facility we had in all of my travels. The bath towels were large and soft and changed daily. The second bedroom had twin beds. The roof of our room was a bit noisy during the heavy rain, but that is because they were in the process of reroofing the roof during this raining season.
The staff was very helpful especially Shirley who always greeted you with a smile and made arrangments for my sons' rock climbing adventures and a cooking class for me ( a must do!!).
Don't pass up their restuarant- everything we ordered there was great from a hambuger, to crepes for breakfast and Chinese food for dinner and don't miss their dessert! Their chocolate cake is a must have-not to be expected in a village in China! If you want the action of the city, this is not the hotel for you for it is a 20 minute walk to the town, but if you want a tranquil retreat with a helpful staff this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, idaho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We are a family of 5 (3 adult children) who stayed in the Penthouse for 4 nights. This hotel has 3 very wonderful things going for it. 1) Location. It is the perfect distance from the noise and congestion of the village of Yangshuo. And It is an enjoyable 10-15 walk or a breeze of a bike ride into town. 2) Front desk and restaurant personnel. These employees go out of their way to welcome you, work long hours, and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. 3) Western breakfasts! Your choices and the quality were excellent.

However great those things are, it does not make up for the overall lack of cleanliness and attention to maintenance issues. This was evident everywhere - from hotel front entry, to the guest bathroom, to the surrounding grounds, to the restaurant area, to the bicycles, and to our hotel room. We purposely chose the Penthouse suite so that our family of 5 would not have to share one bathroom/shower. When we arrived, one of the 2 bathrooms did not have hot water. We were assured that it would be fixed. Even with several reminders, that never happened and required us to share a sink and shower. The Penthouse also had a serious electrical problem during our stay. It resulted in no lights when we arrived home one evening. We endured 4 hours in the dark and electricians rewiring whole sections of our suite until we asked them to leave at 11:30 p.m. so that we could go to bed. During this whole ordeal, no one bothered to inform us of what was happening or gave us any information regarding what was going on. This hotel is in serious need of some TLC and does not warrant anything more than an average to below average rating.

Room Tip: If requesting the penthouse - make sure to ask them to clean it thoroughly before your arrival and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thosemountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived in the Yangshuo Village Retreat after two weeks of travelling around China, with two kids, plane and automobile! Firstly, the atmosphere is just great..it has the social side of a hostel, but the services of a hotel. There's a lovely, relaxed vibe - after two weeks of cities and overnight trains, we needed to chill out and that's exactly what we did. There's board games down in the lounge area, where we could have a beer and play Scrabble for hours, and the kids dodged the heavy rain showers to play table-tennis outside.

Besides the atmosphere, there's a lot more positives for this hotel - the staff are unfailing friendly, they chatted to us, to the kids, even playing table-tennis with them! When we left, it was like saying goodbye to friends.

The food was fantastic, we tried as many things as we could, but our favourite was the lemon duck! Yummy! We ate out one day in the town but it was a let down after the lovely food we'd had, so we ended up having most of our meals in the hotel. Again, it's so relaxing, just sitting in the heat, drinking a wine and eating. It was also so lovely to let the kids roam free, after holding their hands endlessly and watching them like hawks until then.

We had a family bedroom, which had two double beds, plenty of room for us and spotlessly clean. Lovely to have comfortable beds and spotless bedlinen. The beds were possibly the most comfortable we had on our whole trip! The room oozes peace and tranquility and there's no way you couldn't relax in this place!

It was also a bonus to be able to get two large loads of washing done (after two weeks of rinsing out clothes for four people it was bliss to have properly clean clothes again!).

We walked each evening to the town, via the walkway and the river, such a lovely walk. I wasn't brave enough to risk bikes with the two kids so having the walk was lovely. The location of the hotel is great, you're in the mountains, where there's finally silence after the hustle and bustle of the cities, but only a short walk from a busy town.

The hotel can organise any amount of trips or activities for you - we only did a river trip but we were tempted by cooking courses and the boys wanted to do Kung Fu (they do it at home) but we decided to just chill out instead.

Totally recommend a stay here, it was our favourite hotel of the trip - not the poshest but the friendliest, most chilled-out, most atmospheric hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Love it. I stayed for one month with my wife joining me for the 2nd two weeks. The staff are very friendly and helpful and everyone speaks English if needed. The staff can organise any activity you are interested in. I had a daily Mandarin language lesson with a tutor (Lucy: jingjing1939@hotmail.com - great tutor) - the staff can help with anything. Our room was the 'Deluxe Balcony King Classic Blue Suite'. Clean, spacious, comfy - all great. The food in the hotel is good with lots of different types on offer, but with the location being only a 10min flat bike ride, 20min walk, or 5min free shuttle car ride from town where there are limitless food options, we ate out almost every meal. The hotel location is in a tiny village and is beautifully quiet. No pollution of course. Stunning scenery. Most people spend just a few days in Yangshuo, but with a great Tai Chi school located 5mins walk from the hotel, easy cycling everywhere and lots of rockclimbing for us, a month was too short. We'll be back and will only stay at the Yangshuo Village Retreat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

As there were three of us we choice the chalet option and found it great value. Main bedroom with sitting area, large bathroom and twin room with balcony off. Worked perfect for us, great facilities and nice & quiet. Although at the time of year we went the terrace area was not used because of the weather so not sure if in hotter times this area will be more used and the room may experience some noise as it overlooks, albeit at first floor level, check with hotel if it would be an issue (say with small kids.)

Really enjoyed the restaurant, good quality food and drinks (although foreign beers expensive - where are they not in china!) The staff, information, bookings, bike hire they could provide was top notch and appreciated.

The location was great, a short walk into the town along easy concrete lane, with little traffic. Plus little mini bus into town a regular times, and would even pick you up out of hours for very little. My only comment with the location would be that outside of peak season it can be just as quiet I suppose staying closer into the town _ river view hotel looked a good spot. Would save the hassle of getting back and forth out of season when weather may be poorer. In main season definitely the best spot, nice stroll in the lighter evenings and away from the main runs which can be very noisy especially on a Saturday night, but great fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hi0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.6 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 450 in Yangshuo County
1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#6 of 450 in Yangshuo County
454 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 450 in Yangshuo County
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 450 in Yangshuo County
596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#16 of 450 in Yangshuo County
180 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 450 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Village Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Village Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Village Retreat
Address: Shi Ban Qiao Village,45, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 450 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yangshuo Village Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Yangshuo Village Retreat, an established 4-star Belgian-Chinese family retreat in the beautiful and peaceful countryside near Yangshuo, Guilin, China. We provide a free shuttle service to town all day per comfortable mini-van that takes you to the heart of Yangshuo in 5 minutes. For longer stays we offer every 7th night free of charge! Located in a quiet village, nestled in between mountains, rice paddies and citrus trees, our Yangshuo hotel offers the perfect base to explore the countryside, its rural features and amazing scenery, and provides the ideal environment to sit back, relax, and enjoy the idyllic landscape Yangshuo is famous for, with the comforts of home. And with only a beautiful walk along the Li-river bank to Yangshuo’s main shopping and entertainment area, the Yangshuo Village Retreat might have the best location of all Yangshuo hotels… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yangshuo Village Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing