We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Chalet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yangshuo Village Retreat
Ranked #14 of 475 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

As there were three of us we choice the chalet option and found it great value. Main bedroom with sitting area, large bathroom and twin room with balcony off. Worked perfect for us, great facilities and nice & quiet. Although at the time of year we went the terrace area was not used because of the weather so not sure if in hotter times this area will be more used and the room may experience some noise as it overlooks, albeit at first floor level, check with hotel if it would be an issue (say with small kids.)

Really enjoyed the restaurant, good quality food and drinks (although foreign beers expensive - where are they not in china!) The staff, information, bookings, bike hire they could provide was top notch and appreciated.

The location was great, a short walk into the town along easy concrete lane, with little traffic. Plus little mini bus into town a regular times, and would even pick you up out of hours for very little. My only comment with the location would be that outside of peak season it can be just as quiet I suppose staying closer into the town _ river view hotel looked a good spot. Would save the hassle of getting back and forth out of season when weather may be poorer. In main season definitely the best spot, nice stroll in the lighter evenings and away from the main runs which can be very noisy especially on a Saturday night, but great fun!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hi0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Yangshuo Village Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We're two couples and booked a family suite since they do not have any other room left. The room is spacious. Not spotless clean but good enough if you're not looking for 5 star hotel standard.
The most amazing thing is the location. The hotel is located in north of Yangshuo town surrounded by mountains and trees. There is nearly no modern sound but only nature. However in such a quiet location it's only 20 minutes walk through a nice road to west street.
We enjoyed staying downstairs having breakfast or a bottle of beer. The breakfast is nice.
The staff is quite friendly and helpful.
Prices for travel bookings is a little bit higher than the lowest price a Chinese traveller can find in Yangshuo, however I do think it deserves coz you can save many troubles to negotiate price or worry about service standard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joycebjsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights on a trip to see the sights of Yangshuo. We had been booked into another hotel in town but after reading the review on TA we decided to change at the last minute. We were very impressed with the whole deal. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The Staff were amazingly helpful in their advice on where to go and organised outings for us as we needed them. The restaurant offered a range of foods so catered for different tastes. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerylR549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My second stay in Yangshuo and stayed in the same hotel. Why change when I a very good experience during my first stay. In general the Village Retreat is a convenient, warm and professionally run hotel with an excellent location.
It's not in the hustle and bustle of the tourist center (which is far too noisy, busy) but as close as one can get to it. It is close enough to the center to walk to but it is very nice to have a free shuttle service which took us in and out of town several times in just 5 minutes. They also picked us up for free when we arrived from the Li-river boat cruise and the transfers to and from the light show were a treat from the hotel which was a nice touch.
Staff was very friendly and helpful and all our tours were very well organized (with a personal touch, not the kind that put you in a bus and wish you good luck). We particularly enjoyed one of their guided village tours through small little old villages and rice paddies on trails we would never have found ourselves.
Our superior deluxe room was spotless clean, spacious, with a very good hot shower and a most comfortable bed which is quite unusual in China. From our bed we could watch the lush green mountains through large windows.
Food of the restaurant is very good and inexpensive, great coffee with breakfast and excellent choice for Belgian beers and South-African wines which is nice after a day exploring the area.
All in all, we wish one day to enjoy the Village Retreat and the beauty of Yangshou once more and we will recommend staying here to everyone. Many thanks to Flower, Helen, Sunny,… for yet a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Take a superior room or suite. Costs a bit more, but it's worth while
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurt_B7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay that was outside of the hustle-and-bustle of the town, and this was perfect. A 15 min. walk and what a beautiful walk it was, especially at night, with the sound of the crickets and the stars in the dark night sky!
They have a book in each room that they put together themselves on numerous activities to do in the area. Very informative.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank MaryK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spend 4 nights at the yangshuo Village, the hotel is in a perfect location to discovery the city and to bikes trips, the staff is really friendly and professional help us in everything they speak perfect english. The restaurant was very good, you can find wester and Chinese food ! The Honeymoon room was really nice comfortable and with greats views ....you can have Jacuzzi looking the mountains! The only small problem in the bathroom was the shower, it was losing water when we were having a shower ... but apart of that great room great value ! thanks Village Retreat for everything !!! we will came back soon!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Overall our stay in the Yangshuo Village Retreat was like the other reviewers’ – quiet and very relaxing. We got off to a bad start when we were offered a double room which had mould over the ceiling. When we complained to the front desk we were told we would either have to pay to upgrade or get a slight discount. It was only after we found somewhere else to stay that they called the manager and agreed to upgrade us into a deluxe room without mould. The room was huge and if you can afford it, I would definitely recommend going for the deluxe room over the standard double rooms. The rest of our stay was great – nice restaurant and terrace and within walking distance of Yangshuo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.6 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 475 in Yangshuo County
1,093 reviews
3.9 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 475 in Yangshuo County
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#6 of 475 in Yangshuo County
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#17 of 475 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 475 in Yangshuo County
295 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 475 in Yangshuo County
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Village Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Village Retreat

Address: Shi Ban Qiao Village,45, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 475 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $37 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yangshuo Village Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Yangshuo Village Retreat, an established 4-star Belgian-Chinese family retreat in the beautiful and peaceful countryside near Yangshuo, Guilin, China. We provide a free shuttle service to town all day per comfortable mini-van that takes you to the heart of Yangshuo in 5 minutes. For longer stays we offer every 7th night free of charge! Located in a quiet village, nestled in between mountains, rice paddies and citrus trees, our Yangshuo hotel offers the perfect base to explore the countryside, its rural features and amazing scenery, and provides the ideal environment to sit back, relax, and enjoy the idyllic landscape Yangshuo is famous for, with the comforts of home. And with only a beautiful walk along the Li-river bank to Yangshuo’s main shopping and entertainment area, the Yangshuo Village Retreat might have the best location of all Yangshuo hotels… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Yangshuo Village Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing