We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yangshuo Village Retreat
Ranked #12 of 446 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Zambia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for a few days on our way up to the north. Although a little far out from the centre we enjoyed the walk in and the beautiful surroundings. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially Flower and helped us in arranging onward travel. Our room was quite small but clean and as we were there in winter we were even given a hot water bottle! Would certainly stay there again if we get the chance to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zambiamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    85
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
68
104
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had such a fantastic holiday and that was because we were so looked after by the staff at YVR!
Helen, Flower, Michelle and the ladies in the restaurant were so lovely to us and looked after us perfectly.

Our family room was spacious, clean and relaxing. The food was great and the service excellent.
We definitely recommend!

Room Tip: The chalet was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Really had a great time a couple weeks ago at the Village Retreat. The staff what incredibly helpful, and the rooms were beautiful and well taken care of. The retreat itself is about a 10 minute walk from town, so you aren't in the midst of the somewhat chaotic Yangshou central, but it was a nice walk in, and beautiful (and when we did it at night they gave us flashlights so we could find our way back). They had a good menu and provided a great breakfast as well as offering cold beers when we returned from a hot day walking or biking around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had an amazing two night visit at the Yangshuo Village Retreat this month.
The staff was very friendly and helpful - they arranged for us to go to the Impressions show in town (don't miss this!) and to visit the mud cave and the Half Moon Cave. We rented bikes from them that were in quite good shape and very very low priced.

The food in the restaurant was very good, nice beer list too! The restaurant patio offered beatiful views while dining.

Our room was lovely and quite comfortable. It was really a very nice relaxing spot away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Would recommend and would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindacycleTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thanks to Tripadvisor, I certainly made the right choice when I chose YVR. We were warmly welcomed by Jenny herself who presented us with 3 complimentary pomelos from their own garden. We stayed here for 3 nights (4 adults, a teenager and a young child). Amazing how everyone here could be so friendly and helpful. Helen at the front desk was forever smiling and obliging; then Tracy at the dining area was so caring she offered a local insect repellent for our 3 year-old-grandniece who wanted to play in the courtyard (with a swing and ping-pong table too); and Sunny, the chief-in-charge of kitchen happily granted our wish when we requested they help us cook whatever we buy from the fresh market (this turned out to be a real feast with minimal service charge).
Yes, we would've stayed longer if not for our pre-bought flight tickets.
Transport was no problem at all. The front desk was most helpful. They helped us get taxis to town. Don't forget to get their business card so you can call them anytime you need transport back while in town. This is most convenient.
Taking a shower in the balcony was a novelty. A good mop was provided. We had the floor tiles dry within minutes. Yes, linen was clean and smelled fresh. Our teenage daughter missed YVR so much. Compared to the 4-star hotels in other cities that we stayed in, this was the best!

Room Tip: A room in the main building will be more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was a bit worried about booking a hotel that was a 20 minute walk from the center of Yangshuo town, but those worries disappeared almost immediately upon arrival at the hotel. Yangshuo is a very noisy and hectic place and the hotel provided a way to escape into a more peaceful location. In that sense, the hotel name is appropriate - it is a retreat!
The quality of the hotel was very nice in a rustic way. Everything worked and the room was quite large and spacious with a lovely view.
Most commendable was the entire staff. They were patient and helpful with even our smallest needs. We had the opportunity to meet Gerd on our last evening. He is a warm person who is very welcoming to all the guests at the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get the mountain view rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violin1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Yangshuo Village Retreat. I had previously been to Yangshuo and stayed in the town so was glad to be staying away from the hustle and bustle of town. All the staff were lovely and friendly. The food was good and had a large menu with selection of Chinese and Western. It was nice to have some Western food for breakfast for a change after all the Chinese hotels. We made several day trips out which were arrange through the hotel. It is nice to have everything arranged but you must be sure that you understand just what is and isn't included as the taxi isn't always included in the cost of the trip. We had a bit of a misunderstanding with some of our trips but the hotel very kindly sorted something out for us and were very apologetic about the misunderstanding. It is possible to walk into town from the hotel - takes about 20-25 minutes along the river to West Street. We found it nice to walk into town for dinner and a bit of shopping and then got a cart back along the river from near the Magnolia Hotel for only 20 Yuan. If you get one from near the Magnolia Hotel they are close to the covered roadway along the river which is a bit closer for getting back to the hotel. Rooms were kept very clean and towels changed daily. The shower is in a wet room so it is a bit wet after the shower if you need to use the toilet as water drainage isn't good but I don't think this is unusual and wasn't a problem for us. Would recommend this to anyone preferring to stay outside of Yangshuo as it is definitely more peaceful and very friendly. Many thanks to Michelle who was always very helpful with our plans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharroninStowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.6 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 446 in Yangshuo County
1,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#7 of 446 in Yangshuo County
444 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 446 in Yangshuo County
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 446 in Yangshuo County
591 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 446 in Yangshuo County
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#15 of 446 in Yangshuo County
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Village Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Village Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Village Retreat
Address: Shi Ban Qiao Village,45, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 446 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yangshuo Village Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Yangshuo Village Retreat, an established 4-star Belgian-Chinese family retreat in the beautiful and peaceful countryside near Yangshuo, Guilin, China. We provide a free shuttle service to town all day per comfortable mini-van that takes you to the heart of Yangshuo in 5 minutes. For longer stays we offer every 7th night free of charge! Located in a quiet village, nestled in between mountains, rice paddies and citrus trees, our Yangshuo hotel offers the perfect base to explore the countryside, its rural features and amazing scenery, and provides the ideal environment to sit back, relax, and enjoy the idyllic landscape Yangshuo is famous for, with the comforts of home. And with only a beautiful walk along the Li-river bank to Yangshuo’s main shopping and entertainment area, the Yangshuo Village Retreat might have the best location of all Yangshuo hotels… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Yangshuo Village Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing